HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of The Lighthouse

Guesthouse | Cesareo Chacaltana 162, Miraflores, Lima, Peru 18

91.0% Overall Rating

74 out of 77 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/11/2013)

"The owner is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice, eggs and freshly squeezed juice. The location is very close to both the centre of Miraflores and the sea front. The room had cable Tv and there is a…"

Read all The Lighthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

The Llama Brothers Hostel
13.04 USD

Hostel 93.6% 4 reviews
Condor's House
10.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 265 reviews
Inka Frog Exclusive B&B
44.39 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
El Runcu Inn
42.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.3% 28 reviews
Backpacker's Family House
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.8% 28 reviews
Backpacker Inkawasi
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.9% 16 reviews
Cirque Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 83 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Inclan
11.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

74 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lighthouse'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 73 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was bright, extremely clean and neat, and well-run. Our room was spacious and even had a small patio looking out over the quiet street. The shared bathroom always had hot water and was evidently cleaned several times per day. There was a lovely patio space with deck chairs and umbrella - perfect for relaxing after a long bus journey! Wifi speed is excellent and the breakfast was plentiful (eggs, bread, jam, juice and tea/coffee). All up, excellent value.

Disliked: The property is located about 15-20 minutes walk away from the centre of Miraflores, so if you are looking for action this hostel is a bit too far away. It is however closer to the beach/parks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room for 2 nights. It was clean, quiet, lots of space and the bed was HUGE! Breakfast was great. The staff ws very friendly. All in all, it was a nice stay. I would recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

GEORGE CRISTIAN IGRET

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 GEORGE CRISTIAN would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast better than in other places, they give you eggs cooked at your desire, fresh juice an butter, jam, milk, tea, coffee. Our room was big, but it was the garage tranformed in a room.

Disliked: I left one beer in the the fridge when I left :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Home from home. Quiet. Use of kitchen. Good DVD collection to watch in your room.

Disliked: On the last day my taxi was late for the airport. I wasn't allowed to use the phone to check where the driver was.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Ball

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful patio and kitchen available for use. Computer with internet that is free to use as well (nice surprise!). Great sized room and delicious breakfast. Very nice hosts.

Disliked: No soap in the bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, beds, breakfast

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and quite. And the location was great - very close to the center of Miraflores. I was able to walk to Parque Kennedy and the beach. A main avenue is just 1 min away on foot. The breakfast was better than what I got on hotels that cost over 3x as much. Hot water was available in the shower. The room was private and included a private bathroom.

Disliked: Having to walk up the spiral staircase was a minor nuissance. Some new sheets would make the room just about perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing Bed and Breakfast in Miraflores. About a 15 walk from Kennedy Park and 1/2 hour from Lacomor mall. The neighbourhood is residential, so other than the hostel next door was quiet. English speaking hosts so you can communicate even if your Spanish is limited.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a quiet and clean hostel in a good location. The staff are very helpful and there are nice areas to socialise.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location

Disliked: Spiral staircase to my room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean room with cable TV and DVD player. Great location, quiet neighbourhood.

Disliked: Nothing really, shower was colder than preferred but it seemed to be rare to have hot water throughout Peru.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Melnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Location, ambience, atmosphere - a small intimate place in a beautiful neighborhood. Everything was great. Perfect for the single traveller.

Disliked: Like it all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice old house, nice rooms, lovely helpful staff, good location in Miraflores - close to coast and shops

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its not easy to find an ensuit single room in Miraflores for US$ 15 a night, but ¨The Lighthouse¨ is the answer. Its clean, safe and not very far from ¨Ovalo Miraflores¨ (a 15 minutes walk or 3 minutes on the 101 bus). The staff are friendly enaugh, especially the people working weekends. The breakfast is great (fresh bread every morning), fresh juice and something fried (eggs for ex). Its a quiet place, and not for the Party crowd.

Disliked: The only real problem with this Hostal/Hotel is that there isn´t a single FAN in the whole house. I am not saying that they need to install fans all over the place, but a simple table fan in each room would significantly improve the stay. (I could not sleep for two nights because of the heat).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lawrence Cenotto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011

Liked: Clean. Safe. Decent location in Miraflores.

Disliked: Limited staff, no referrals to nearby activities and travel opportunities, and staff that IS here does not speak a word of English.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Hambleton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice courtyard to relax in, friendly staff, nice location, good breakfast, quiet and relaxed atmosphere, laid back. goof for couples or people who are not looking for a party

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked was the fact that our room was like a sauna. There was no fan or air con and even with the windows opened it was muggy in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Davis

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Just about everything would stay here on my next trip to Lima

Disliked: Doors are a bit hard to close make a loud bang each time you did

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, nice,

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Simon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2010 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Charming and interesting fellow travellers and staff.

Disliked: "Dislike" is too strong a word for such a fine place but....... 1) Dodgy kettle - the water goes all over the place 2) I lost the hot water battle 2-1 3) Bathroom mat could be replaced or washed If that isn´t nit-picking I don´t know what is. We were very happy with The Lighthouse. It was a fine place to start our Peruvian travels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2010 lee would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, second time of staying here in a month and loved it just the same. Clean, quiet and really helpful staff. Beds, shower and breakfast are all fantastic.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Franchi

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean, nice kitchen,

Disliked: hosts are away most of time, hard to find them, when needed. Nearly no information about Lima, Tours, Security or anything else

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JACQUES AZOULAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010 JACQUES would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hours hot water was reliable.The room was very clean

Disliked: I booked an ensuite with private bathroom but they obliged me to use a shared bathroom with other people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 lee would recommend this property

Liked: In ten months of travelling The Lighthouse has to be one of my top three favourite hostels. If you're looking for a quite, clean, chilled out place then come here. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is by the far the best we have had and Duncan and his staff are fantastic. Cannot recommend this place highly enough - if you come to Lima, come to Miroflores and stay here.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels