HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Dragonfly Hostels

Hostel | Avenida 28 De Julio, 190, Lima, Peru Lima - 18

88.5% Overall Rating

46 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

Kate Turner thinks…

"Good location, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooftop terrace, good place to meet people. Also has a tourist info desk to help with tours/transfers etc."

Read all Dragonfly Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.44
  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
10.49 USD

Hostel 87.7% 28 reviews
151 Backpacker Hostel B&B
10.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 77 reviews
Inka Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
Quincha House
15.33 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Runa Wasi Student House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The House Project
11.92 USD

Hostel 91.4% 9 reviews
Munay Bed & Breakfast
12.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 12 reviews
Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 423 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

46 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dragonfly Hostels'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 48 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very helpful!

Disliked: could be a little cleaner, upstairs private double has no real windows, and is very damp even with extra blankets. Lower private room is warm, but very noisy with dorm bathrooms outside the door, and loud common area close by.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pekko Parikka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Pekko would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with basic breakfast, very friendly staff that speaks good english. Location pretty good between Kennedy park and shopping mall, but could be slightly closer to Kennedy park.

Disliked: Don't like that owner wanted us to pay more expensive exchange rate than it officially was when we didn't want to pay with usd and their taxi to airport is even more expensive than green taxi (official airport taxi).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within Miraflores, Lima. Nice, clean rooms. Big roof terrace and well equipped common kitchen. Very helpful staff. Fast WIFI-Internet connection.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean, simple, bed was comfy. I chose this hostel because I had a stopover in Lima and I wanted to spend the somewhere where I could see a little of Lima at night. Dragonfly is near park Kennedy so I walked there, I had no trouble at all, Miraflores is very safe there are police officers till very late at night so I felt safe. This is a great place to spend the night if all you need is a clean and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010

Liked: breakfast and location are ok.

Disliked: The noise. The rooms are near the street where all buses and taxis drive almost all night long. We slept very badly during the 2 nights. The young guy that welcomed us (not the manager of the hotel) was a bit weird, and he never bothered to say hello even once the next days. He seemed to be annoyed by travellers. We thought we had booked a double room with private bathroom (as mentionned on their website in the private double category ) but ended up with a shared bathroom. The website is not clear on that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are so helpful.They are handsome and beautiful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, feels like home. Thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Pepper

12 March 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place right next to ocean with a price you can't beat. One thing, this isn't for travelers that want A/C or can't deal with city noises since it is on a busy intersection but the place was perfect for my needs and cheap ass

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melinda McKenzie

16 December 2009 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: Easy check in. Room was big with handy shelves etc. Two king singles. No ensuite but own lockable toilet/shower almost next door.Guy who 'checked us in' was supposed to organise us a taxi in the morning but we never saw him so did it ourselves.

Disliked: Melinda left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leon wall

04 December 2009 leon would recommend this property

Liked: it has very relaxed atmosphere.it feels like home and is in a very central location

Disliked: leon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the staff was nice and very helpful, great location. A bit dirty, but alright and basically in line with most hostels in the same price class. lived up to the promises and I would recommend it to other travellers, but they cannot expect hotel standards.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 August 2009

Liked: Rooms were simple and facilities clean. However, despite my request for an airport pick up, and email confirmation that this would be provided they forgot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Tomlinson

15 July 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Was recommended to stay here by some previous guests and I wish I had found it when I had been in Lima 2 weeks before. Has a great rooftop terrace which is spacious and the owner is intelligent to talk to and knows Peru´s history well. Really loved my 2 nights here.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostal for the money. Good location, great price, and a very friendly staff that speak English well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for the money. This was a quiet week here, and the owner of the hostel said it is usually packed. The hostal is clean, with free internet access and a small kitchen. Even though there is a small kitchen, cable tv, and internet, it is still somewhat barebones. However, it is also inexpensive with a very good location. The owner of the hostel speaks great english, and is both friendly and helpful. I will be staying here again towards the end of my trip

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Harriet Macfee

16 April 2009 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: there's only a microwave so be warned!!

Disliked: Harriet left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zain Peart

21 December 2008 Zain would recommend this property

Liked: great location, great rooms - very comfortable matresses. the relaxed atmosphere is a great change compared to some of the other hostels i have stayed in peru. highly recommend.

Disliked: Zain left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Kraft

10 September 2008 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean with very comfortable beds. The staff was super friendly and spoke amazing English! I had a great time in Lima!

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels