HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Hostel Kokopelli

Hostel | Calle Berlin # 259, Miraflores, Lima, Peru 13

88.5% Overall Rating

48 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"Automatically locked door into complex required staff inside to push button to let you in. Made me feel safer. They were also very accommodating at check-out about our paying in various methods (soles and USD) and about…"

Read all Hostel Kokopelli reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.03
  • Towel USD 1.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Loki Backpackers Lima
11.50 USD

Hostel 91.4% 96 reviews
The House Project
11.92 USD

Hostel 91.4% 9 reviews
Open Guest House
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 101 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Inclan
11.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 57 reviews
Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Lima
11.20 USD

Hostel 86.1% 8 reviews
Wayruros Backpackers
65.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pariwana Backpacker Hostels
12.08 USD

Hostel 93.8% 165 reviews
Miraflores Guest House
8.52 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

48 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Kokopelli'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: Automatically locked door into complex required staff inside to push button to let you in. Made me feel safer. They were also very accommodating at check-out about our paying in various methods (soles and USD) and about storing our luggage. The taxi ride service was also helpful. Breakfast was sufficient with juice, coffee, bread with jam/butter, and fresh-cooked eggs. The gentleman who helped with our check-out was the most knowledgeable and helpful of all staff, and I would have appreciated his presence more than the other, less knowledgeable staff.

Disliked: The young lady who worked reception either was not knowledgeable or was not confident in her knowledge. We asked her very basic questions (where's the bank, how many soles to El Centro, which bus, whether sites were open) and she was unsure of the answers. The place was right above some bars which made for a very noisy night. I didn't have trouble sleeping because I was so tired, but still annoying. They should NOT advertise private bathrooms because they are not; they are better described as semi-private. What this means is that you get your own bathroom but it is detached from your room. You access it from the main hall, and a separate key is needed to access to shared sinks which is then attached to three sets of private sink/bath/shower. So no one else uses the facilities but it's not quite the same as the conventional private bath option.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and great BBQ on Friday night. Double locked doors so you feel safe in the hostel. Good wifi

Disliked: Beds were pretty average and there are no hooks to hang your stuff in the showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber McCreight

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2014 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: It had a fun atmosphere created not only by the beautiful art covering the walls but also by the youthful/friendly staff. Everyone was very helpful including the lady operating the tour-desk with whom I booked an excursion (so convenient). The bed was comfortable, there were computers at my disposal and the lounge area had everything you could ask for. Breakfast was great (eggs, bread and fresh smoothies).

Disliked: The music from the bar downstairs can make it difficult to fall asleep. My room was right on top of the bar and since there was no A/C I had to keep the window open making the music even louder.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kyra Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Kyra would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice hostel. The parties were hard but it didn't affect you if you tried to get some sleep. They have happy hour which is great and in the evenings different entertainment, even the locals will show up here too. The breakfast is cool with eggs & bread, only time in Peru did I get this! The rooms are clean but the shows need a bit more attention to throughout the day. Would stay again.

Disliked: Breakfast could be kept a bit cleaner as hair often in food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Spindel

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, cool games such as foozball and rana, anD AWESOME PARTIES.

Disliked: It was very noisy at night because of the nightlife right next to the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tim van Woensel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Simple hostel in a good location in Miraflores. Staff was very friendly and helped us with the booking of the bus tickets to our next destination.

Disliked: We booked a private ensuite room. Unfortunately the bathroom was not actually inside the room. It's in a separate room on the other side of the hall. Not a big deal but worth mentioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Feuling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly & accommodating. They gave me a lot of tips for things to do/see in Lima before I was able to check in to the dorms. They have secure storage, and lockers in the room (bring your own lock). The rooms were clean & beds were comfy! The bathrooms/showers were a bit small, but the water pressure was great & the water was hot. I'd definitely stay again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Rachael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the security.

Disliked: I liked the atmosphere and the people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Santiago Toro Acelas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location, in the middle of Miraflores.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shannon mccullagh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Great social hostel, good place to meet people, free drinks at the bar a good way to get the people together. good location in safe miraflores, would defiently recommend

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic. Highly recommended. Great value for money. Clean. Fantastic staff

Disliked: Slightly noisy at night but didn't really mind this as it wasn't too bad - slept through it as the beds are COMFY

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great experence staying at Kokopelli. As an "older" couple we were a little concerned that we would be really out of place - however the staff were so welcoming and helpful, and we met lots of great fellow travelers and native Peruvians there and ended up staying a day longer! Great value for a place in Mira Flores, Lima. Thanks Kokopelli!

Disliked: It was pretty noisy in the evenings - bars on the street below and across the street were open late, seemed very busy so lots of people noise, and loud music. This was the only down-side. Everything else was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, great bar area for socialising and meeting fellow travellers, fantastic location in Miraflores, hot showers. If you come to Lima I recommend staying here!

Disliked: None

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The smelly toilets, our room would always smell because of the smells from the toilet. The tourist office at the hostel, that would overcharge some activities!!!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great roof top bar.

Disliked: Staff, especially afternoon shift, so rude. Check your bill when you pay at the end also. Me and another person found "key deposits" that had not been credited back.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to every thing..

Disliked: This one guy sitting in the reception had a bad attitude..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012

Liked: Location, 1pm checkout, and breakfast available until 1pm. The beds themselves are very comfortable with clean bedding. Large lockers which include a power point.

Disliked: It is definitely not clean. The bins beside the toilets looked as they had never been cleaned, and one of the bathrooms combined with a toilet on the 1st floor was always dirty. There were also insufficient toilet and bathroom facilities for the number of dorms per floor. One night that we stayed there was a girl being sick in one of the toilets for hours, which meant one toilet available for the whole floor. Our dorm was baking hot, and there are no fans. To let any air in you need to leave the windows open, which means all the street noise and noise from the Irish bar downstairs is unavoidable. Fans should also be made readily available on request - we had to locate our own which we found in an unoccupied double room. There was also no way that the fan we obtained was capable of creating a breeze that would reach everyone in the room, especially those on the top bunks. Breakfast is obtained using a voucher at a cafe around the corner. There are supposed to be three menu options including juice, coffee or tea, however on our first morning we were told that only one option was available, and that there was no juice. This is not a restful hostel, and is very much targeted at the young backpacker market.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value; good location; roof top deck is cool

Disliked: Private rooms are HOT from sun (even with shades) and can be loud from bar/street; bathrooms are separate, but close -- not a huge deal; staff was OK. Doesn't have the most character.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Ryan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Great Bar, great people, great hostel.

Disliked: A tad noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Crisafi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing. Everyone's really friendly, the rooftop bar is a great place to hang out and meet people, its in a nice area and its pretty clean. One of my favourite hostels.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place in Miraflores to stay.

Disliked: the music in the bar is to loud to have some conversations with other backpackers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Costa Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2012 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel,helpfull and really cool staff, Recomended to everyone who wants to stays in a nice place, with great people and great localization.

Disliked: There is nothing i would say i didn't like. But something i would highlight for the other guests, is the outside noisy. To be in region with a heaps of bars, music is loud until late in the night. Beside this, i don't think somebody would not like this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 January 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went above and beyond to make sure my stay was awesome. I love the rooftop bar and the location is stellar.

Disliked: That I couldn't move in and stay forever!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alana Karathanasis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed at in South America. Amazing staff, fantastic rooftop bar and perfect location!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities and very friendly staff (makes a big difference!). Was a fun group of people when I was there as well. Will be staying here next time I am in Lima.

Disliked: Nothing really...good spot.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels