HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of The Lighthouse

Guesthouse | Cesareo Chacaltana 162, Miraflores, Lima, Peru 18

91.0% Overall Rating

74 out of 77 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/11/2013)

"The owner is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice, eggs and freshly squeezed juice. The location is very close to both the centre of Miraflores and the sea front. The room had cable Tv and there is a…"

Read all The Lighthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

The Llama Brothers Hostel
10.30 USD

Hostel 87.9% 9 reviews
Condor's House
10.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 267 reviews
Inka Frog Exclusive B&B
43.27 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
El Runcu Inn
42.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.7% 30 reviews
Backpacker's Family House
13.00 USD

Hostel 86.3% 29 reviews
Backpacker Inkawasi
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 17 reviews
Cirque Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 83 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Inclan
11.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

74 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lighthouse'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

daniel cobucci

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 January 2014

Liked: Location, friendness of the staff.

Disliked: The room had a lot of mold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and good breakfast!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice, eggs and freshly squeezed juice. The location is very close to both the centre of Miraflores and the sea front. The room had cable Tv and there is a wide range of DVDs available for all to use. The room was clean, the shower was hot and the beds were comfortable. There is a no e outdoor area with chairs and a parasol, Overall this is one of the nicer hostels we have stayed in throughout South America.

Disliked: Nothing it was very nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is in Miraflores which is a very safe district of Lima, 5 minutes from the beach which is accessed via a beautiful clifftop walk

Disliked: It may be considered far from nightlife but that was fine for me

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe and secure, very clean, breakfast was fine. Felt more like a B&B than a hostel, but this was not a problem. In a good location. Provided a map with points of interest, restaurants, etc.

Disliked: May be a bit difficult to communicate if you don't have any Spanish. There was no sign outside to identify the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite and the room was large. We had access to wi-fi in the room and there was a desktop computer we could use to download our photos.

Disliked: This hostel is not located in central Lima, so you will need to catch a taxi to see places such as Plaza de Armas etc. Not all staff members speak English and although this is understandable in a Spanish speaking country, it can be difficult for some travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostess, helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, walking distance to the seafront and Park Kennedy. Excellent value to money.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aditya Sinha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Aditya would recommend this property

Liked: Room was good and shared bathroom very clean. Shower excellent. Large selection of DVDs and tvs inside each room. Breakfast was great - eggs, pastries, tea. Location is OK but a little far from the centre of miraflores

Disliked: Landlady speaks little to no English so it can be difficult to communicate at times.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Monica Schuster

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Monica left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lady who takes care of the place did not speak English very well, but was patient with my poor Spanish, and very kind. Her daughter speaks fluent English :) I spent my first night in Peru at this hostel. I was traveling alone, so I enjoyed getting know them well. They can arrange a cab to pick you up at the airport, if first time to Lima I recommend...! I stayed in a single room, good value for money. If you don't like sharing with other backpackers, highly recommended! Small back garden is good for chilling. It's around 7 minutes walk from the loud Park Kennedy area. So you can decide to have a big night out, or stay in the quiet area. 5 minutes walk to the sea side, supermarket Vivanda, lots of banks.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and nice hosts, very quiet

Disliked: poor computer and print technology

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, nice neighbourhood and excellent, affordable airport pickup service

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Lee Marks

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Jamie Lee would recommend this property

Liked: The property was beautiful! The hostel is just a short walk from major tourist attractions, but far enough away to allow the traveler some distance from them as well--which I like. Coco and the hostel staff were WONDERFUL. He woke up in the middle of the night once to let us in when our train was late, and bent over backwards for us everytime we asked for anything. Breakfast was great. The hostel was great. Warm blankets, hot water. And they put up with all of our gaffe. Lovely, lovely hostal. Very happy with our decision.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Huge bed in the private room, nice breakfast made-to-order every morning, decent location (a 15-minute walk from Parque Kennedy). It has a taxi service to/from the airport for the same price as you would get at the airport. Really pleasant stay!

Disliked: The woman who runs this place doesn't speak much English -- but we were able to communicate fairly well regardless. The hot water pressure was a little low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Beveridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent choice of accommodation for Lima. Staff were really friendly and helpful (although might have been useful if they had spoken English!) Still, we were able to get everything we needed. Decent breakfast (rolls, eggs cooked to order, freshly made pineapple juice and coffee). Rooms were great - we booked a twin and got 2 double beds. Had our own cable TV in the bedroom and there was a huge selection of DVDs. Great value for money and good location.

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice sized and well equipped kitchen for guest use. Small enough hostel so we never had to wait to cook. Bedroom was really big. Breakfast was great, eggs every morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoffer Drougge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Christoffer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and easy. Good location fel safe.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2013 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, not too crowded

Disliked: Not much english spoken by the lady, but can get by with the help of her daughter or sign language!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Although the owner cannot speak English we found her very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean and the hostel is located in a beautiful area. There are also hundreds of movies to watch if you are at a loose end... Highly recommended. P.s check out endos sushi if your into seafood... A five minute walk away!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Great friendly staff, Very clean, Huge rooms, Very safe, One of the Best hostels I have ever stayed at! seriously. The food was good in the morning, lots of movies to choose from if you have time to kill, plenty of travel books with city guides that you can borrow. I had lost my Iphone & the cab driver knew the people at the hostel and brought the phone back. The owner of the lighthouse worked with me over the internet to get my phone back. I got my iphone back the day after I arrived back in the U.S. Sooo thankful! Excellent Hostel / Bed & Breakfast

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a wonderful place to stay! Our room was so comfortable and big, everything was so clean, the kitchen was very well equipped and the breakfast was served with a smile every morning. Totally recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Djordi De Flo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2012 Djordi would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff. Very clean place and very nice breakfast. Relax and quit atmosphere where one can encounter likeminded travelers. If you're looking for a party hostel; this is not it,, and I was very happy for that! I'm sure to stay here again next time around.

Disliked: Djordi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, comfy beds, tv with international channels. Good breakfast and super friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It's not a dislike just something worth mentioning, not all of the staff speak English so if you're not a Spanish speaker some things can be a bit of a challenge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rein Van Ginckel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Rein would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms, good bed, good breakfast, quiet, ideal place to relax

Disliked: Rein left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels