HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Hostal Las Fresas

Guesthouse | Calle Las Fresas 221, Urbanización El Olivar-Callao, Lima, Peru .

75.3% Overall Rating

90 out of 97 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2013)

Jason Sharman thinks…

"Close to airport (though not cheap to get there as taxi drivers will charge a minimum of 30 Soles to get there (it is 5mins but they will all say takes lot longer))"

Read all Hostal Las Fresas reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00
  • Luggage Room USD 1.50

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Hostal Sauna Acuarius
12.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel - Lima Airport
6.36 USD

Hostel 86.4% 284 reviews
Hostal Victor - Lima Airport
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 66 reviews
B&B Wasi Aeropuerto Lima
23.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Flying Dog Hostels
12.22 USD

Hostel 75.3% 225 reviews
Machupicchu Suites
25.00 USD

Apartment 86.2% 28 reviews
La casa de Gaspar
8.84 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Guadalupe
14.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

90 out of 97 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Las Fresas'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 93 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. They even tried to feed me!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dustin Homicki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Dustin would recommend this property

Liked: great place in a good location

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jason Sharman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013

Liked: Close to airport (though not cheap to get there as taxi drivers will charge a minimum of 30 Soles to get there (it is 5mins but they will all say takes lot longer))

Disliked: Cost to get there from airport and back again; Owner uses his own exchange rate and therefore price is higher than quoted on hostel-bookers; Room too small and kept tripping over; Area seemed very unsafe walking about after dark; Would only stay if gettin early flight as not near anything worth seeing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Balmforth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013

Liked: Not much. The hostel was near the airport but really hard to find. You definitley need the transfer (which was good if slightly expensive) to find teh hostel. The one member of staff was relatively helpful and friendly

Disliked: From 5am onwards we couldnt sleep due to the racket. People were shouting, banging cupboards amd plates and making an unholy amount of noise. If you were coing from a long flight and wanted somewhere to rest your head this is not the place! No peace and quiet at all! Also it was very difficult to find (a 5 minute journey turned into 40 as the taxi driver couldnt find the building as there were no signs on it and the hostel stafff werent too helpful on the phone). Also the beds were uncompfy (the pillows like rocks!) and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stood there 1 night, because we searched an accomondation near the airport. We were pleased about the friendly and helpful staff. They helped us to book a bus ticket and searched with us a taxi, because we are not able to speak espanol. We enjoyed the kind, and QUIET atmosphere. The private room was very clean like the bathrooms. We did not hear planes, even it is 5 minutes by car away from the airport.. As we arrived, nearly at midnight, we called the hostel for a transfer from the airport. It took only 15 minutes between call and meeting the guy from the hostel!!! So we were very happy with this choice!!!!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Brenner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the airport- easy for our overnight between flights. Good price for a clean, safe, private room with everything we needed. Also they were very helpful- explaining to us how we could get to the airport the next morning without a taxi (taking the colectivos was fun, cheap, and easy with their help)

Disliked: It wasn't exactly quiet- thin walls, but we slept very well anyway and for the price you can't really beat it close to the airport. It was also a little difficult to find but, even late at night, people walking around in the area helped us out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and cheap option when arriving or leaving by plane. Very friendly staff. I asked for the next bus stop and how to get to the city centre and they personally led me to a place a few hundred meters away so I could get a direct bus without having to change it. Also very helpful giving information via e-mail in English and Spanish (usually they answered within minutes or hours).

Disliked: If you want to see Lima´s centre it is probably not the best place. Takes quite some time to get there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tim Griffiths

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very basic hostel but great location. 5 minutes taxi from the airport. Staff were very friendly we arranged an airport pickup and had someone waiting for us with a sign showing our name. The next day we wanted to go into Lima, the owner walked with us 200m down the street and found a collectivo (mini van) for us and we got into the city for 1.50 soles each. All in all if you are looking for a cheap hostel near the airport I would recommend this one.

Disliked: Bed wasn't overly comfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Not far from restaurants or bus 'stops' The staff is very kind and helpful Clean Shower water was warm, just took a bit to heat up

Disliked: Neighborhood is a bit rough looking, I didn't have any problems personally though Rooms are somewhat small for extended stay Far from the city

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012

Liked: Abselutely nothing

Disliked: Dishonesty of the manager No hot or even warm water Area Even it is close to the airport, the hostel try to cheat and give you a transport which is about 5 times more expensive than what it really is. Lies, lies and more lies.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bruno Cloutier

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 August 2012 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and close to the airport.

Disliked: Not in a touristic district.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff

Disliked: hard to find

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

eugene Sheehy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 eugene would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the airport. The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The WIFI only worked in the common room. We didn't have hot showers. We booked a private room online but we didn't get this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel as we had an overnight stay between flights from Lima airport. The hostel's location for airport transfer couldn't be better being just 10 minutes away. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout, and the price excellent. Highly recommended if needing overnight accommodation near the airport, might be a bit far away from attractions if considering a longer stay though. More than adequate for our needs though.

Disliked: Taxi from the airport still relatively expensive, but this is the fault of the taxi companies not the hostel. Our room was a bit small - okay for one night, but probably not ideal for a longer stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davina Rosen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Davina would recommend this property

Liked: In a nice suburb close to airport and supermarket, with plenty of cheap places to eat at nearby. Also v.good value for money compared to the city centre which is a bus ride away.

Disliked: Having to pay for left luggage when we're coming back. Also cost of airport transfer, although this is something that's always more than your average taxi ride wherever you go!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keri Baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 April 2012 Keri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are wonderful. They are super helpful with all aspects of travel. The room is clean and a great value for the money.

Disliked: Keri left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jason Raybin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Airport

Disliked: I would only stay here if I was flying out of the airport early in the morning. Not in a very good location for wanting to see anything.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Key

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The property is so close to the airport which is exactly what we needed as only here for one night. The owner is friendly and helpful and the hostel very clean. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: The hostel is in a slightly rough looking area which made us nervous of going out after dark. It is a long way from Lima town centre. There is also no lock on the bathroom door.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was REALLY close to the airport.

Disliked: It wasn't in a great neighborhood and there was no A/C!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Good accomodation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 January 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay on this occassion was overnight, but we were treated very very well by all staff and certainly expect to stay with Las Fresas on our next visit to Lima expected to be in about a month's time. I gave very high ratings for eveything, but did not have enough time to completely evaluate atmosphere and character as that also requires more time to include the immediate neighborhood and how the other tenents interact. It still got a 4 out of 5 on that and 5 out of 5 on all other categories.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOUJUNG KANG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2012 YOUJUNG would recommend this property

Liked: first of all, people in las fresas , they are so generous and kind. I arrived there at the midnight of christmas eve. but they are pleased to pick me up from the airport and waited for us to take a shot(yellow fever shot is available in lim airport). And they suggest free breads and cocoa tea since it was christmas. Especially the father of owner, even though he cant speak english, he was always smiling and be nice to us. I felt like visiting my cousin or sth. if you are looking for neat and kind hostel, this is the place.

Disliked: the facilities are little bit old .you can hear toothbrushing by the person who stays in the next room. but i think you cant expect too much in this resonable price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Very close to the airport. Rooms were nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family owned guesthouse with such a warm father and son team of hoteliers. They were unbelievably kind, and provided me with personalized service including a big bottle of water upon arrival, tips about how to visit a museum, and generally were interested in me as a person. I had such a pleasant experience staying with them in their home.

Disliked: I found the breakfast to be a bit lacking. There could be some more recreational options e.g. a flatscreen tv or games or a bar, but this was not an issue for me. Generally it was fantastic.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels