We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Dragonfly Hostels

Hostel | Avenida 28 De Julio, 190, Lima, Peru Lima - 18

88.5% Overall Rating

46 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Kate Turner thinks…

"Good location, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooftop terrace, good place to meet people. Also has a tourist info desk to help with tours/transfers etc."

Read all Dragonfly Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.00
  • Towel USD 1.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
10.46 USD

Hostel 88.0% 27 reviews
151 Backpacker Hostel B&B
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 77 reviews
Inka Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
Quincha House
15.40 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Runa Wasi Student House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The House Project
11.98 USD

Hostel 91.8% 8 reviews
Munay Bed & Breakfast
10.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 12 reviews
Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 422 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

46 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragonfly Hostels'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooftop terrace, good place to meet people. Also has a tourist info desk to help with tours/transfers etc.

Disliked: We were in a double private with bathroom and since you cant flush the toilet paper down the toilet, it would be nice to have the bin emptied daily.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff have been great Great roof top terrace Fresh rolls and coffee for breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice rooftop terrasse and the very good location in Miraflores

Disliked: The noise from the street

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop deck

Disliked: cleanliness of the rooms and bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emanuel Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013

Liked: The staff was nice and helpful. The hostel is located in a safe area, but a bit away from the life. Breakfast is good and included.

Disliked: It is noisy at night, hard to sleep without earplugs. The showers are just bad, often just cold water. The cleaness was really bad, hairs everywhere all day long.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar is awesome. Location is excelent. Kitchen facilites were a little odd. Stove was on a different level, not a big issue though. Great little cafe downstairs. Really enjoyed our stay here. One of our favorites.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rasmus Tranberg Andersen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013 Rasmus Tranberg would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop terasse was a great place to chill and have a beer. The breakfast was the best I have had *for free* at any hostel in South America with fresh juice and good coffee. The distance to the coastal area in Miraflores makes this an near perfect choice..

Disliked: 5 sols for renting a towell, even when booking a double room???? This make 4 USD for 2 person to use a towell after a shower.. Not good enough! The bar was closed most of the time we were there, and as for many hostels in Peru beer is overpriced.. This is not what you see in hostel elsewhere, where they make it a point to create a good athmosphere for the travellers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, social atmosphere, with a great roof terrace and little bar. Close by to the centre, shop, cafes, buses to Lima centre etc, but still quiet enough at night.

Disliked: Our room had 9 beds and was quite small, but there were enough lockers and a table and sofa as well.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Walby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Super chilled, attracts the right kind of traveller, great rooftop bar!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, in a very good location. Very clean room and bathrooms. Super friendly and helpful staff. Relaxed and hassle-free atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop

Disliked: Hot water unreliable. Small WiFi range. Can get loud in the corridors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Small

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff at the desk! They helped us book surf lessons, and also recommended some good restaurants. Good wifi! Excellent kitchen facilities and extra points for the brewery on site and beer fridge! Good location, and I felt safe and secure. The bathroom facilities were nice, and the shower had lots of hot water! Rooftop foozball was awesome!

Disliked: Morning meal was the usual stale buns and butter and jam, which passes for a continental breakfast in Peru.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fresh juice at breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Mattress really need replacing - they're the worst I've slept on in 4 months of hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close to the beach and the Central Park - but not too close so it's pretty quiet.

Disliked: Our bathroom was a little bit dirty and old.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: A pretty reasonable hostel, and normally we would have stayed longer. (We actually wanted somewhere quieter to get some work done during the week, and this wasn't quite for us for that purpose, so we moved elsewhere.) But in general, the place was comfortable and friendly and clean -- and the location is good both for Miraflores generally and for the coast. There seem to be tonnes of tours they can organise, if that's what you're after. And the rooftop area seemed pretty cool, even though we didn't spend any time up there. I like the couches in the dorm rooms.

Disliked: Noisier than I would have liked at night, and as other reviews have noted, having one girls' and one boys' shower (each with toilet, plus one additional WC) is a bit limited.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great 3 day, two night stay at dragonfly hostel. However, the staff really went above and beyond when accommodating us regarding our late flight (midnight) out of Lima. We officially checked out at noon, but we were told we were more than welcome to come-and-go throughout the day as we pleased, use all of the common spaces, store our belongs in the locked storage and shower at the end of the day before our flight. They were so generous and accommodating. The staff was always friendly! Finally, safety is very important to us, and we felt that we were in a very safe area and the hostel was locked 24hrs a day with 24hr reception service. Just ring the bell and you were quickly let in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were extremely friendly and had great travel suggestions

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Dimasi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a great location - I felt very safe wandering the streets, even at night. It's quite a small place, so it wasn't overly noisy either. The staff were incredibly helpful and spoke English very well. They book bus/plane tickets without taking commission and are always on hand to assist with anything. Breakfast is provided (although is very light). Both private rooms and dorms were comfortable, clean, excellent value for money and fairly secure too. Overall, a great stay!

Disliked: Ella left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Hinton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2012 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here three times in one month, as we passed through Lima for flights. The staff were fantastic and the rooms were clean. Had a private triple room with ensuite twice and a double with shared bath once. Triple was quite spacious with clean bathroom. Doublke was fair and shared bathroom clean and functional. Quiet and the staff are very helpful and assist in any way possible. Would reccommend this to anyone. Near the beach front and Parque Kennedy and little Italy street for food.

Disliked: Tony left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yvonne Hunziker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Dragonfly the second time now because I enjoyed it very much. It is a small and friendly place, also quiet and close to the beach as well as the center of Miraflores. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms comfortable enough. I also like the roof terrace for haning out. Can totally recommend it!

Disliked: Yvonne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, roof terrace, good location, nice staff, cheap!

Disliked: Nothing, our stay couldn't have been better!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, and they serve REAL coffee, not nescafe, for breakfast. This is rare in Latin America, and a huge bonus in my book. Our room was clean. No problems.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable beds

Disliked: There is only one girl's shower and one boy's shower for the whole hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011

Liked: Very good location near the Park Kennedy and the beach area. Safe neighbourhood. Nice roof terrace where there were a grill and also table soccer game. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Some of the rooms are in the roof terrace and they have only one shared bathroom, which is very small and a bit dirty. If people are hanging out in the terrace during night time it is very noisy inside rooms also because there is no sound proof. After three nights we moved to Bluehouse hostel nearby, which was much nicer and more quiet.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels