HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Huaraz hostels

Reviews of Olaza's Guest House

Guesthouse | Julio Arguedas 1242 - Soledad, Huaraz, Peru .

92.6% Overall Rating

47 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2012)

Anthony Spring thinks…

"Very clean. Excellent showers. Comfy bed. Friendly staff. Great views from roof terrace. Very secure."

Read all Olaza's Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huaraz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huaraz

La Casa de Zarela
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 4 reviews
Albergue Churup Hostel
60.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 20 reviews
Alpes Huaraz
8.00 USD

Hotel 87.7% 43 reviews
Andes Warak
12.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HOTEL GALAXIA
8.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hatun Wasi Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 32 reviews
Hostal Quintana
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Andescamp Lodge
7.50 USD

Apartment 84.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

47 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Olaza's Guest House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and lovely

Disliked: a bit far from the central by walking esp at night feel little lonely

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Spring

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Excellent showers. Comfy bed. Friendly staff. Great views from roof terrace. Very secure.

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Fairest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: My wife and I, both senior citizens, stayed for six nights in this property and were impressed with the cleanlness, service and general quality of the hostal.

Disliked: No dislikes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had an excellent upstairs TV and breakfast room, with great views from the balcony. Also excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Only negative thing was that manager spoke little English

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly place we stayed at. Perfect breakfast with a brilliant view on the mountains around!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, lovely and comfortable room, free pick-up from bus station and allowed to check-in straight away. Excellent breakfast in an amazing location and a fantastic lounge for hanging out and meeting people. Best place we have stayed in South America.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent hot showers and duvets

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Martschini

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The Breakfast on the rooftop-terrace with great mountain-views is the perfect start for an exciting day! The rooms are nice and clean and the hot water in the shower is really hot!

Disliked: Sometimes it was a little difficult to find someone from the staff, only the manager speaks English and he doesn't arrive before 9 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Bartlett

08 June 2010 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful extended stay at Olaza's. Over our two weeks there, we were delighted to come back from day hikes and a few larger treks to the pristine cleanliness and comfort of this hotel. Never in South America have we seen such dedication to keeping a clean building, and the staff was extremely helpful in making our stay comfortable both in the hotel and outside, setting up taxis to whichever location we wished to visit. The owner, Tito, was glad to give advice on the area, and is very knowledgeable on hikes and the mountains in general. Great rooftop terrace with views of the mountains, and a very sizeable book exchange also kept us happy during our downtime and when acclimitizing.

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Issa Dababneh

06 June 2010

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and safe guest house with a good complimentary breakfast and rooftop terrace. A short walk to shops and sights.

Disliked: Issa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a GREAT place to stay... the rooms and all the facilities are great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The interiors have a very fresh feel to it. Having breakfast with an amazing view of the Andes was an awesome experience every morning. A great value for the price and very very highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hay

14 April 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very impresed with the clean well presented rooms and nice beds!Great place upstairs for chilling out or sitting on the roof balcony!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet when we stayed as it was low season. Friendly and helpful staff, good rooms, beautiful common area upstairs with outside deck also. Would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Klun

24 January 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Olaza's is one of the best b&b's in peru! we had the most amazing time there. the owner and his family are very helpful with organizing trips or giving you good ideas for day hikes. Rooms are immaculate and beds are super comfy. if you're just chilling for the day, the rooftop terrace has an amazing view of the city and mountains.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacquelyn cooper

15 November 2009 jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Rosa the hostel manager was particularly helpful. The rooms and rooftop terrace were excellent. Reliable showers, good breakfast were very welcome.

Disliked: jacquelyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Miller

28 October 2009 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive, charm, cleanliness, a very courteous staff, many amenities such as internet, continental breakfast on the terrace, book exchange, upstairs lounge with magazines, television, comfortable sofas and chairs. I cannot say enough.

Disliked: Glenn left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 October 2009

Liked: big room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Olaza is very good, the only problem was that they overbooked for the dates we had scheduled and so they sent us to another hostel, what we didn't really enjoy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jones

15 May 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so good we keep coming back!

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: roof top terrace with good views ' great breakfast with real coffee

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carly hebbard

19 April 2009 carly would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic place, so cozy and clean and perfect!

Disliked: carly left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Colorful and clean place, enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith O´Brien

08 December 2008 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: internet and skype were great facility, also laundry done on the spot. Good value for money. Lovely lounge and rooftop terrace aresa. Spotlessly clean.

Disliked: Judith left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naama Shanny

02 November 2008 Naama would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very quiet and clean. Great for couples!

Disliked: Naama left no negative feedback.


See all Huaraz hostels