HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of HQ Villa Hostel

Hostel | 1288 Calle Indenpendencia, Miraflores, Lima, Peru Lima 18

85.3% Overall Rating

73 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2013)

"The building is stunning and done up really nicely. There is a great lounge and outdoor space to sit in and a decent size kitchen. Great breakfast with bread, porridge and fruit to choice from as well as tea and coffee."

Read all HQ Villa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Pucllana Lodge
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 26 reviews
Hostal Pucllana
15.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Martinika
26.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HosteLima
8.63 USD

Hostel 87.1% 24 reviews
Wayruros Backpackers
65.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Open Guest House
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.5% 100 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Inclan
11.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 57 reviews
Inka Frog Exclusive B&B
43.70 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

73 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HQ Villa Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 75 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is stunning and done up really nicely. There is a great lounge and outdoor space to sit in and a decent size kitchen. Great breakfast with bread, porridge and fruit to choice from as well as tea and coffee.

Disliked: The kitchen is old and worn and could do with a revamp. The staff were not overly helpful at helping us get into town and had run out of maps. They also only had 12 security lockers for people´s items.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The place itself is a beautiful house with lots of character and plenty of communal space. The garden, kitchen and TV room are really nice. The English guy who works there (I think the owner) was great, he gave me some proper English tea which I have missed. The breakfast is good with fresh fruit, bread (including brown bread), juice, porrige (it`s cold but still tasty and a nice touch I have not had anywhere else). There is even Earl Grey and English breakfast tea available.

Disliked: As other people have commented there is a bad smell in the dorm, the place itself is clean but the smell is off putting. The showers are tempormental. The location takes about 20 minutes walk to Parque Kennedy. There is no lockers in the room, apparently there is a locker available elsewhere but I did not find out until I left.. For 17.50 soles a night I can live with these minor things.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely common areas and garden. It's a beautiful house. I watched a couple of movies, in the television room. they have lots to choose from. Two big kitchens. The guys keep this place very clean. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The property is in a nice safe neighborhood near to the shops and a half hour walk from the beach.

Disliked: They need to replace the mattresses in the dorm room. Mine was well saggy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is actually very impressive. Two awesome and large "living room" kind of spaces to meet people, nice sized outdoor space with tables, and a huge kitchen so you can cook. The staff was wonderful as well. It's very close to a nice supermarket (Wong, like 7 minutes walking). I also walke to the beach and malecón everyday, which didn't seem too far but it was in reality probably a 30 min walk...

Disliked: The only hot showers we downstairs (4 of them) and the ones in the rooms were only cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and pleasant neighbourhood.

Disliked: A very large and somewhat understaffed hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kevin wade

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast buffet........Five fruits, rolls, oatmeal with cloves, coffee and several teas, strawberry smoothies, and juice; gratis.

Disliked: a long way from the airport; taxi only, as would have happened anywhere in Lima, with the airport being out a ways. Near the beach, however.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a large and bright communal area. It's very secure and clean.

Disliked: There is no hot water for showers and this is mentioned in many reviews but nothing has been done about it. After 4 days it is too much. There are no plug sockets in the bedrooms or the bathroom which makes thi gas difficult. Especially drying hair after a cold shower! There are also not enough utensils in the kitchen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place and court yard

Disliked: cold showers and slow internet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ainsley Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Ainsley would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel in a lovely house, very luxurious for the price

Disliked: staff a little standoffish, showers hard to use..warm water at best

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the communal areas - we met a lot of really nice people there - and the breakfast is great! It is really good value for money and it is well located as you can walk to the centre of Miraflores, but at the same time it is in a really quiet and safe area. We felt totally safe and comfortable there. It is a good place to relax, meet other people and the staff are really helpful when trying to organise where to go or what to do next. We loved it - it's an excellent place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful garden, pretty good breakfast, nice staff

Disliked: Its a good value if you can reserve the $6 dorm, but if you decide to stay longer there is a good chance only $10 dorms will be available which is a bit pricey. Also if you don´t have dollars to pay with their conversion rate is outrageous Instead of 2.63 to the dollar, which was standard most places at the time of our stay, their rate was 2.90.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polly Smeaton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: This is like staying at a rich friend's house. It's amazing! Totally comfy, great breakfast and facilities. The staff are great; but special mention goes to Alan...he's a gem.

Disliked: The blankets aren't warm enough for winter!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JOHANA FAJARDO

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 JOHANA would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 10 bed dorm for one week. Staff were very helpful all the time, and the walking tours around the city were fun. The house is a gorgeous place with easy access to some of the main roads and the Metropolitano bus stations. Wi-fi was quite fast most of the time, and the breakfast is delicious. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Lima. Thanks for making our stay in Lima such a nice time!!!

Disliked: Nothing. Although I would suggest them to check whether the toilets are clean more often (some people just don't know how to flush, apparently). Keep up the great work you are doing guys!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruth Hickinbotham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, really helpful and friendly staff. I think the front desk was manned 24 hours, two big comfortable lounges, probably one of the best hostel kitchens have seen, really well equipped. Nice garden to chill in too. In a quiet safe area of Miraflores. The staff here are brilliant, the best in Peru, and really make the place. I had a private room and had a bit of a problem with hot water at times, but this wasn't a problem as it was a good price and a fantastic place to stay. They also arranged my pick up from Lima airport, and he was there waiting for me when I arrived.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhiannon Griffin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is run by a great couple who really make you feel welcome, they put on BBQ nights and other event. Spacious comunal rooms with comfey sofas and a big tv looking out onto a garden. Excellent free brekkie including truly delicious porridge!

Disliked: Kitchen didn't have great utensils etc despite being big. Not enough big lockers for rucksacks to go round.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Lyon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast (porridge, fruit, bread&jam&butter, coffee etc). Lovely garden, massive well-equipped kitchen, cute rooms, comfortable bed, really friendly and helpful bilingual staff. Great neighbourhood and very good value for money.

Disliked: No wi fi in the rooms , only in the communal area (but I think they are changing this). and I also found the other guests pretty unwilling to socialise/even make eye contact. Now this may be because of the scales covering my face and body but I found pretty much 95% of the other guests really unfriendly. This, consequently was a little depressing. However I may just have been unlucky, but as I said the place itself, and the owners and staff, are absolutely lovely.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelo Antonio A Lozada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Angelo Antonio A would recommend this property

Liked: the only hostel that I've been that that you have to socialize with other guest and also with Misha and Mike the owner are awesome and the staff are great, helpful and friendly. Definitely when in Lima will stay AGAIN at the HQ VILLA!

Disliked: NOTHING!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

heidi logan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 heidi would recommend this property

Liked: i like the layout and spaciousness of the house.

Disliked: it is loud. it is a bit like a fraternity house.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and nice staff!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: peaceful, quiet, very relaxed

Disliked: water shortage, had to take a bath and the water changed from cold to hot 5 times in less than 10 minutes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike MacDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Garden is pleasant, hammocks, classy design & layout in general, comfortable common areas, nice kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: really nice area, close to supermarket and some restaurants; staff really helpful and friendly, especially the owners; building was beautiful with an amazing kitchen and the best breakfast in the whole of south america!!!

Disliked: showers were a bit cold

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, nicely decorated, comfortable. Good free breakfast

Disliked: Toilets too far from dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lieke Gillhaus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Lieke would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful house, really well located with all the facilities needed. They have a beautiful garden and I really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning... fresh fruit and bread, juice and most importantly real english tea! The owners and staff are amazing, they will help you with anything you need, organize a pisco sour night once in a while and make your stay worthwhile. Really one of the best hostels I have been to in Peru!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels