We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Eurobackpackers Hostel

Hostel | Jirón Manco Capac 471, Miraflores, Block 10 Lima, Peru -

80.1% Overall Rating

16 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2014)

Eduardo Trevisol thinks…

"The staff is great, providing tips about the city and where to go. The location is really good as well, close to supermarkets, restaurants, fast food, Shopping Larcomar."

Read all Eurobackpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

RECOMMENDATIONS We strongly recommend to reserve our pick up service, either from the airport or bus station. Both are busy places, and you probably will get better fares but taxi drivers in Peru work on a commission basis, so they will take you to the hostel where they get commission. It is really confusing to negotiate with them; you rather pay a bit more and enjoy the service of being picked up by a driver holding a sign with your name at the location.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Hostal Merlin Punta Hermosa
13.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
House Inn Backpacker
12.95 USD

Hostel 55.2% 3 reviews
Acuario Hotel & Suites
29.13 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
1900 Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 111 reviews
Royal Sweet Dreams Bed&Breakfast
23.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Happy Up Here Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 136 reviews
Lima Backpackers
11.92 USD

Hostel 97.1% 26 reviews
Hostal Jovita
12.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

16 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Eurobackpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.5%
Location
91.4%
Facilities
73.3%
Cleanliness
81.0%
Staff
74.3%
Value
78.1%
Safety
92.4%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shaun Gowing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, basic room room for the price

Disliked: On the Saturday night music blaring from a nearby club kept us awake till 5:00 am

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eduardo Trevisol

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, providing tips about the city and where to go. The location is really good as well, close to supermarkets, restaurants, fast food, Shopping Larcomar.

Disliked: Our room was close from the kitchen and laundry, so there was noise in the morning for the breakfast and when the clothes were being washed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: steady really fast internet, fresh orange juice for breakfast (and fresh rolls and jam), 50 TV-channels, free movies, excellent location (quiet street) close to Miraflores centre (Kennedy Park) and sea (LarcoMar)

Disliked: in one week nobody cleaned the room, humid room, bathroom smelly (due to humidity im Lima in winter), kitchen old, room's door to thin, so very loud from entrance and door bell

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near central Miraflores and the seafront, with very comfy beds. Good value for the price.

Disliked: Breakfast was ok but not great.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Abby Dowel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: Nothing! And I'm not picky!

Disliked: Where do I start... Upon arriving half an hour before check in we were grunted at and told to come back in half an hour. No staff member spoke to us aside from that, no help was offered with tours or sightseeing, our room smelt mouldy and there were holes in the wall, we could feel the springs in the matress, 'breakfast' was stale bread rolls if they hasn't already run out (2 hours before it supposedly finished) and cold coffee, the shower was literally cold water (and shared between 20 people), location is almost ok but we saw other hostels in much better locations. Basically don't stay here! I'd rather spend the night on the floor of the airport!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa spiquel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 February 2013 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Yes its very close to big road in Miraflores and the staff very friendly, I extended for a few more day

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet & safe. Ideal location for a relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff could not provide information about places of interest , transport, direction etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maureen Keenoy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: excellent place with a lovely ho,ely feel and fantastic en-suite double room - we were very happy with it

Disliked: nothing at all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly, seemed pretty quiet at the time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carl Sodersten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Close to parque Kennedy

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adalberto Azevedo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

04 November 2011 Adalberto would recommend this property

Liked: very good and friendly

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Allison Southgate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: The location was very good in Miraflores, 10 mins walk from the Mall one way and supermarket the other. Tania at the property was increadibly good helping us with a doctor. Beautiful, friendly dog who was no trouble at all.

Disliked: We stayed in the double ensuite and although the room was very big with high ceilings & large bathroom, it did smell of damp. Also the damp was very visible in the bathroom & there were little black insects on the wall. Our room was not cleaned & we had to empty our toilet bin ourselves & ask for toilet rolls. Breakfast was pretty much help yourself from the kitchen. As it was just rolls & jam this wasn't too much hassle but there was no staff manning this & dirty plates etc were not cleared from the communal table.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable double bed. Room was quiet. Hostel was safe with a great dog!

Disliked: Breakfast was basic

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011

Liked: Good location, decent-size room.

Disliked: Originally our booking was misplaced and they wanted to put my wife and I in a room with a single bed. When this was resolved our room was next to the kitchen which meant we were woken up early in the morning (6am) by the staff preparing breakfast. Rooms near the TV lounge would have received a lot of noise late in to the evening. There also appeared to be only 1 bathroom between half a dozen rooms (and perhaps one more in a separate building for other rooms) which meant waiting most mornings. They also ran out of hot water on two days, though only for a short period in the afternoon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a safe central location in Miraflores. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and good size. Bathrooms get cleaned daily during the week. Kitchen is got good basic equipment. Breakfast and WiFi included. They have a secure bagage storage room if you plan to head away for few days they are happy to store your bags. Good new bus system Metropolitana which operates between miraflores and downtown is safe and easy to use.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The staff were very helpful, especially the travel agent section of the hostel! Very safe with electric gates and video/

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Held my briefcase with valuables locked at the front desk while I went out during the day. Wifi was free and pretty fast.

Disliked: Shower was cold, ok during August but would have been really bad during Winter.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, clean, amazing location, great value for $12.50 a night (double private).

Disliked: We loved the hostal, however there seems to be a recurring problem in Peru. Hostelbookers quotes the amount due at arrival in USD. Upon arriving at the hostel, I expect to pay this balance in soles. The current exchange rate is 1 dollar = 2.82 soles. In figuring our balance, the receptionist took our balance due (USD 22.50), and multiplied by 3 soles! She told us that's simply their policy. Why should it cost me more to pay in soles than USD, in Peru?!?!?! After arguing about this for 10 minutes, she gave in and accepted the amount corresponding to the current official exchange rate. This was the 3rd time this happened to us during our stay in Peru, which is absurd. Don't give in and pay more than the exchange rate. Don't allow yourself to get pushed around as a tourist. You're already taking a loss (most of us 1%, some of us up to 3%) paying international transaction fees and atm fees to banks. This is a hostel, not a money exchange office. Don't allow anyone to take even more points on your money. It is absurd to have to carry US dollars around south america because hostels and travel agencies are trying to charge you more to pay in the local currency. Hostelbookers should be able to quote your balance due in the local currency (at the official exchange rate) and maybe we could avoid this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hospitality! you feel like home!the place is very quiet, yet in a central location of miraflores. has a very nice enviornment, clean and welcome you with joy and friendliness.you can meet real nice people there, you can plan your trip, have fun and rest at the sime time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels