HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Backpacker's Family House

Hostel | Juan Moore 304, Reference block Nº 11 Av.Pardo, Miraflores Lima, Peru .

83.8% Overall Rating

24 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2013)

"- lots of space even when full, big rooms and common areas - extremely friendly and helpful staff - great location just few steps from the shore and a very quiet place - you can cook, chat or take a beer with the…"

Read all Backpacker's Family House reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

WHY DO WE RECOMMEND THE PICK UP SERVICE? THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL INSTANCES WHERE TAXI DRIVERS AT THE AIRPORT HAVE CHARGED TOURISTS MUCH MORE THAN THE NORMAL PRICE AND/OR THEY HAVE BROUGHT TOURISTS TO GUEST HOUSES / HOSTELS WITH WHICH THEY ARE CO-OPERATING. IF YOU WANT THE PICK UP SERVICE, PLEASE SEND US AN E-MAIL WITH INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR FLIGHT NUMBER AND ARRIVAL HOUR.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

El Runcu Inn
42.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.3% 28 reviews
The Llama Brothers Hostel
13.14 USD

Hostel 93.6% 4 reviews
Condor's House
10.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 265 reviews
Backpacker Inkawasi
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.9% 15 reviews
The Lighthouse
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 77 reviews
Inka Frog Exclusive B&B
44.76 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cirque Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 83 reviews
Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Lima
11.20 USD

Hostel 86.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

24 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpacker's Family House'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - lots of space even when full, big rooms and common areas - extremely friendly and helpful staff - great location just few steps from the shore and a very quiet place - you can cook, chat or take a beer with the others, use the internet, watch the big TV, chat with the staff, I think they even offer some free spanish clases and pisco sour night :-) You can even rent a bike very cheap. - this is not a party place but usually has a very good social atmosphere, there are guest of all ages here - very nice! - NO stupid restrictions like: you can not drink your own beer, you have to leave the premises at 11.00, etc.

Disliked: Difficult to find something but perhaps the breakfast could be more variable (but for the price it is definately ok). The airport transfer could be a little cheaper.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, relaxed, safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013

Liked: The atmosphere was good and there was a nice room with couches and a tv. Also, there was free computer use and internet. The location was great, too. It was close to the ocean cliff where you could take a nice walk along.

Disliked: Our room was on the roof and was a makeshift room far away from everyone. We did not know this when we booked and had we known we would not have booked it. The room even had a reputation among the staff members. When we told which room we were in they seemed to feel sorry for us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room on top of the building. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good informative staff, safe neighbourhood, close to grocery store, good taxi pick up from airport

Disliked: showers were not hot two of the nights but the last night we changed rooms and the shower in that room was really good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Shopping

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel backpakers family house a good hostel for tourist, friendly stuff , shower with hot water and evreything was good!

Disliked: Just the location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice staff, very social. Good common area, comfortable beds, hot showers.

Disliked: The dorm sometimes smelt like urine, but we could not locate the source of this. The breakfast is simple. The TV has bad quality.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Chang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for about 10 days while we were shipping a car from Peru to the US. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all we needed, including making ongoing plans. Very personable and took interest in my shipping process, which I appreciated. A great living room with cable TV and strong internet. Hot, clean showers. Kitchen priveleges, although it wasn't necessary becuse there is so many eating choices in all price ranges in the neighborhood. Beautiful neighborhood close to beach, parks, main street with grocery stores and good restaurants, very walkable.

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: personal atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and close to the beach.

Disliked: No private bathrooms. But the shared ones were really clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Location near the beach was great. Taxis into downtown Lima were cheap and it was nice to stay in miraflores which was very safe.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, hot showers, and the staff were SUPER helpful with local information.

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy atmosphere, staff are really helpful and friendly. Opportunity to cook yourself if you want to. Clean.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly hostel, where it is rash to meet other travellers. This isn't a party hostel, but it doesn't claim to be. All the staff couldnt do more to help you during your stay, recommending places to go and helping you on tour way with all the information you could need. I stayed an extra night.

Disliked: Nothing!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff that are ever so ready to help you and give advice!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Watson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best little hostels we have come across. Great staff, nicely laid out common areas and a great safe location. They even helped us store our bags while we were on our trek. The interior was simple but tastefully decorated and we met some great travellers here. We will stay again. Richard

Disliked: We took a taxi outside and they doubled our fare at the end. Would have rathered the hostel call one to prevent this and confirm the price as many hostels do.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 October 2009

Liked: The airport pick up worked out well - a guy was waiting for us and took us to the hostel. When we arrived there we had to pay for everything and they told us they didn't have any change whatsoever. So we had to sort out between our American and Peruvian cash trying to pay exact change (since we had paid a deposit on here it's not like it was an even amount to just pay). Luckily there were 4 of us so we managed together to come up with the right exact amount. We got in at night and the neighbourhood is a bit dark so we didn't want to wander around too much. The rooms were damp because the air in Lima was so, and the beds were super uncomfortable (foam mattresses that sink in). The wall beside my bed was crumbling and something that looked a bit like asbestos was coming out of the wall. I woke up with wall crumbling on my blanket. I wasn't very impressed and when I returned to Lima I stayed at Pariwana's which was great (and NOT damp despite the Lima air).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 September 2009

Liked: Not much really..the location was about all it had going for it and he owner and manager xtian was arrogant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mia Selinger

10 July 2009 Mia would recommend this property

Liked: Service was great! Everyone is so nice and helpful! They got us cabs, suggested sites to see, and made us delicious pisco sours!

Disliked: Mia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Crane

01 July 2009 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly place and great recommendations from the staff.

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. I can´t recommend it enough. For its price, it offers everything. The honours Christian and Pedro are absolute stars and cant be faulted in their tireless efforts to help everyoner and gaive advice. Additional to this great people are there and an amazing time is had by all. A wonderful relaxed vibe. Be aware people are being turnmed away they are so popular. Book up!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurie Turnbull

12 February 2009 Laurie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, great location - wonderful hostel

Disliked: Laurie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Munro

12 January 2009 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks again Christian and Pedro - this was the third time I've stayed here - and oasis stopover in Miraflores as always :-)

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels