HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Av. Larco 655 - 3 -, Miraflores, Lima, Peru 8

80.3% Overall Rating

387 out of 423 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

"Nice location close to Kennedy Park. Staff was helpful. Secure facility. Safe neighbourhood."

Read all Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Miraflores Guest House
8.52 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Che Lagarto Hostel Lima
10.00 USD

Hostel 81.0% 34 reviews
Inka Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
F1 Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The House Project
11.92 USD

Hostel 91.4% 9 reviews
Hotel Esperanza
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.2% 22 reviews
Oro Bianco Hostel
11.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pariwana Backpacker Hostels
12.08 USD

Hostel 93.8% 165 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

387 out of 423 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 337 of 362 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location close to Kennedy Park. Staff was helpful. Secure facility. Safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: É um hostel simples, com o estilo popular do Peru, mas vale o preço.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2014

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Wifi only available around the front desk. The hotel itself looks old and not taken care of properly, there was a piece of cardboard covering a broken window in the kitchen area. The bed frame in the room I stayed at was just a base made of cement with a mattress on top.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, breakfast included

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Small and quiet place, but still right in the "heart" of Miraflores. Short distance to sea and green parks. The staff are friendly and helpful. Good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to all destinations.

Disliked: Hostel description mentioned fresh tropical fruits for breakfest which ended up to be an artificial tasting juice. When asking the hostel about the fruits they pointed at the juice. Fruits and juice are somehow not the same

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014

Liked: good location, the owner is really nice and helpful. Clean and safe.

Disliked: aside from the owner, the other staff were unfriendly and the hostel felt a bit backwards. There was a lack of atmosphere and it was not very sociable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price in this area is ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oliver Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location on Av. Larco in the centre of Miraflores, just 5-10 mins walk to the coast. The staff were helpful and the room was cheap, and I was very pleasantly surprised to find a TV in my room with channels in English (very rare in hostels). Breakfast also included, which was nice (two bread rolls, juice, tea/coffee). Plus it was secure and comfortable.

Disliked: The shower curtain was a bit tatty and the water took a long while to warm up, but not major complaints. Also, my room had a window which let out onto a courtyard below where a Russian (?) family had dinner and spoke quite loudly (i could hear when I closed my window). Again, really not a major complaint though

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

HYEKYUNG SEO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 HYEKYUNG would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION is perfect. bank , cafe, restaurant, shopping center, outlet, beach, 24hours supermarket!!! and park and you can hang around in night, and there's really good terrace whickh you can play pingpong , wifi, relax . I think Miraflores is really safe and you can stay center of MiraFlores~ with good price at Kusillu's ^______^

Disliked: well, We stay in double room with private bathroom. smell a little bit from bathroom ^___________^ but It was OK!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Des BANGUR

Alone

City break

05 December 2013 Des would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here 6 years ago and came back. Still the same type of hostel, quite and convenient. However i feel it now caters more to local travellers/families than backpackers. Friendly people in hostel.

Disliked: Was a bit shocked to see shower only dribbled hot/warm water. Minimum requiretment for all hostels is clean, safe and hot water. Rare to find a hostel that does not provide good flow of hot water in shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Seemed to have to hunt someone down for help or information.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kin Ho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2013 Kin would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main shopping area of Miraflores, lively location.. Hostel staff are friendly and gave some good advice. Use of kitchen and fridge.

Disliked: Lack atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for a private room ensuite in Lima. Very handy location on one of the main arteries in Lima with the LarcoMar shopping mall/restaurant complex/views over ocean on one end & the other going all the way into the centre, so very easy for budget travellers to get into the centre on the minibus and very easy to navigate around from. Safe area, Walked around after dark on my own as a female and felt fine, lots of people around, nice park just up the road. Staff were very nice and helpful. 75 cable channels with 3-4 showing films in English.

Disliked: Wifi wasn't working. Drab decor & shabby, down at heel feel. Very low watt bulbs so room quite dark. Lots of street noise including cars beeping really loudly at 3am! Airport pickup was late so got taxi myself from airport which was fine, just go to the Green Taxi stand. Almost all staff don't speak English.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

anne dorst

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Got our booking wrong, then tried to rip us off when we politely declined the offer of beds in the ofice. Super unfriendly, even shouted at us. Glad that we had to move to to B&B hostal tradiciones which was AWESOME.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013

Liked: The property itself was modest, clean and well worth the $10 a night. If you're just looking for a place to stash your stuff - do it.

Disliked: The Staff! The staff were rude, with guests being scolded and reprimanded on various occasions. The staff were unwilling to communicate in the way you would expect from a hostel that caters to travellers from around the world, they were not approachable or friendly. The driver they arranged to collect us from the airport (for an additional cost) was an hour late, and then couldn't take us to the hostel because his car was broken - so we had to take a taxi. They denied our booking existed upon arrival to the airport where our driver was supposed to be waiting for us. We called the hostel to find out what was happening and the person answering the phone couldn't communicate or understand anything about our enquiries, even when we sought a local translator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Sabol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Hot guests!

Disliked: It's a bit small.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful, good location.

Disliked: Safety store room, there is a Place to leave your belongings, but it's quite small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Heiman

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, familylike atmosphere. secure and quiet.

Disliked: i have no complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in a very good location in Miraflores, the rooms don't look onto the main street so the traffic noise is negligible. Staff was very helpful, especially when I had to go to the doctor at last minute notice. There were some issues with a double booking for the fist night, but they offered us a different room at no extra charge and all worked out perfectly. Breakfast is nice and abundant (we are talking South America standard, you can't expect a European style buffet).

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012

Liked: I booked an airport pick up car and confirmed it twice yet I was still woken after midnight to confirm my booking. The night manager had given orders to staff to wake me when they should have rung the driver to confirm. I then could not get back to sleep for my 5am early awakening and missed my whole day of sight seeing, due to no sleep in the following destination. The night manager was rude when I asked if there was a problem with the booking... And did not even apologise.

Disliked: The night managers attitude. Arrogant.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ABDUL HAKEEM AL AMSHAN

Alone

Business / conference

28 October 2012 ABDUL HAKEEM would recommend this property

Liked: its very good location and everything is easy to for any reuirements of visiter.

Disliked: ABDUL HAKEEM left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RODRIGO VENTURA

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 August 2012 RODRIGO would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great service,no problem átt all...

Disliked: Nada

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacy Simoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Good common areas, Refrigerator, micro, stove, sink and nice view from dining room/kitchen. Good hot water and TV in private room. Security door, must buzz to enter hostel. Equipment day storage allowed because of late flight. Freindly crew. Ricardo congenial. Rooftop area also.

Disliked: No CC accepted (but USD, Soles okay!) Minor: TV remotes in two rooms didn't work (batteries?)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Kusillu is a great deal for its fabulous location! It´s clean and has a nice rooftop patio. The owner, Ricardo, is very friendly and helpful and helped us out a lot.

Disliked: Decor could use a litle work.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels