HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mc Callum

Apartment | Los Ficus # 460-305, Huanchaco, Peru 13000

86.4% Overall Rating

43 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

"nice outdoor courtyard area, right next to the beach and the desert place on the corner is great. the family running it seems nice but they speak only spanish so if you are not fluent they cant help you with anything."

Read all Mc Callum reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huanchaco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huanchaco

Chimu Beach
5.29 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal el ancla
8.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 16 reviews
Casa Amelia
7.76 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 13 reviews
Agetaway hotel
35.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

43 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mc Callum'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cosy very good owner, feel like at home, Wifi works very well.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jamie van Dyk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: They allowed to cancel our 2nd night FOC

Disliked: Kitchen a bit small and it felt like we weren't supposed to be using it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice outdoor courtyard area, right next to the beach and the desert place on the corner is great. the family running it seems nice but they speak only spanish so if you are not fluent they cant help you with anything.

Disliked: they overcharged me b/c they dont understand that hostelbookers actually charged me over 10% for my deposit so they did not deduct the correct amount from their price, and i couldnt make them understand this in my limited spanish. just a few soles but they should figure out how this site works. no lockers, wifi doesnt work well in the rooms (and no outlets downstairs)....all in all it's ok but there are way nicer hostels in town (casa amelia is amazing, but they were booked one of the 3 nights i was here so i had to move to mcallum)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Couple who run the hostel are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Can be noisy sometimes from the restaurants nearby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

diana rashkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 diana would recommend this property

Liked: Nice chill out space outside, friendly staff and clean rooms!

Disliked: diana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a senior traveller solo,I enjoyed the young people staying here also even though I didn't speak the language.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for me right now. Extended my stay from two days to a week! Got a cheap private room, with a desk, ensuite and comfy bed for about $10US a night (28 soles). It is four blocks from the ocean, so quiet and night but still within a stone's throw. There is a central courtyard which is social if you want to be. Staff are nice/mellow. Place is very secure. Have a key so can come and go as you please.

Disliked: Be nice if they offered a city map (it is small, but still useful to know where all the good stuff is (market, banks, recommended eats etc). But I got a free one from a nearby pharmacy. Otherwise, all good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price it's really good. Room is very big, bathroom was clean and there is hot water, only a 2 minute walk to the beach. Get your own key to the front door so can come and go as you please. Owner was helpful, even though he didn't speak English, we could communicate with our broken Spanish.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit dirty and wifi wasn't that great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandria Wilding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner. Good Location.

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice and friendly location that has a good and tranquillo vibe. It is run by the owner family, which is so friendly and helpful. Doesn't get any better. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Hot water always works and the wi-fi is very good even in rooms. location is safe and central. just a short walk to good restaurants and a very good bakery. the surf break is close too.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very comfy and the water was hot! Had a key to the property so easy to come and go as pleased. Easy access to the beach and the bars along it while being in a quiet location so able to sleep when wanted!

Disliked: It was really quiet when I was here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice, the kitchen is spacious and the lounge area is very comfortable!

Disliked: There was no atmosphere! I was hoping to meet other travelers, but there was hardly anyone there... I was disappointed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled out place - we chatted with the owners and cooked a great meal in the kitchen. They give you a key so you can come and go as you please and you are always welcomed with a smile.

Disliked: The showers did tend to be a little hit or miss but you could generally always get a hot dribble out of it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel sawtell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, good kitchen, everything was clean, there is a good chill out spot to meet people and the beach is quite close, the hostel owner actually got up at 5 am just to boil some hot water for us before we left, that was really nice of him. Thanks for a good stay

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Scoles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful Staff and Clean Rooms

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HEATHER LELLIS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013 HEATHER would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything--Mama Patricia is very sweet and inviting. She tells you "Welcome to your home" as soon as you arrive. She and her entire family really go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. Our hot water diminishe at one point, but the Señor of the casa hopped onto the roof with a wrench and had it running again in seconds. Mama Patricia will cook for you for a small charge. My one regret is that we didn't try her food! Had such a great, relaxing time that we stayed an extra day.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Byron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, happy to give directions and advice. There is a book exchange, a kitchen and the dog is lovely! Short distance to beach, restaurants, shops etc

Disliked: Only slight negative was the presence of builders in the courtyard, but they may have finished by now so don't let this put you off.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 February 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived in the easrly hours of the morning and the hostel owner was really nice when we woke him up and checked in. He didnt even charge us for that nights stay. The hostel is also very clean and safe.

Disliked: The private room was a little small and it is a struggle to speek to the owners if you don't speak spanish (They are very friendly though).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run, very helpful, could be cleaner but ok, wifi works, not in the centre but not far to walk, depending on other travellers but generally quiet.hammacks in the yard.stayed longer than planned.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mojca Fakin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Mojca would recommend this property

Liked: the sweetest hostel ive been to! the hostel is run by a really sweet family!u more or less feel like at home. have the possibility to use the kitchen for a really small fee. and u just feel love every day your there.without a joke :D

Disliked: no dislikes..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 November 2012 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and excellent lunches... One the best hostel experiences we have had!

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greg Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2012 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, walkable to beaches and market and restaurants

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome atmosphere and great friendly owners. I booked for two nigths and ended up staying 10 days. McCallum is a great place to chill out and meet other travellers.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostal with good value, kitchen, quite and relaxing.

Disliked: nothing important, but maybe you can clean your fridge, there is a lot of old stuff inside

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

aaron roughan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2012 aaron would recommend this property

Liked: the location to the beach, the communal area to eat drink and chat

Disliked: nothing