HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Barranco's Backpackers

Hostel | Mariscal Castilla Steet No 260, Barranco, Lima, Peru 13

85.9% Overall Rating

352 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2013)

"Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is served till late and checkout is not till noon which is great too."

Read all Barranco's Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Second Home Peru
57.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 13 reviews
The Point Lima Hostel
9.90 USD

Hostel 85.4% 67 reviews
hostal barranco
15.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
One Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 92.1% 9 reviews
Lima Wari Suites
15.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOSTAL GEMINA
22.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kaminu Hostel - Barranco
9.20 USD

Hostel 84.5% 28 reviews
Hostal Jovita
12.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

352 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barranco's Backpackers'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 299 of 316 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carmen Romaguera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere! Location is awesome.

Disliked: Anything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is served till late and checkout is not till noon which is great too.

Disliked: Rooms have TV, however the cord doas not reach the plug, and when we asked about an extension cord, we were told that the TV doesnt work at all. Staff didn't speak English. The wifi works good, but only in the common areas, the computer was moved or dysfunctional.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013

Liked: I could check in late

Disliked: Staff came across as annoyed that I was checking in late - yet I couldn't help my flight being delayed for four hours

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SHEENA PATEL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 SHEENA would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were fine and they also provided towels which was nice. The staff was very helpful with finding things to do in the area.

Disliked: SHEENA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

duri naimji

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 duri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful, could speak English, courteous, prompt. Room was clean, spacious, quiet. The price was affordable, location was near to shopping and beach. I felt safe, welcome, and like a guest, rather than a number. The breakfsat was varied, fresh and nutritious.

Disliked: Hardly any thing to dislike. The Tv was not working, but one was in living room. Guest Computer was out of order. Unsightly old building opposite, with smelly roof from crow droppings prevented opening windows.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice big rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: shower not really hot, be careful with the electrical socket, it almost caught fire when we put in the plug

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large comfy beds, spacious bathroom. the house itself is spacious, airy and pretty. it is agreable. the location is good, near the sea, the main square, bars...

Disliked: a bit noisy outside hostal should organise activities to give more vibe lack of atmosphere

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet hostel in a lovely area. Rooms are spacious and clean. If you are looking for a place to chill its perfect but if you want to party, maybe not.

Disliked: It was empty when we were there and we could only book buses with Cruz Del Sur through the hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally on the beach front, around a 5 10 min walk down to a nice area and a few nice cafes, supermarket and starbucks literally 2 secs round the corner!! Really helpful staff and friendly, offer transfers to the airport too, would recommend sorting out your transfers befrore as it took forever for the taxi to find the place, even with an address!

Disliked: Not as many nice restaurants as Miraflores, but not really an issue as we stayed for just the night and its relatively cheap to cheap a taxi to the centre. Doesnt appear to be a great deal to do apart from the beach, but again wasnt an issue as was the reason we booked for just a one night stay!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chris was so helpful and gave us great tips and detailed instructions on how to navigate ourselves around Lima. As the first place we stayed on our trip couldn't ask for a better place. Loved being in barranco's it was close enough to everything we wanted to see and felt more authentic Lima than staying in miraflores. Defiantly recommend.

Disliked: No dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, small hostel with lots of character. Close to all the main parts of Barranco!

Disliked: Streets are quite noisy at night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and beda

Disliked: meeds more kitchenstuff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice building, great location, friendly staff, good courtyard to have a beer and meet other people. lots of friendly people staying here. Barranco is a great neighbourhood to stay in

Disliked: a little noisy i think if you want to go to bed early. Most people who stay here go out drinking and then have to ring the doorbell to get back in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. It was so nice to see a different part of Lima. Barranco is very charming and it's fun to explore the streets and wander into the many cafes/bars. The hostal was clean, plenty of hot water for showers, helpful staff, and cute decor throughout the place.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadine Schefer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, secure

Disliked: Nadine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gustav Grytzell Mansson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice room, great common areas to socialize with other backpackers

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pritchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a lovely neighbourhood, Barrancos is an excellent hostel at a good price. The rooms were comfortable with sea views and the en-suite facilities good. Staff were very friendly and helpful on the local area and advice on things to do in Lima in general, and the airport pickup is convenient (they were happy to take us to the airport at 5am) and priced at the same rate as charged by the taxi firms at the airport. Recommended hostel.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very exciting - bread and jam seems to be a standard of hostels throughout South America but isn't very appetising. The rooms at the front are over the outside patio area and this can be a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly and easy going, breakfast is simple and good ! Really secure and well located !

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, manager Chris was very helpfull. Will definatly go back

Disliked: 20 min bus ride into central lima was annoying.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, ocean views, good restaurants and bars. Comfortable good sized beds and competent staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its well located ,nice place to unwind a few days,located in the party district barranco,friendly staff and owner ,gives great advise what to do ..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Josh Pankhurst

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything in Barranco. I considered the location a big plus because I wanted to unwind for a few days in Barranco. You may feel different if you`re touring to Central Lima or other parts of Lima everyday. Clean, Pleasant Staff, A Great overall vibe. Laid Back. Good Wifi in the dining room area

Disliked: Could not get Wifi in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen Bird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in an amazing location just steps from the beach. Desk staff was very helpful but spoke only Spanish.

Disliked: Owen left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels