HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal el ancla

Hostel | Av. La Rivera 198, Huanchaco, Peru 1111

85.9% Overall Rating

16 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

"Rooms are nice and spacious and are cleaned daily. It's across the road from the beach and only a 10-15 min walk to the main area of town. Nice quiet hostel but is really more like a hotel."

Read all Hostal el ancla reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huanchaco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huanchaco

Chimu Beach
5.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mc Callum
7.00 USD

Apartment 87.2% 45 reviews
Casa Amelia
6.81 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 15 reviews
Agetaway hotel
8.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

16 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal el ancla'

Atmosphere
76.5%
Location
83.5%
Facilities
81.2%
Cleanliness
94.1%
Staff
83.5%
Value
89.4%
Safety
92.9%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are nice and spacious and are cleaned daily. It's across the road from the beach and only a 10-15 min walk to the main area of town. Nice quiet hostel but is really more like a hotel.

Disliked: Staff were nice but the front desk was rarely attended which made it difficult when you needed information. When we went to check out there was only cleaning staff and they weren't able to call us a taxi or contact any of the staff. The just hailed a taxi off the street and assured us it was safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

keeley pond

As a family with children

Family Holiday

07 March 2014 keeley would recommend this property

Liked: Always very clean; decor in the hostel is great and such a good atmosphere. Lovely views of beach and ocean.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was friendly

Disliked: noice at the corridor

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013

Liked: It doesn't have 'ocean view rooms' as it says in the advertisement. Asked for a discount because of this untruth and was flatly refused, really only wanted a token gesture to acknowledge the incorrect description. Room we received was dark, old and musty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Nanowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is more like a hotel. It is very clean and in a decent location.

Disliked: The breakfast was not included and you could get a breakfast for way better value for the money in town. Also on the last day we had to wait until the evening to catch a night bus, and they were trying to charge us 20 soles (the cost of a night stay) to shower in a room!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private room for less than a dorm room normaly costs.

Disliked: nothing special.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard pond

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2013 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Arriving from Lima by car it was great to be welcomed even though my car alarm kept sounding for the next 48hrs due to me using the key to open the door and not the fob! Great lads working there and the kitchen staff/cleaner were on the move all day.Room was big enough for the whole family and the table football was fun.Short walk along the seafront to the town.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Consistent hot water. Right in front of the beach. Excellent value. I would stay there again.

Disliked: It doesn't have a kitchen, but they let me use their fridge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthijs Arens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Matthijs would recommend this property

Liked: We were welcomed by a nice, but business-like lady. Settled in our room which was very big for a hostel, a good bed, a nice TV, a bathroom with one of the best hot showers we've encountered in South America until now (we've been travelling for 9 weeks now). We actually stranded here cause we couldn't get a bus to Mancora (from Lima) and decided to go to Trujillo. The lady of the hostel was very nice to help us out with getting a busticket to Mancora, she called every company for us and even wanted to buy our tickets for us in Trujillo (which is a 20 minute drive, costs about 15 soles) because she was gonna go there anyway. When the wifi wasn't working, she offered us to use her laptop for as long as we wanted (we're actually writing this review on it). Great friendly service. Great breakfast with good eggs and freshly made juices! Location: across the street from the beach. About a 10 minute walk to the center of Huanchaco. Price: we paid 36 soles for a matrimonial ensuite which is very cheap if you look at what you get + the location.

Disliked: The walls are kind of thin, and as there were young kids here on our stay it was a bit loud. But nothing that earplugs didn't fix!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Koen en Linda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: This place is more a hotel than a hostal. Room are clean and beds made every day. Breakfast is good and especially the fresh jugos that comes with it. The people are friendly and overall it's a really relaxing place

Disliked: The walls are very thing so when you are unlucky and you have some noizy neighbours they can keep you awake.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a good size and very clean, the bed was ok and the shower had hot water, there wasa. Tv in the room which is a rare treat with English movie channels

Disliked: We had an issue with price when we checked in which did get sorted but felt like they were trying it on, this was compounded when we ordered some food in their restaurant, they got the order wrong then massively over charged us, wouldn't accept our pleas so we ended up paying and left with a bitter taste in our mouths, the location was ok but it is on the edge of town so if you want to be central this isn't for you although it really isn't very far

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Ferris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming, helpful and frendly host. Clean, cheap and only 10 mins walk to the centre.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hostel...awesome big private rooms with ensuite, cleaned everyday, friendly and helpful staff...don't have a complaint...definitely recommend it to people. Location just outta the main area, but only like a 5 minute walk anyways so was perfect and right across from the beach! Definitely not a party hostel but very chilled and relaxing, which is what we wanted. No kitchen to use though was probably the only thing, although they do do meals there aswell. Overall was great and we ended up staying much longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Beattie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, great value rooms, and a fabulous location right across the road from one of the best breaks in town (or not very far to wander down to another one if you are a beginner like me!) We stayed longer than we planned!

Disliked: Annabel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy O dowd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great if you are looking for a quiet place with a homely feel! Rooms are big and nicely designed with hotel standard bathrooms throughout! Its an extremely clean hostel (cleaning lady was lovely and friendly even though we spoke little spanish!). The guy at reception is very helpful also! The location is almost on the beach and a five minute walk to the main area! If you want a relaxing, quiet time i recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.