We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Lima

Hostel | 121 Pasaje Schell, Floor 3, Lima, Peru 3673

81.0% Overall Rating

27 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

"good kitchen and wifi, great location in miraflores. there are lockers under the beds (although mine was broken so i couldn't use it). they are accommodating about letting you check in early and storing your luggage…"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Lima reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note, we do not accept credit cards

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

F1 Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Miraflores Guest House
9.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 423 reviews
Inka Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
Hotel Esperanza
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.2% 22 reviews
Oro Bianco Hostel
11.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Puriwasi hostels
9.98 USD

Hostel 92.9% 146 reviews
Albergue Verde
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 72.5% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

27 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Lima'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: so cute, so cozy

Disliked: Nothing that I disliked

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katherine James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014

Liked: It seems like it had a nice atmosphere

Disliked: When I arrived at 8pm after a long day of travelling, I was told by the hostel that they had not received my booking and did not have a bed for me. I found this is strange as I had also emailed them and had a reply confirming my booking. After pointing out I was a lone female and just arrived in Peru, she rang the manager and they found me a bed in the 18 bed dorm but still charged me the price of the 9 bed dorm! However even though I had a bad experience here, it did seem like a nice hostel, just poor organisational skills in bookings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good kitchen and wifi, great location in miraflores. there are lockers under the beds (although mine was broken so i couldn't use it). they are accommodating about letting you check in early and storing your luggage which is great if you have an early or late bus. as long as you don't do laundry there, decent value for money even though the prices on hostelbookers are lower than what they actually charge.

Disliked: THEY JUST MAKE UP AN EXCHANGE RATE!!! they use 3 to 1(usd) which is NOT accurate at all. then they round up to the nearest sole. yes, i realize this is a tiny amount of $, but it is the principle of the thing. also, DON'T USE THE LAUNDRY SERVICE. it is a rip-off, my clothes were not 100% clean, it was expensive, and there is NO way that what i gave them weighed as much as they claimed -they don't tell you the supposed weight until you get it back. also, maybe b/c it is a big chain, and the common area is dominated by a tv, but not a ton of atmosphere, it feels like the starbucks of hostels. light in the room is very dim and there are no readlng lights.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The Staff (cleaners) are very noisy! there was so much noise at around 5am, moving chairs, tables, smashing doors. Then they came in clean the bathroom in our room at 8am, again very noisy, smashed the door behind, absolutely not considering that people are sleeping there. Wouldn't stay there again, there are other hostels near by.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cold weather

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was great location, internet , nice people

Disliked: too noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a good hostel in a good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay. Staff were wonderfully helpful and very friendly. Staff spoke English also. Clean room with nice bed linen, hot showers and my first taste of pisco sour was so yummy, it will be hard to beat! Luggage storage was so handy as my bus the day of departure wasmt leaving until 11.15. Staff allowed us, use of the bar and internet.

Disliked: I disliked nothing about Che Lagarto, and if i come back to Lima, i will definately stay again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kerrie ohalloran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 kerrie would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities, staff were very helpful...the pisco sours are lovely!!

Disliked: kerrie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Petrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I moved from Urban House as it was awful and was so glad i did . The manager GC was the perfect local tour guide and was so helpful and friendly, what he doesnt know about Lima isnt worth knowing. Possibly the cleanest hostel i have had the pleasure of staying in. Very friendly and welcoming <3 it.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in this hostel for 2 times during our stop in Lima. The first time, the private room with toilet was good. Staff were so friendly. Kitchen was ok too. Wifi wasn't well received in the room, but no problem in common area. And we received a free pisco sour after liked their fb page! The second time, the room was a bit small and a bit smelly. The water tap in the bathroom wasn't working well... Not enough towel too. Staff were not the same person that we met last time, not really helpful compared with last time. However, we were allowed to stay in the common area even we have already checked out which it was good!

Disliked: Just the second stay wasn't so nice. And the last thing, this hostel was quite noisy, people were having party in the common area even it was mid-night. If you can't fall asleep in a noisy environment, please pay attention...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

joel Szostak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012

Liked: location & breakfast that's about it!

Disliked: Room said only 8 beds but had door to another room so people passed all night very hard to get a good nights sleep. Drinks where expensive and even though they had run out many types of liquor they were not flexible at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

oded fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 oded would recommend this property

Liked: The double room was nice and comfortable. Excellent location in Miraflores great common area, pool table, lounge and bar. Room are located further away which makes it possible to sleep quietly.

Disliked: Rather expensive if you pay full price. Hot shower did not always work... Price is in USD however exchange rate used by the hostel when paying in Soles is exceptionaly high!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andre Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Everything but the terrible exchange rate when paying in dollars

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Padraig Phelan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Padraig would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good internet, pool table.

Disliked: No people staying here!! iTs dead (March 20)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: bathrooms could be better,ie. places to hang things or put them.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

30 September 2011

Liked: Staff really friendly, excellent location and good atmosphere.

Disliked: There was not hot water in the bathroom. This was known by the site staff prior to my check-in, but they did not inform me. I stayed for one night and did not remain in the hostel until the end of my booking,

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011

Liked: Not a lot.

Disliked: Loud people, screaming along to music from 5pm-2am daily.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good value.

Disliked: Little bit difficult to find at first.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

daniel cracknell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good social facilities and good breakfast - they had cereal!

Disliked: All big dorms, no private rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amit Zitzman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 May 2011 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: very fast wifi cool breakfast good help on reception good location

Disliked: i didnt get the promised towel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the locationthe staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: no hot water one day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUIZ GUSTAVO TRICHES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 LUIZ GUSTAVO would recommend this property

Liked: muito amigaveis, uma grande pena ter ficado apenas uma noite....

Disliked: LUIZ GUSTAVO left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Biggins

03 March 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Miraflores, very safe area near bars and clubs, but also tucked around the corner so away from the noise. Che Largoto hostels have the same style so you know what youré getting, this one though described itself as new but was a bit tatty in places missing lights, shower heads broken etc. Still a fine hostel though.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels