HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Happy Up Here Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Calle Boccioni 245, San Borja, Lima, Peru Lima 41

89.4% Overall Rating

130 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2014)

"I had a wonderful stay at this Guesthouse! It is quiet, relaxing and feels like a home, a perfect choice if you have been travelling for a while and are tired of huge impersonal hostels and twenty bed dorms. Ana and her…"

Read all Happy Up Here Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

1900 Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 108 reviews
Inti Wasi Guesthouse
9.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 55 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
13.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
26.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 92.2% 49 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

130 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Up Here Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 133 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Anna is a kind and lovely person and it was like staying with my family. She also helped me find info about the Lima parade in October and I could experience it first hand

Disliked: Not much for what is on offer and the value. Hope to go back and stay again

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely and quiet and Ana was so friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeroen Schrama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: The lady was very friendly and helpful, the private room was nice and roomy. Wifi was good for peruvian standards.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is extremly helpful and nice. It's home away from home! Very relaxed and quiet! Highly recommended! The area is extremly safe!

Disliked: There is really nothing I don't like about this property!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Shannon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Fab place! Very friendly staff and felt safe. Would definately recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious. San Borja is not a tourist spot but it's a safe and quiet neighborhood. Many bus companies are just a short taxi ride or walkable distance. The owner is very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever if you are looking for a nice and quiet place. The living room is a really great, you feel like at home. The manager is really lovely, she helped me a lot and the clean every day everything.

Disliked: The location is great, but if you only stay a night, you are a little far from the historical center, so you should look for a closer one.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse has a very homely feel to it. It is situated above the owner's house and is set out as a flat with open plan kitchen and living room. Ana, the owner, is incredibly helpful and very sweet. We arrived on the 5am flight and were able to sleep for some time in the spare room available which was great. The free wifi is very reliable and the free breakfast of fresh bread and jam is a lovely touch. An interesting group of fellow travellers to meet here too. Great selection of movies.

Disliked: We found the property to be really cold. A lot of the windows don't close and there are gaps around the windows. There are lots of blankets though but I would suggest using a sleeping bag at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2011 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing for the price. It has an incredibly helpful owner who speaks good English. The area is incredibly safe with security guards on every block but it is not a party hostel. The kitchen facilties are amazing and there are many cheap places to eat very nearby. It is also only about 2 kms away from most of the major bus terminals. I would recommend this hostel to everybody and anybody. Cable TV, big selection of DVD´s and WIFI throughout top it all off. In short, stay here. I doubt that you will find a better hostel in Lima.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eilidh Thorburn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 August 2011 Eilidh would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast laid out at any time so no need to wake up early!

Disliked: Wee bit far from centre, taxi drivers tend to get lost, make sure you know the main streets around it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this place. If you are want a comfortable, clean hostel in Lima that you can safely leave your things while you explore the city, then this is the place for you. I couldn't believe it when I first walked through the door. It was a little slice of home. It is comfortable, decorated nicely, impeccably clean and the sheets smell like detergent. It is set up like a real home, complete with living room, couches, television and hundreds of dvds. It definitely is not a party hostel. I did meet some great people there and enjoyed spending the day with them. Also, this hostel is located in the very pretty San Borja district. It was a nice change from all seeing all the run down houses in Lima.

Disliked: The location is both a plus and a minus. It is very close to the national museum and cab rides to the airport are cheap. If you would like to go to the centre of miraflores you will need a bus or cab, but I think that is true for anywhere as Lima is so big.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FuJen Tsai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 FuJen would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: The shower was not of good standard

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco Baldi

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2011 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay, people is very kind and helpful, couldn't ask more from a hostel. Everything is clean, you have a lot of room for yourself.

Disliked: Location is the only issue. The area is rather safe and secure, so this is fine, but quite far from the city center. And the shower is not perfect. But I would definitely recommend this hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was only in Lima to obtain a visa. However, i dont really speak spanish very well, so i was dreading having to do it. But the staff here were so helpful and really i wouldnt have been able to get the visa without there halp translating etc... I really would reccomend this hostle

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, extremely good value for money. Its about an hours walk to miraflores, close to supermarkets, food, banks etc. We ended up staying there twice, the owner is super friendly and helpful! San Borja is a great area of the city.

Disliked: For the price we paid, it was a bloody good deal

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011

Liked: Cheep place to stay but pretty dirty. It is an apartment property at the top of a ladys home. It is in a safe neighborhood but it is a weird set up. The lady is really nice though and will help you in any way she can. We thought it was a good deal though since it was so cheep.

Disliked: Not very clean, needs a good scrubbing. Not a good place to stay if you are traveling alone as there are only a few people there at a time and most of them are in pairs. The taxi to Mira Flores cost about 6-8 soles so if you are staying in Lima for an extended time it might be good to stay somewhere closer to there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Milne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful owner. Has a home feel to it. Spacious dorms with plenty of locker space. Close to the Cruz De Sur bus station. Highly recomended...we are even going back to stay here.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Ach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Ciepla

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2011 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: Like at home :) nice atmosphere, clean, owner is extremely nice person, kitchen fully equipped, a lot of movies

Disliked: everything was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and nice shared living area.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very sympathic...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Rutkowska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: For sure the atmosphere. Very nice family look after that. You can feel it on every step. Good localization. Helpfull staff. The owner can tell you everything about South america and give you really good advices. Cosy interior, comfortable rooms. Strongly recommend that place

Disliked: no negative impressions

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010

Liked: was clean and helpful staff

Disliked: the location was abit poor


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels