We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of 151 Backpacker Hostel B&B

Guesthouse | Calle Colon 151, Lima, Peru Lima 18

89.4% Overall Rating

74 out of 77 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"Very nice hostal, even it may be a little expenisve. Very nice and helpful staff, hot and clean showers, kitchen to use and a cute cat :)"

Read all 151 Backpacker Hostel B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only the following credit cards are accepted so in order for future guests they will have to use the following ONLY please: ·Visa ·American Express If the reservation is cancelled less tan 5 days prior to arrival or the reservation is a No Show The Hostel will charge the full amount (100%) of the Reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Quincha House
12.26 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Runa Wasi Student House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
10.32 USD

Hostel 87.7% 28 reviews
Dragonfly Hostels
4.91 USD

Hostel 88.5% 53 reviews
Inka Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
The Place Hostal
47.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 10 reviews
Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 423 reviews
Munay Bed & Breakfast
12.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

74 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '151 Backpacker Hostel B&B'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 76 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostal, even it may be a little expenisve. Very nice and helpful staff, hot and clean showers, kitchen to use and a cute cat :)

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2014

Liked: The location is great, walking distance to everything in miraflores and a short cab ride away from the city center. The security at the hostel is good as well, you have to have a reservation to be buzzed in the locked gate and they have lockers in every room.

Disliked: Simply put, it felt dirty. Sheets had hair on them, the showers were grimy (and had see-through divider walls, making things a bit uncomfortable) and the common area just seemed like it needed a good cleaning. The room my friends and I were in was very small for 8 people, making it difficult to move about the room when everyone was trying to get ready in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tui Maybury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Tui would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, hot shower, comfy bed, tv in room. Great food recommendation. All you can hope for in a hostel!

Disliked: Tui left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew McAndrew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in miraflores, good wifi, safe in the room

Disliked: Cat lives in hostel, so bring some antihistamines if allergic

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EDUARDO OXMAN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2014 EDUARDO would recommend this property

Liked: it was a very family atmosphere. we were 2 parents with 2 youngsters and a friend of them. the parents stayed at a double we private bath and the youngsters at a female dorm. it was very good. good kitchen, helped us to prepare a full lunch for 7 people

Disliked: EDUARDO left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Kennedy Park and a lot of nightlife/restaurants but far enough away to not hear all of that going on when trying to sleep.

Disliked: They didn't have my reservation when I got there but luckily it wasn't a big deal since they had other rooms available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Hart

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 January 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and so helpful. The position was so central we could walk to everything. We liked the resident cat who was also very friendly and affectionate.

Disliked: The room was quite small but we only stayed in it to sleep and rest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and perfect public transportation options. They speak English and were as helpful as possible. Marcello was very good at responding to our needs. Comfortable beds, coffee and rolls for breakfast, resident cat to entertain. We would stay there again. Not a party place when we were there which is fine for us.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe/secure, breakfast prepared at 2am for us leaving with an early bus. Taxi service. Staff and owner nice. Location in Miraflores is good. Supermarket close

Disliked: Male/female-shared bathrooms and showers, a bit cold in the dorm, Wifi not working, No privacy: they made our beds and put our things into lockers??

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Diana Alieksieieva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: 1. The staff is great. Very friendly and helpful. 2. The location is safe, not far from Parque Kennedy.

Disliked: I am not sure that the linens have been changed after the previous traveler.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Dearling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The cat, Foofoo! Marcellas the owner is very helpful and friendly. Nice tv area. More calm, quiet accommodation. The dorms and rooms are very comfortable.

Disliked: I loved my stay here, I had a great time. Just be aware, if you are offered a special breakfast - you will be charged!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Millard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service! Marcello was a great host! I got into a bout of food poisoning from a local Chinese restaurant and was out of commission for the last few days of our trip. Marcello went with me to the local pharmacy and helped pick up two medicaitons for the food poisoning. It did the trick, just in time for our return flight home. Marcello helped us end our trip on a good note. He's a true testament to Peru's friendly culture.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly helpful staff, room very clean and brilliant location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah bowden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: great value for money. peaceful. good breakfast. clean. great wifi connection

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Manager was super friendly and helpful, came specifically to introduce himself after we arrived. Really nice, clean room, with a garden at the front and very good security - buzzer entry and locked gate. About 5-10 minute walk from the main square in Miraflores and a supermarket. One of the nicest places we stayed in Peru.

Disliked: Might skip the breakfast next time as you're so close to some really nice cheap breakfast places/cafes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. The owner, Marcelo is super friendly and helpful. They give you maps of the city as soon as you get there which are very helpful. The hostal is very quite.

Disliked: The private bedroom I stayed in had a large window which went directly to the front garden. This window didn't have a curtain so you had very little privacy. The room had a strong, cheap detergent smell and the wasn't so clean. The decoration wasn't very nice.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013

Liked: We arranged via the hostel for a taxi to collect us from the airport which did not arrive. When we did arrive at the hostel we were made to feel like it was our fault when we waited over an hour in the arrivals lounge. The owner should get some people skills as his attitude was very hostile. The beds were awful and the pillows were like sandbags. On a positive note the hostel was very secure and clean with a typical breakfast of bread rolls.

Disliked: The owner who made us feel very uncomfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Evelyne Sarbach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Evelyne would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostal is situated locally in Miraflores and even tough it is really quiet, like a green spot in the central with it's small garden/terasse.

Disliked: For any extra service you always have to pay. For example using Hairdryer, using facilities of the hostel on the day of check out ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel. Very secure. Always clean. Nice part of Miraflores (though a taxi would be needed to get to the water fountains or the main square). Friendly and helpful staff. Good wi-fi too.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little basic, but filling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect to be honest, what more could you ask for from a hostel. The rooms are nice, clean and quite. The beds are comfy, the shower and toilet are good. The hostel is quite and chilled out, and is in a very safe and quite area, but just around the corner is Ave. Larco with all the life, banks, restaurants, casinos, etc. Also the beach is very close by! The staff are nothing short of awesome, I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and non compare to hear, they are all so friendly and so helpful. They really go above and beyond, they helped me with ideas in Lima, and great ideas of what to do around the rest of Peru. Really, I can't explain how helpful they really were. Keep up the good work and enthusiasm guys. So good I'll be seeing you again this Sunday when I return to Lima, I even recommend you to a Swiss guy today who's heading down to Lima over the weekend.

Disliked: Nothing! I think if you have something to complain about in this hostel than you shouldn't stay in hostels!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexander burgemeester

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 2 nights in this Hostel and although it was not very busy because of low season I had a lot of fun and got vslue for my money. Marcello, the owner, is extremely helpful and will help you with everything you want or need. The dorms have lockers(bring your lock) and the place felt very very safe. The Double bed room is also very beautiful and has a view on the garden. If I went back to Lima I would definitely stay in this hostel again!:)

Disliked: alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marcello is extremely welcoming and helpful!

Disliked: Breakfast could have been more interesting I.e. included some fruit and/or cereal

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location. It is very close to everything and located on a quiet street. The garden at the entrance is very nice and they have a friendly kitty cat who loves to sleep on your lap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julien BOUTHEAU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: The manager Marcello is very kind and helpful with his guests. The location of the guesthouse is excellent in Miraflores, very close to all facilities (Serpost, banks, supermarkets, restaurants, parks, etc). Internet-wifi is fast. Breakfast is good. Kitchen is very clean. Go go go !

Disliked: Airport pick-up and laundry services are little bit expensive (20 USD$ and 15 chilenos pesos)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet unlike the main Miraflores hostels

Disliked: Nothing


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels