HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Youth Hostel Malka

Hostel | Los Lirios 165, Lima, Peru .

78.6% Overall Rating

63 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2013)

"Friendly staff, nice, secure neighborhood, close to buses that take you to all the tourist areas"

Read all Youth Hostel Malka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Inti Wasi Guesthouse
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 56 reviews
Hostal Martinika
25.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Inca Life Hostel
11.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
28.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 17 reviews
Pucllana Lodge
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 26 reviews
Hostal Pucllana
15.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HosteLima
8.53 USD

Hostel 87.1% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

63 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Youth Hostel Malka'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014

Liked: Near the bus station of Cruz del Sur. The surrounding area is quiet and safe.

Disliked: The night shift staff is not very friendly. She insisted to charge me 10% more to pay to HostelBookers. Until I asked where has my 10% deposit gone, she then called to clarify. But since she found that she was wrong, she became very impatient. She almost threw the passport and money changes back to me. There are some other little incidents, just not to mention here. Another thing is the double room is small. But I think it is fair for the price they charge.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: Molly was super friendly

Disliked: There was no double room which we had booked so we had to share

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice, secure neighborhood, close to buses that take you to all the tourist areas

Disliked: Not many affordable restaurants in the neighborhood. We ate at the grocery store

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to all amenities, Miraflores and Historic Centre of Lima.

Disliked: Unfortunately staff try to charge you in local currency and it is much more than you expect. Who knows how they work it out but an exchange is really rubbish. My advice - pay in dollars the price you agreed to pay while booking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big balcony and garden, helpful staff

Disliked: The showers, only very hot or extremely cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyson Weickert

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Alyson would recommend this property

Liked: I think ´good´ is not appropriate, EXCELLENT would be more correct. Exceptionally good value. They are available for help at any time. We were extremely impressed at how we were met just outside customs at the airport, taken by taxi to the hostel and offered advice on trips and places to visit. The friendliness and concern for our wellbeing is outstanding. Reminding us to put on sunblock, advising us against certain transport. My friend and I highly recommend this accomodation, we´ll be back before we leave Peru!

Disliked: No sun today - LOL

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leigh Henderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 January 2012 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 2 nights, no complaints at all, good rooms, good location, really helpful staff and a xlnt breakfast!! Eggs, juice, bread and tea nd coffee..

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sander Ruitenbeek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2011 Sander would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and centrally located between the old town and Miraflores. Just find a colectivo on Av. Arequipa and for 1 sol, you're there.

Disliked: The doors can be a bit noisy at night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010

Liked: Great staff and location! And free wi-fi!

Disliked: The shower sucks! The water was freezing cold or boiling hot...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff - I was ill when I stayed there and they were so lovely and really looked after me. Very comfy and clean hostel too and great breakfast. Thank you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erica Klassen

10 May 2010 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff, and warm atmosphere. loved the backyard and climbing wall!

Disliked: Erica left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Seaton

04 May 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet location next to the bus station. Shower temperature seemed to have a mind of its own though!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Renee Gullett

24 March 2010

Liked: A great location in a lovely neighborhood. However, it was a bit noisy especially as we had a room facing the garden. Unfortunately, the staff did not maintain quiet hours in the garden for those who were in rooms facing the garden so we had a couple of sleepless nights. Kitchen was adequate.

Disliked: Renee left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexandrina Sukhanova

03 January 2010 Alexandrina would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very basic hostel, no thrills. The double ensuite room we had was clean but very simple, hot water would come and go. For the price that we paid it was an OK place to crash in the very beginning of our trip in Peru. The location is quite good in the San Isidro area, just a block away from big supermarkets and banks. The pickup and dropofff at the airport was great as well. But as mentioned, its a very basic place to sleep.

Disliked: Alexandrina left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Amy Jones

19 December 2009

Liked: nice garden

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce place, simple bus ride from both miraflores and lima centro, owners very friendly and plenty of activities within the hostel. Would recomend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jana Bartovicova

09 October 2009 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: nice terrace infront

Disliked: Jana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

piotr plutecki

12 September 2009 piotr would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place, wonderful staff - helpful and with good English

Disliked: piotr left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception staff very helpful. Cafe at hostel very useful and good meals.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Parhiala

18 August 2009 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and pleasant. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the location is perfect, twenty minutes from downtown and 10min. from Miraflores. Quite at night. I stayed at Malka twice and I have enjoyed each visit.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thibaut PETIT-BARA

15 August 2009 Thibaut would recommend this property

Liked: useful

Disliked: Thibaut left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The small garden is a nice place to relax and enjoy a nice evening

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, wonderful staff. Dorm beds comfy. Bathrooms often out of toilet paper, had to ask 3 times. Food not included, but decent cafeteria on site. Decent internet. Not close to any attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eric murray

08 June 2009 eric would recommend this property

Liked: the circuit board with in the TV started on fire. the staff was very quick to remove the tv but did not replace it. they have a lot to do on site and it is only a 1block walk to the park and all the shopping you can handle for a day. there is also a great ceviche place 2min away. the ppl that work there though are kind of lame though

Disliked: eric left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels