HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Happy Up Here Guesthouse

Guesthouse

Calle Boccioni 245, San Borja, Lima, Peru

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Board Games
  • Café
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 15.00USD
  • Towel 1.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

Showing 21-27 of 27 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice open place with heaps on room and wonderful host

Disliked: not much

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staffs are helpful. The people I stayed with are also nice! Room and bed are clean! Nothing can complain about!

Disliked: Nothing dislike

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Feels like being at home with old friends, rather than being in a hostel.Super-helpful owner, great facilities, including a fully-equipped kitchen and a PC to use for free.

Disliked: Water pressure in the shower is somewhat low...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The host Ana makes everything for awesome reputation of this guesthouse. She is so so so friendly, lovely and always willing to help everyone. Also, there is a big living room, where everyone can hang out together. It was just like my house and Ana was my mom. I strongly recommend this guesthouse for sure.

Disliked: Nope. I know that some people don't like the location because it is a bit far from miraflores. But even location was also good for me. If you want to go to Ica or Nazca, you will definitely use Cruz del sur. This convenient's bus terminal is really close to this hostel. And there are lots of big supermarket like Wong near the hostel. Very safe area.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: not really a hostel, more like a house where top floor was made into a hostel wtih 3 rooms and max 8 people. the key here is the owner, Ana, very nice and always helpful older lady that will take perfect care of you and you will feel like staying at home...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere, the kitchen, the nice and caring host Ana, the cute little dog, the quiet environment. The important and accurate information about buses to centro & airport (as buses in Lima are quite chaotic for tourist). Simple but nice breakfast. Free coffee and tea all day. We loved the quiet environment and homely feel. It's not for people who like partying. It's nearer to Centro than Minaflores and Ana will tell you how to get there.TIPS for getting taxi to Ana's place:1. Be patient while bargaining and asking different taxis (no worries, outside stations / airport, whenever you flag down one but did not agree on the price / place, you'll found 100 taxis waiting and fighting for your attention.) Taxi usually charge more when the direction is not correct. (i.e. when they have to make U-turn). We are 3 ppl arriving at TEPSA terminal. At TEPSA, those outside the terminal offered 10 soles lowest and said they have to U-turn. (We were able to ask more than 10 taxis within 5 minutes. You'll found yourself surrounded by taxissss and you only have to turn around to ask another one) So we went over to the other side of the road to avoid 'U-turn price', the first offer we get is 8 soles and eventually we got into one for 5 soles and got off right in front of Ana's door. Since it looks like a residential flat more than a hostel, we were confused and the driver even helped us to ring the door bell to prove that he sent us to the right place.2. Walk away from the main bus / airport terminal for cheaper price. Those taxis at the terminal main entrance, or inside the terminal offering taxi service are always overpriced. Also, as mentioned before, taxi driving on the same direction to your destination charges significantly lower. So the tactic is, ask one or two taxi right outside the terminals for the price and the approximate direction of San Borja. Walk towards that direction and flag down other taxis not from the terminal. You'll be surprised of the price difference. On the second night we stayed with Ana (we came back to Lima later and contacted Ana direct), we came from Soyuz (Peru Bus) Terminal, which is farther from San Borja than TEPSA terminal. We asked outside the Terminal it's 20 Soles, the lowest we can get is 12 soles. We turned right to another street (still right next to the terminal, but not on the main door side), which is supposed to be towards the direction of San Borja, and was immediately approached by a luxury and new 7-seater taxi and the driver offered 8 soles! We walked a few more steps and flagged down another older looking small taxi (as we hv only 2 ppl). I said 6 soles and he accepted it without thinking.

Disliked: Not really dislike but points that I didn't give full marks to it. The location is in San Borja, Lima, which is a quiet residential area. Many taxi drivers only know Centro and Minaflores and shake their head when I said San Borja. I think it's the problem of taxi drivers. Ask more different taxis and you'll still get on one within 10-15 mins with good price. Please refer to the tips at the like part.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Located in a safe area of Lima, but just a 15min drive from Miraflores or central Lima. Host Ana is lovely and you can ask her anything. Great common area where it is easy to meet other travellers. Kitchen which can be used to do your own cooking.Good value for money!

Disliked: There is only one bathroom for everybody, which makes it impossible to go to the toilet when someone else is showering. There is some room for cleanliness improvement in the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I love the feel of the place and the quiet location. Ana the owner is a marvellous human being. If you like to party, please go elsewhere this is really for human interection purpose. I can t say enough about how dedicated Ana is for her guests, she is definitely part of the reason I will go back again at the end of this trip.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Owner is like our good mother

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Extremely kind and helpful owner - she actually called Machu Picchu on-line booking call center for us when we had some problems with the booking process.Hostel resides in the upper floor of a house in residential area so it is quiet, safe and comfy & cosy with nice atmosphere when the residents of other rooms gather on a common sofa in the living room.Very close to the bus terminals of major bus companies and relatively close to the airport.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability