We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Happy Up Here Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Calle Boccioni 245, San Borja, Lima, Peru Lima 41

89.0% Overall Rating

131 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Hendra Cahyadi thinks…

"Very cozy, small guesthouse. The owner is very friendly lady. She is also very helpful."

Read all Happy Up Here Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

1900 Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 111 reviews
Inti Wasi Guesthouse
11.90 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 56 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
25.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 91.4% 50 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

131 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Up Here Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 134 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrej Komelj

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely kind and helpful owner - she actually called Machu Picchu on-line booking call center for us when we had some problems with the booking process. Hostel resides in the upper floor of a house in residential area so it is quiet, safe and comfy & cosy with nice atmosphere when the residents of other rooms gather on a common sofa in the living room. Very close to the bus terminals of major bus companies and relatively close to the airport.

Disliked: Andrej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, we felt like very welcome guests in a home rather than paying customers. Located in a nice, fairly quiet area and within walking distance of cruz del sur bus station and plenty of restaurants

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicholas Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012

Liked: Friendly owner. Good cable TV.

Disliked: Really not a good location. Far from both the centre and all of the nightlife.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was huge and had a comfy bed. Lovely, basic breakfast. Wonderful common area and well equipped kitchen. Clean, posh neigborhood, didn`d see any other travellers in the area (which I like, also off season). All the things you might need (markets, loundry, bus stations..) close by. Ana is such a warm host, makes everybody feel welcome!

Disliked: Maybe not ideal location for sightseeing, but busses and taxis go everywhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Imran Ashfaq

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Imran would recommend this property

Liked: Anna was an exceptional host who went above and beyond what can be classified as good service. As soon as we arrived and had settled in by 11am she went out and bought us back some breakfast. The guesthouse has a lot of charm on offer aswell as an extensive dvd collection that you can relax and watch in the evening. Excellent value and I would highly recommend this place for any traveller wishing to visit Lima.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Hynes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cosy place to stay, secure, Ana was so friendly and helpful

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner was so helpful, nice breakfast and good value for money

Disliked: location!! it is in a really random part of lima we got totally lost trying to find the centre!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tammy Oxley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Tammy would recommend this property

Liked: Ana was lovely, friendly and welcoming - she made us feel at home and helped us make the most of our visit. There is a great communal space with TV and computer and kitchen too. We wish we didn't have to leave! Felt like a safe area in a big city.

Disliked: Tammy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdenek Pavlis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Zdenek would recommend this property

Liked: we felt really safe in this area and Ana María made us feel as it was our home, good location, quiet during the night, with a small kitchen available for use

Disliked: we stayed only for a short time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, comfortable villa. Very nice owner. Helpful and giving good advises on where to eat, what to see. The villa is located in upscale part of Lima. It is about 30-40 minutes from airport, but we felt safe. Very good seafood (ceviche)nearby. We ate locally and went to downtown just for sightseeing. When we left my son forgot his sun glasses there. The owner contacted us about it and offered to send it to us. If I go back to Lima I would certainly stay there.

Disliked: Far away from airport

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: It's homey and quiet. The owner is a sweet heart.

Disliked: It's kind of far away from anything but that can be a good thing if you are just trying to relax.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Pancheri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: La dueña fue muy amable, el lugr es lindo y limpio, el precio es muy bueno

Disliked: La unica cosa que se me ocurre esw que no està ubicado en el lugar màs turistico, igual tampoco queda tn lejos, si te quedas en Lima solo pr tomr un micro cusco està recerc de las terminles.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ana was a lovely host, and spoke perfect English. The guesthouse is in a safe and secure area near the bus stations. Wifi was fast and reliable. Hot water worked. A lovely place to relax.

Disliked: The breakfast is a bit basic, but that is quite normal around here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Love

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place. The owner is really friendly, and although I stayed just one night, it was a homely place to stay. I wouldn't hesitate to saty here again

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice residential neighbourhood within short taxi ride of the Cruz Del Sur depot and city centre via freeway. Anna is a lovely lady for whom nothing is too much trouble. She keeps the place spotless. Nice breakfast. The large and grumpy Labrador provides total security within the high fences. Wifi, computer,full kitchen. Its a small property and not Party HQ but its a great place to book your next move and have a bit of a look at Lima.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ema Hellström

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Ema would recommend this property

Liked: The supernice host Ana and the neighborhood! The building was very beautiful, the room was very fresh and so was the rest of the house. You will not find a better host!!!!

Disliked: Ema left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris Blount

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing for the price. You´re not going to get a better value hostel with the friendly help anywhere in Lima....period

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Holm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Ana Maria, the owner was very friendly and even though I arrived late at night, she still had time to show me the facilities. There is plenty of room, it is a nice and very homely place and you can come and go as you want. And its super cheap!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christiane Koch

Alone

City break

14 February 2012 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: The very comfortable bed, and the nice ladie who really helped me to get another accomodation because hostelbookers sent the wrong arrival date through their booking engine, but honestly if this is a hostel I'am a horse ...

Disliked: I liked the helpful staff (owner) of this hostel, but a professional clean up of the kitchen in every corner good be a real advantage at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Masayuki Takeuchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Masayuki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect in this hostel!! just 5 bucks for a night, how shower, clean bed, a computer (fairly fast Internet connection) and even include breakfast!! And, the staff was so kind and friendly!

Disliked: Masayuki left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property has the best owners you can imgine. I recommend you to stay here without any reservation. The guest house is an apartment located in a Sovietic Style building. Do not let the exterior apparience to confuse yourself, this is Mongolia, the low income people live in houses, the well off in apartments!!! The couple share the apartment with two rooms for rent. Communal areas are never crowded and are very confortable and well equipped. The owners are very helpful and sweet, the prize is a real bargain. I came to Ulaan baatar for 3 weeks to research and reserved this guesthouse for 2 days, fbut I finish staying here the whole time except some few days for excursions. They do have a great camp, out of the city. I broke my knee in the plane arriving to Mongolia, the couple help me a lot, brought me to Hospitals.( By coincidence the father of the owner, Hailuna is a Doctor) how I could navigate in such public hopitals without his help???? they did everything to help me during my difficult time there. I needed to visit low income districts for my research, they drove me everywhere and never ask for a dime. The owners were fundamental to do my research work for a grant of the American Center of Mongoian Studies. without them, I will not be able to visit so many places. The couple usually spend a lot of time outside with their family, most of the time you will hve the place for yourself, however they make sure you got all the attention and help you need. After several days, I feel I do have a new family in Mongolia, they are the most friendly and funny people you can find. Please stay there, you will love it, not for the property, becuse there are much luxuory plces in Ulaanbaatar, but you will pay a bargain prize in this guesthouse and you will mke the bet friends in the city!!!!!!

Disliked: Living the place was sad, I am planning to be back again!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing was a problem for Ana. She was very informative on local attractions, how much things cost and the best way to get there. At one point one of us (not me) accidentally broke a door. This wasn't a drama either. The bread for breakfast was the best we had. We arrived at 1am and there was a large petrol station (24hrs) that was open where we could get provisions. It was also about 8 mins to the Cruz Del Sur bus terminal which was great. A mark of 10/10 for this hostel

Disliked: They provided a fan, but it was quite warm in our room and we would have preferred air conditioning. But seeing as it was not advertised to have air-con, a fan was acceptable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Patla

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Happy Up Here Guesthouse had a very welcoming and warming atmosphere. I really liked the room we stayed in, the kitchen was great, and the bathroom was clean. Ana was extremely sweet and helpful and spoke good English as well. She answered any questions we had about traveling through Lima. I would absolutely reccommend this palce to anyone staying in Lima.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel the first night we were in Lima. The airport transportation was great and the staff was very helpful. We needed a place to stay the second night, but they were booked so they helped find us a place to stay

Disliked: location is great for those coming from or going to the airport, but might not be ideal for those who want to explore the city

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TARIK OKTAY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 TARIK would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel

Disliked: nothing


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels