HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Huaraz hostels

Reviews of La casa de Maruja B&B

Guesthouse | Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, Cruce de Palmira, Huaraz, Peru 051

93.0% Overall Rating

8 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2012)

Ignacio Bruin thinks…

"Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived early (at 6), check-in was no problem. The late cancellation of a trekking tour booked with them, due to bad circumstances, was also fine.…"

Read all La casa de Maruja B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huaraz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huaraz

Hatun Wasi Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 32 reviews
Andes Warak
12.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Quintana
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Andescamp Lodge
7.50 USD

Apartment 84.3% 4 reviews
HOTEL GALAXIA
8.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
La Casa de Zarela
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 4 reviews
Albergue Churup Hostel
60.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 20 reviews
Olaza's Guest House
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La casa de Maruja B&B'

Atmosphere
95.6%
Location
62.2%
Facilities
97.8%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.6%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Bruin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived early (at 6), check-in was no problem. The late cancellation of a trekking tour booked with them, due to bad circumstances, was also fine. The "bad location" that some reviewers mentioned means that you have to take a collectivo to the center, a good way to travel as the locals do. It also means that you get picked up last and dropped of first for the tours. Best stay so far!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

D'Ulivo-Rogers Tanya

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 D'Ulivo-Rogers would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome was friendly and the owners helpful. We had a double en-suite and it was spacious and clean. Good breakfast served most of the morning. Rooms are serviced daily.

Disliked: Its location is far out and you need to catch a taxi or collectivo. We found many taxi drivers reluctant to take the fare. Nearby the hostel there is limited restaurants. The hostel would benefit from having a communual kitchen. The tours they sell are not entirely accurate with details they provide.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was fantastic, place has a very nice vibe and the owners are great. We felt like they wanted to help us appreciate the wonderful city of Huarez, rather than charge us for room and board.

Disliked: Beds were a little hard, bit far from the center, but easy to get to on a collectivo.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Itxel Castro-Soto

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 June 2012 Itxel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very accomodating! They offered to help transport my boyfriend and I from the bus station to their B&B when we arrived, they answered all our questions promptly and with respect and made affordable tour arrangements for us to visit Chan Chan. They also had a lot of valuable information in their waiting room such as historic-archaeological fact books, tour guides etc. as well as entertainment options like DVDs. There was warm water in the shower but no heater (which could have helped). Breakfasts were delicious with eggs (w cheese, tomatoes, onions), toast, orange juice, coffee (w milk and sugar). The location is a 5 minute drive to the centre but ask Maruja or her husband to help orient you out and they will!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2012

Liked: Comfortable rooms. Owners made us feel very welcome going out of their way to accommodate us. Picked us up from the bus station at 6:30am and made us breakfast. Allowed us the use of their lounge, TV, Videos and music. Even made us Tea in the afternoon when my wife was not well. Huaraz is an 80 centavos collectivos ride.

Disliked: No dislikes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This in an excellent hostel. Perfect for those who are interested in activities such as hiking, mountain climbing etc and want to prepare before and wind down after. Maruja, who owns and runs the hostel, is a real lady and is extemely helpful and warm towards guests. Definitely a home away from home.

Disliked: It´s a good distance from town but local transport is very cheap so it wasn´t a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayda Gardaya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2011 Jayda would recommend this property

Liked: I've never felt more welcome in my life. My friend and I arrived at 6am from the overnight bus from Lima - we were tired and cold, but upon arrival to la casa de Maruja we have never felt warmer. They invited us in, made us a pot of hot Made de Coca (coca leaf tea), cooked us a beautiful breakfast with fresh juice, eggs, and toast and gave us warm jackets to put on as we didn't have any. The rooms were clean with en suits. The first few days we had some hot water issues, but no problem was too much and they went above and beyond to fix the problem. We were served a lovely breakfast each morning in the sunshine on the rofftop terrace, our laundry was done for us, and when we arrived after dark Maruja would make us some Made de coca to have in our room. The free internet works in the rooms which is great. For 2 days they didn't have a spare key to our room so couldn't make our beds(this was not even an issue to us as we were only going to sleep in them again!!) but Maruja felt bad so she cooked us papas fritas and made us tea. On our last day they told us that because there was no one checking into our room we were free to use it until we had to leave - they are travellers and understand that when leaving on a night bus we may want to shower and rest before hand. I have never experienced this kind of hospitality and generosity before in any accommodation and could not recommend them enough. People might feel that their location on the outskirts of town is a problem, but we enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. They can also organise various treks and adventures ranging from 1 day to 28days - it's a shame we didn't utilise this service as we were here mostly to relax and stock up on Peruvian knitted goodies. Loved Huaraz, loved la casa de Maruja. 10/10!!

Disliked: nothing...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Goings

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, Maruja and Gilf, were exceedingly helpful and nice. Breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. Other guests were pleasant and the area was not noisy at night. Free wi-fi.

Disliked: It's a bit outside of town, requiring colectiva rides to get anywhere, but the rides are short and cheap so it isn't a big deal. The internet could be flaky at times, but hey it's free wi-fi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gilf and his wife are incredible, really go above and beyond to help make your stay great. Free bus station pickup and incredible breakfast make it even better, plus help planning day trips and longer treks.

Disliked: Location was a bit out of town, though at times that was nice because Huaraz isn't the nicest city to be in.


See all Huaraz hostels