We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Happy Up Here Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Calle Boccioni 245, San Borja, Lima, Peru Lima 41

89.0% Overall Rating

131 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Hendra Cahyadi thinks…

"Very cozy, small guesthouse. The owner is very friendly lady. She is also very helpful."

Read all Happy Up Here Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

1900 Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 111 reviews
Inti Wasi Guesthouse
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 56 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
25.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 91.4% 50 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

131 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Up Here Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 134 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hendra Cahyadi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Hendra would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy, small guesthouse. The owner is very friendly lady. She is also very helpful.

Disliked: The location is not near touristy place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay at this Guesthouse! It is quiet, relaxing and feels like a home, a perfect choice if you have been travelling for a while and are tired of huge impersonal hostels and twenty bed dorms. Ana and her dog Paco are wonderful hosts, and really help you to get the most out of your time in Lima.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like at home. Ana Maria was really helpfull.

Disliked: Have to walk a bit from the chaotic public transport, but the neighbourhood is quiet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jesus prado roca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 jesus would recommend this property

Liked: un lugar muy tranquilo y comodo , reserve por varios dias pero lamentablemente me quede solo un dia por motivo de salud . ana the hostel owner , es lo maximo muy colaborativa y de un gran carisma .definitivamente recomiendo este lugar!!!

Disliked: nothing !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ana ans pack are very kind hosts. Ana is very helpful with anything you need. The area is well equipped, and very cozy. It feels like home. The quiet location was a welcome reprieve from the craziness of Lima.

Disliked: It took a while to get to Miraflores or Lima Centro, but I guess that's a tradeoff for having a quiet location. Nothing else really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Anna and their dog paco are great hosts and extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel is cozy and more like a home. The location isn't very central but their are all amenities nearby and the neighborhood is very safe and quiet with several parks close. Getting a bus or cab downtown is still relatively cheap and easy. Overall highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing really. There is no laundry at the hostel but there are places nearby to do laundry.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ohad shafry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2014 ohad would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is built like a student apartment. very nice and warm beut really out of the way for turing around lima.

Disliked: Location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ana is AWESOME! I love her!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: Most of all I liked the coziness of this guesthouse. Anna created a really nice atmosphere, where guests gather in the evenings in the living room talking on a variety of theme and having fun, like one big family. A distinctive feature was the absence of time limits for breakfast - breakfast is waiting for you from morning till evening. Guesthouse is located in safe, beautiful and clean district. Nearby there are two avenues with restaurants and shops. In general I recommend everyone to stay here.

Disliked: Pressure in the water is really weak, but the hot water is always there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

mariann lian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 mariann would recommend this property

Liked: Ane was very helpfull and friendly

Disliked: the mattress in the bed was very thin. i could feel the plank in my body

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013

Liked: Fast WIFI and one computer to use. The kitchen was avaiable to use with utensils and big fridge. 25min walk to the coach companies to continue your travels. TV and DVD to watch. 35min bus ride to the city centre. Huge shopping centre which includes a big Supermarket avaiable 10min walk.

Disliked: Unconfortable beds in the dorm, only one toilet and shower combine for entire people here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott McDonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Ana Maria is an amazing host!

Disliked: Shower was slow and cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ana is great person. I definitely recommend the hostel. Anna, Jolanta & Kamil :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Anna is a lovely lady, keen to help and very welcoming.

Disliked: Shower did not work at all, after a long hot journey and the prospect of another one in the morning that was a real disappointment.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, it is in a very safe area, with the property having a locked gate. You are given a key for this gate, so it feels more like home than a hostel. The place has a relaxed feel about it; this is primarily because of Ana and Paco(the dog). As in previous reviews, it is clear Ana is a joy. Helpful and friendly..looking after everyone. It was a relaxing and welcoming environment.

Disliked: The only thing is the location. Although the surrounding area has many places to eat and big, modern supermarkets,as well as the Museo de la Nacion( 4 blocks away), and the Crz del Sur and Tepsa terminals,the traffic in Lima is so busy that it takes time to get anywhere. From Miraflores and Barranco there is the Metropolitano direct into the city, as well as many buses up Av Arequipa.The bus system is a little crazy, but with some spanish it isn´t difficult to fathom it out. Just the size of Lima makes the traffic an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just perfect!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice open place with heaps on room and wonderful host

Disliked: not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHUTING CHIANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 SHUTING would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are helpful. The people I stayed with are also nice! Room and bed are clean! Nothing can complain about!

Disliked: Nothing dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEONMOK LEE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 YEONMOK would recommend this property

Liked: The host Ana makes everything for awesome reputation of this guesthouse. She is so so so friendly, lovely and always willing to help everyone. Also, there is a big living room, where everyone can hang out together. It was just like my house and Ana was my mom. I strongly recommend this guesthouse for sure.

Disliked: Nope. I know that some people don't like the location because it is a bit far from miraflores. But even location was also good for me. If you want to go to Ica or Nazca, you will definitely use Cruz del sur. This convenient's bus terminal is really close to this hostel. And there are lots of big supermarket like Wong near the hostel. Very safe area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laszlo Wagner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Laszlo would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like being at home with old friends, rather than being in a hostel. Super-helpful owner, great facilities, including a fully-equipped kitchen and a PC to use for free.

Disliked: Water pressure in the shower is somewhat low...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Baranyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: not really a hostel, more like a house where top floor was made into a hostel wtih 3 rooms and max 8 people. the key here is the owner, Ana, very nice and always helpful older lady that will take perfect care of you and you will feel like staying at home...

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MiMi Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 MiMi would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the kitchen, the nice and caring host Ana, the cute little dog, the quiet environment. The important and accurate information about buses to centro & airport (as buses in Lima are quite chaotic for tourist). Simple but nice breakfast. Free coffee and tea all day. We loved the quiet environment and homely feel. It's not for people who like partying. It's nearer to Centro than Minaflores and Ana will tell you how to get there. TIPS for getting taxi to Ana's place: 1. Be patient while bargaining and asking different taxis (no worries, outside stations / airport, whenever you flag down one but did not agree on the price / place, you'll found 100 taxis waiting and fighting for your attention.) Taxi usually charge more when the direction is not correct. (i.e. when they have to make U-turn). We are 3 ppl arriving at TEPSA terminal. At TEPSA, those outside the terminal offered 10 soles lowest and said they have to U-turn. (We were able to ask more than 10 taxis within 5 minutes. You'll found yourself surrounded by taxissss and you only have to turn around to ask another one) So we went over to the other side of the road to avoid 'U-turn price', the first offer we get is 8 soles and eventually we got into one for 5 soles and got off right in front of Ana's door. Since it looks like a residential flat more than a hostel, we were confused and the driver even helped us to ring the door bell to prove that he sent us to the right place. 2. Walk away from the main bus / airport terminal for cheaper price. Those taxis at the terminal main entrance, or inside the terminal offering taxi service are always overpriced. Also, as mentioned before, taxi driving on the same direction to your destination charges significantly lower. So the tactic is, ask one or two taxi right outside the terminals for the price and the approximate direction of San Borja. Walk towards that direction and flag down other taxis not from the terminal. You'll be surprised of the price difference. On the second night we stayed with Ana (we came back to Lima later and contacted Ana direct), we came from Soyuz (Peru Bus) Terminal, which is farther from San Borja than TEPSA terminal. We asked outside the Terminal it's 20 Soles, the lowest we can get is 12 soles. We turned right to another street (still right next to the terminal, but not on the main door side), which is supposed to be towards the direction of San Borja, and was immediately approached by a luxury and new 7-seater taxi and the driver offered 8 soles! We walked a few more steps and flagged down another older looking small taxi (as we hv only 2 ppl). I said 6 soles and he accepted it without thinking.

Disliked: Not really dislike but points that I didn't give full marks to it. The location is in San Borja, Lima, which is a quiet residential area. Many taxi drivers only know Centro and Minaflores and shake their head when I said San Borja. I think it's the problem of taxi drivers. Ask more different taxis and you'll still get on one within 10-15 mins with good price. Please refer to the tips at the like part.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a safe area of Lima, but just a 15min drive from Miraflores or central Lima. Host Ana is lovely and you can ask her anything. Great common area where it is easy to meet other travellers. Kitchen which can be used to do your own cooking. Good value for money!

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for everybody, which makes it impossible to go to the toilet when someone else is showering. There is some room for cleanliness improvement in the kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominick Marcil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Dominick would recommend this property

Liked: I love the feel of the place and the quiet location. Ana the owner is a marvellous human being. If you like to party, please go elsewhere this is really for human interection purpose. I can t say enough about how dedicated Ana is for her guests, she is definitely part of the reason I will go back again at the end of this trip.

Disliked: Dominick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is like our good mother

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels