We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Kaminu Hostel - Barranco

Hostel | Bajada de Baños 342, Lima, Peru .lima04

82.3% Overall Rating

27 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Aurelie morgenthaler thinks…

"Great staff, very helpful and nice. The hostel is very cool, you can spend some great time on the rooftop with the others staying at the hostel."

Read all Kaminu Hostel - Barranco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.30
  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

HOSTAL GEMINA
21.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lima Wari Suites
15.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Point Lima Hostel
9.90 USD

Hostel 85.4% 69 reviews
hostal barranco
15.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Second Home Peru
57.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 13 reviews
Casa Nuestra B&B
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barranco's Backpackers
11.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 368 reviews
Studio Apart. Miraflores
25.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

27 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kaminu Hostel - Barranco'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurelie morgenthaler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful and nice. The hostel is very cool, you can spend some great time on the rooftop with the others staying at the hostel.

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Colin Raymond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Architecturally unique hostel just below the 'Bridge of Sighs' and 2 min. from the main plaza of Barranco. Facilities were reasonably clean and wifi worked well.

Disliked: Staff did not act willing to help in tasks like finding local restaurants. For USD $11 a night I expect at least pillows to be provided, not just rolled-up blankets.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The previous day to our stay I made a reservation on hostel bookers and paid a deposit. I sent a follow up email to the hostel to ensure they had my reservation. I received a reply, stating they had my reservation. However, when I arrived, I was told they were full and had not received my reservation. The person at the desk was extremely rude, even after I showed him both my reservation confirmation and the email I received. He made some phone calls and then magically had beds for myself and my boyfriend in the dorm. He never apologized or welcomed us to the hostel. That evening, I overheard 2 other couples come in with the exact same complaints and they were turned away, even though they also paid a deposit. The staff was never friendly, the rooms were grimey, cold and cramped. The restroom is dirty and on the roof. Breakfast was to be included but was not offered to us. The prices are also more soles than advertised online. Terrible experience, stay elsewhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Trucks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in safe and fun neighborhood. 5 minute walk to the ocean and beach. Very calm and relaxing place. Hot showers.

Disliked: It is adjacent to several bars so on Saturday night it was a bit loud from the outside noise. Typical bread, butter and jam breakfast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014

Liked: Close to beach, although beach not very nice after all!

Disliked: Double booked us so had to search the city for somewhere else to stay. 'Breakfast' was bread rolls you had to forage for yourself in the kitchen, with cold coffee.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location and great guests.

Disliked: One staff member was less than helpful or friendly when asking for advice and help. Rest of staff were good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hogommat sylvain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 July 2013 hogommat would recommend this property

Liked: I like the huge terrasse and the location, directly acces to the beach, no other hotels offer that in Lima. Friendly staff, atmosphere really cool! Best Backpackers in Lima by far! get in!!!

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: unfriendly and unhelpful staff... they only speak to you if you ask something and even then it seems like you disturb them by asking for something. In the night pieces of the bunk bed fell down on me

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Gagnon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the area that this hostel is in. Located on a small pedestrian walkway with cute restaurants and just a few blocks away from the center of town. Only a small 10 minute walk downhill to get to the beach area. We stayed in the garden view private room. Very cute room and comfortable room!

Disliked: It was a little difficult to communicate with the staff because we did not know much Spanish. The bathroom was very tiny, but it was still clean and nice! Sometimes it could be a little loud at night. None of these things would keep us from staying there again though. We loved it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ophelie Clermont

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 November 2012 Ophelie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is clean. There is hot water and a good outdoor kitchen. It is well located

Disliked: The staff was friendly, but didn't seem to know a lot about the hostel's things (some discounts in bars that were announced or how to check the emails of the hostel to get some informations)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location in the nicest neighbourhood of Lima! Bohemain historic builiding with a lovely rooftop terrace. The fellow backpackers were friendly and laid-back.

Disliked: The night staff wasn't too friendly: he couldn't find our reservation, didn't speak a word English and was unhelpful. Breakfast was crappy: cold coffee, only bread with butter and marmelade were available.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Savannah Mourao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 August 2012 Savannah would recommend this property

Liked: I like the bright color scheme of the place– it's very easy to recognize, which is important when you're in a new place. I adore the staff. There are lockers provided (but you have to bring a padlock). The outlets can fit three types of electrical plugs (3-prong from the US, 2-prong from the US, and 2-prong from Europe). The main living room, while a bit small, is comfy, casual, and inviting. I also like how safe it feels because you have to get buzzed in from the desk in order to open the main door. There is a wire screen thing that they leave open during daylight hours so you can just wave if they're there. Otherwise, the door bell is sufficiently loud to get the employees' attention, but isn't too too bad from the actual dorm rooms. They have a fridge, full (single-sex) bathrooms, wireless internet, and a computer available to use.

Disliked: The wireless wasn't great, but most of the time you should be outdoors exploring anyway. It was a bit too loud and cold for me since the skylight thing was left open and the dorm rooms have a big opening connecting them. They're moderately private (for visuals, anyway), but it was annoying if the people in the next room stayed up late and you could hear some of the drunkard's activity through the high window. There was not sufficient blanket-age, but I presupposed this when I packed for Peru so I was okay in my sleeping bag. I would recommend a sleeping bag to anyone traveling in Peru and maybe a pillow, if you're nitpicky. Also, the women's bathroom was right behind the front desk so you have to wear everything into the bathroom to not show the world so much skin. Lastly, the toilet stall lacked a latch so you could hold it close or pray no one came in; the shower stalls were almost entirely see-through so you had to pray no one would come in; and there was no extra room in the shower stalls for you to not be wet so it meant getting naked right in front of the main door (behind the front desk) and turning on the shower and expecting to be soaked. Lots of praying no one would walk in. It's actually not as bad as it all sounds, but you have to go in with a spirit of adaptability.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillermo Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2012 Guillermo would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled place, comfortable, very friendly morning and afternoon shift staff. The roof deck is so good! Hot water all the time. Very good located (close to the beach, restaurants, bars and bus stops from barranco).

Disliked: The night shift receptionist was not very friendly, plus, one night he appeared at the hostel completly drunk, sleeping on the couch. The owner came, put some order, and he apologized with us. Although it was funny, we almost didn't go out that last night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, in a pedestrian street, closed to bars, restaurants and a viewpoint. Friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good roof terrace. Allowed to use hostel facilities until late in the evening before night bus. Great location in Baranco.

Disliked: Some of the staff were great. Others were really miserable. Hot water not always available.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carl Sodersten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy rooftop

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stine Mari Harildstad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Stine Mari would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Staff watching porn at the guest pc

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francesco seccia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and amazing terrace

Disliked: francesco left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, relaxed vibe at this hostel. Everyone was considerate towards other travellers. I enjoyed my stay as it was not a party hostel but still had entertaining times and met some nice people

Disliked: Definitely no hot water 24/7!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, met some very nice people. Good breakfast. Great location. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fgasdfg

Disliked: asdfasdf

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iris Ainsworth

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: Atomosphere

Disliked: Girls Bathrooms are on the ground floor where the Dorms are.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Todd Marino

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the place were pretty cool

Disliked: When paying for the hostal the man tried to charge us for a member of our party who had canceled two days before. He gave me a lot of attitude for his failure to do basic accounting. he unfairly charged us the deposit, but for 89 cents I'd rather be rid of him.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Calum Milne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Calum would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean rooms

Disliked: no major complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great location

Disliked: The hostel was nice, although it is next to a loud club so it could be hard to sleep for some people.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels