HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

La Casa de Maruja BB Guesthouse

Jiron Las Esmeraldas 146, Huaraz, Peru

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 64%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 13:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huaraz?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 64%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 96%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff gave us helpfull information on travelling to (and out of) our trekking destinations and was generally very friendly. We had a nice view of Huascaran just from our room window. Not all rooms have them...You can go to the roof and have a beer or smoke there which is nice. :)There was a computer with internet available for the guests for free. Nice polleria (grilled chicken restaurant) is maybe 3 minutes walk from there (Pollo Rustika). Cheap and tasty. Also quite a big shop (relatively speaking) is located next to the hostel - usefull when thirsty or hungry for snacks :)Definitely would come back to this place if I return to Huaraz in the future.

Disliked: Maybe they could upgrade locks on their rooms...but it doesnt matter - the outside door is locked solid and only guests and staff get in to the hotel. Safety is no problem.It takes some time for hot water to start running.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, helped us sort out everything. Rooms are very nice, spacious and clean.

Disliked: Not right in the centre of town but easy to get to in a taxi.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived early (at 6), check-in was no problem. The late cancellation of a trekking tour booked with them, due to bad circumstances, was also fine. The "bad location" that some reviewers mentioned means that you have to take a collectivo to the center, a good way to travel as the locals do. It also means that you get picked up last and dropped of first for the tours. Best stay so far!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The welcome was friendly and the owners helpful. We had a double en-suite and it was spacious and clean. Good breakfast served most of the morning. Rooms are serviced daily.

Disliked: Its location is far out and you need to catch a taxi or collectivo. We found many taxi drivers reluctant to take the fare. Nearby the hostel there is limited restaurants. The hostel would benefit from having a communual kitchen. The tours they sell are not entirely accurate with details they provide.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: breakfast was fantastic, place has a very nice vibe and the owners are great. We felt like they wanted to help us appreciate the wonderful city of Huarez, rather than charge us for room and board.

Disliked: Beds were a little hard, bit far from the center, but easy to get to on a collectivo.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff is very accomodating! They offered to help transport my boyfriend and I from the bus station to their B&B when we arrived, they answered all our questions promptly and with respect and made affordable tour arrangements for us to visit Chan Chan. They also had a lot of valuable information in their waiting room such as historic-archaeological fact books, tour guides etc. as well as entertainment options like DVDs. There was warm water in the shower but no heater (which could have helped). Breakfasts were delicious with eggs (w cheese, tomatoes, onions), toast, orange juice, coffee (w milk and sugar). The location is a 5 minute drive to the centre but ask Maruja or her husband to help orient you out and they will!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfortable rooms.Owners made us feel very welcome going out of their way to accommodate us.Picked us up from the bus station at 6:30am and made us breakfast.Allowed us the use of their lounge, TV, Videos and music.Even made us Tea in the afternoon when my wife was not well.Huaraz is an 80 centavos collectivos ride.

Disliked: No dislikes.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This in an excellent hostel. Perfect for those who are interested in activities such as hiking, mountain climbing etc and want to prepare before and wind down after. Maruja, who owns and runs the hostel, is a real lady and is extemely helpful and warm towards guests. Definitely a home away from home.

Disliked: It´s a good distance from town but local transport is very cheap so it wasn´t a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I've never felt more welcome in my life. My friend and I arrived at 6am from the overnight bus from Lima - we were tired and cold, but upon arrival to la casa de Maruja we have never felt warmer. They invited us in, made us a pot of hot Made de Coca (coca leaf tea), cooked us a beautiful breakfast with fresh juice, eggs, and toast and gave us warm jackets to put on as we didn't have any. The rooms were clean with en suits. The first few days we had some hot water issues, but no problem was too much and they went above and beyond to fix the problem. We were served a lovely breakfast each morning in the sunshine on the rofftop terrace, our laundry was done for us, and when we arrived after dark Maruja would make us some Made de coca to have in our room.The free internet works in the rooms which is great. For 2 days they didn't have a spare key to our room so couldn't make our beds(this was not even an issue to us as we were only going to sleep in them again!!) but Maruja felt bad so she cooked us papas fritas and made us tea. On our last day they told us that because there was no one checking into our room we were free to use it until we had to leave - they are travellers and understand that when leaving on a night bus we may want to shower and rest before hand. I have never experienced this kind of hospitality and generosity before in any accommodation and could not recommend them enough. People might feel that their location on the outskirts of town is a problem, but we enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. They can also organise various treks and adventures ranging from 1 day to 28days - it's a shame we didn't utilise this service as we were here mostly to relax and stock up on Peruvian knitted goodies. Loved Huaraz, loved la casa de Maruja. 10/10!!

Disliked: nothing...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability