HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Huaraz hostels

Reviews of Hatun Wasi Hostel

Hostel | Jr .Daniel Villayzan 268, Huaraz, Peru 043

87.0% Overall Rating

28 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/06/2013)

Lisa Vaughan thinks…

"Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, clean, tidy and cosy. Good location, close to amenities. Beautiful terrace with fantastic views of huaraz and surrounding mountains. They offer a…"

Read all Hatun Wasi Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huaraz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huaraz

Hostal Quintana
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Andescamp Lodge
7.00 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Andes Warak
12.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La casa de Maruja B&B
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 9 reviews
HOTEL GALAXIA
8.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
La Casa de Zarela
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 4 reviews
Olaza's Guest House
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 48 reviews
Albergue Churup Hostel
60.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

28 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hatun Wasi Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikael Hansen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean Nice bathroom

Disliked: Only one from the staff talked english. Room were cold

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In quiet street, very secure. Staff excellent. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl turner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view, clean room, hot showers, great internet and cable t.v.

Disliked: cheryl left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Vaughan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable rooms, clean, tidy and cosy. Good location, close to amenities. Beautiful terrace with fantastic views of huaraz and surrounding mountains. They offer a choice of A deicious breakfast which can be enjoyed on terrace with a breath taking backdrop.

Disliked: Could do with more utensils in self serving kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dominick marcil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 April 2013 dominick would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, it is the best guesthouse in Huaraz for sure! Clean, quiet and spacious. Liz was amazing, friendly and helpful, she also has a contagious laugh. Her dad and mom where both very nice, they always pay attention to everybody's health and well being. I can't say enough because I had such a great time. The breakfast was delicious and the kitchen staff was super nice. I will definitely go back when I go to Huaraz again. Trust me I am a very demanding person and Hatun Wasi had everything I was looking for and more.

Disliked: nothing at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely nice clean hostel. View from the roof terrace is amazing and lovely place to sit and have your yummy breakfast

Disliked: Showers could be hotter and not always someone in reception to answer the door or your questions

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

christopher coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: reasonable price with good breakfast choice.Rooms had Wifi & cable.

Disliked: A little far out from the centre.Staff a bit disinterested. Locked out once no staff in hostal. Breakfast woman failed to show 1 day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no early reakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no early breakfast staf nice BUT WITHOUT reliable info

Disliked: no eraly breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean mason

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 sean would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, great breakfast, friendly staff... pretty terrace with a great view...we had a late night bus and they let us store our luggage, take a shower after rock climbing and watch tele until our bus. this is not a party hostel however (although we are here in the low season)

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012

Liked: Its clean

Disliked: Tried to overcharge me for the room and extra for breafast no towel and nobody was in the hotel..bad place to meet anyone

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saman Bossmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Saman would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good service and breakfast. Clean, good rooms.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALINE REBOUÇAS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 ALINE would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very clean and the staff is very helpfull. And there's a great view upstairs on the place we have breakfast. fOR TELLING THIS, there are more options of food if you compare with others hostels i've gone in Peru.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hatun Wasi is rather like a hotel if you stay in the double rooms, which is nice- tv, good bathroom, towels etc. We stayed in both double and dorm rooms. Their is an amazing roof top terrace where breakfast is served with views of the Cordillera Blanca and Huascaran. Breakfast is great, bread and jam, eggs and ham, fruit juice and a coffee or tea, there are options for other brekfasts at extra cost. We stayed at Hatun Wasi for over 10 nights over a 3 week period between treks, we left luggage securly with no issues each time. There is a reasonable kitchen which is not a common thing in Huaraz.

Disliked: We did have some issues around price around the start of our stay, there was a discrepency on the price, we stuck to our price and eventually they accepted it. I do beleive this was a mis communication however just ensure you aggree the rate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Erisman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean! The breakfast was delicious with eggs, coffee, and fresh juice.

Disliked: I will NEVER use HostelBookers again. The hostel did not accept the $5usd deposit made on HostelBookers so we ended up paying the full price asked. However, the hostel price was significantly cheaper than HostelBookers website. Just call or email the hostel directly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Davie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful place with big clean rooms

Disliked: Staff ruined the experience by trying to overcharge us when the room rate was 60 soles they converted from dollars to make it 67.5 because we had booked on hostelbookers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Nieto Lara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest rooms and hottest shower so far in Peru. Great value for money!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Jones

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are quite and of a good size, the staff were great. Free internet. Good hot water 24/7, comfortable beb, cable TV (in english) even though on there site they say local TV it now appears to be cable. English is spoken, if required. Over all value good value for money. The charge a single rate for solo travelers where most others i found always charged for two people even if you were solo. I am surprised it is not more popular with back packers.

Disliked: Would not suit back packers looking to party. Which i was not looking for, so basicly it is a great hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

andreas wittwer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 andreas would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff, which is not necessarily usual in peru. dorms are big and clean. beautiful rooftop terace.

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the rooms were spacious. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful. When we arrived after our trek, one of the male staff let us in to a room and gave us towels to shower even though we weren´t staying there that night. This was great.

Disliked: One of the staff tried to pressure us in to booking our trek with a certain company. When we priced them they were double all the others and when we told her we didnt book with them she kept telling us it was the best and made us feel uncomfortable for not booking with them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good equiped kitchen, satelite tv, nice staff, great breakfast

Disliked: quite far away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petr Kindler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Great thing is you can choose the breakfast from 5 variants, rooms is clean and staff are helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr sauber und sehr freundliche Besitzer

Disliked: Es gibt keine Beanstandung.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: warm friendly staff made you feel at home. great breakfasts. clean and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suzan tugrul

26 February 2010 suzan would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!! The owner Maria is wonderful.. The hostel is HUGE!!! 2 kitchens, TV in dorm room, very spacious dorm room. Massive communal lounge area, 2 outdoor terraces with hammock... Cheap and comfortable... One of my favorites, staying an extra 2 nights.

Disliked: suzan left no negative feedback.


See all Huaraz hostels