HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Cusco

Hostel | Calle Saphy 440, Cusco, Peru n/a

88.8% Overall Rating

27 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

Susane Shawn thinks…

"Great hostel, friendly staff and very helpful, the rooms were clean, beds are comfortable enough for taking a good rest after seeing all the ruins around, they have free wifi."

Read all Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hotel Royal Qosqo
15.90 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Suecia
12.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 39 reviews
The WalkOn Inn
9.50 USD

Hostel 87.0% 170 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Cusco
11.11 USD

Hostel 74.9% 10 reviews
Hostal LA POSADA DE MONTERO
28.27 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ecopackers
11.50 USD

Hostel 92.8% 127 reviews
Hotel Cáceres
6.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 58 reviews
Monte Horeb Hospedaje
19.43 USD

Hostel 89.5% 367 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

27 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Cusco'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 32 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brandon Conrad

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2014 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located. Comfortable beds. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Loud. The walls are thin and the other guests were quite loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Basso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good property overall. Two thumbs up.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susane Shawn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

16 June 2014 Susane would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly staff and very helpful, the rooms were clean, beds are comfortable enough for taking a good rest after seeing all the ruins around, they have free wifi.

Disliked: Susane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 June 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Recommended 100%! Our stay in this hostel was really special, a thing to remember. Their crew is really nice, and they help us with directions, Cusco is small in comparison with other places and their streets can be a maze if you don't know them (the map the hostel give free was really useful), also they gave us good tips of where to go and where not and how to get good prices with the souvenirs merchants (you can haggle). Cusco can be wild on nights, so is better know in advance which are the good places. All the hostel areas were cleaned regularly, they keep all in order and made our stay very safe and comfortable.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 March 2014 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Im very happy with my election by now. I have been helped a lot by the staff, spanish is a bit difficult to understand if people talk fast. The common areas of the hostel are very relaxing and the other tourists (at least the ones that i meet) were very friendly. I will choose again Hitchhikers for my stay in Cusco for sure, it was very exciting to see this Machu Picchu wonder.

Disliked: Rose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Cisneros

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 December 2013 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel really, the staff very helpful (they gave me some maps of the surroundings). One of the best things is the security, they have lockers, and have a safe so you dont need to carry your money around (this is a must). International calls are very cheap, and they accept dollars and soles, so you can change all your money if needed. I took the Machu Picchu Full day tour at their tour agency and it was awesome, when you see those stones at that altitude you start thinking how amazing was the past in this country.I can recommend this place for sure.

Disliked: Omar left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff unhelpfull, not kind. We booked two nights and we wanted to change one day because we left for three days on a trip, we had to pay more than we already had paid for on hostelbookers. Beds were a little bit like a hammock, old! Showers didn't work al the time, once cold water, once no water. Atmosfere is bad in the hostel, breakfast is poor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ming wai fong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 ming wai would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast.

Disliked: The room can be better for providing wet clothes hanging Also, no email reply for airport pickup on my request so i just came on my own. Have confirmation is better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good, clean hostel. Helpful and friendly staff.. Close to the main square, so perfect location. Big beds and all dorms have there own bathroom with HOT water. However it isn't a party hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really nice, clean and big double room. We loved the Hitchhikers Hostel!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ubicados a una cuadra de la Plaza de Armas, es un excelente hostel, desde la infraestructura, limpieza y sobre todo la calidad en la atencion de sus empleados.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Colonial building with outdoor courtyard

Disliked: Nada

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Plaza de Armas. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paula Chapman

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Great location helpful people

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ruud ten hoopen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 ruud would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff !!

Disliked: ruud left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Very noist guests. I could not sleep. Staff do not take noise complaints seriously. Do not stay here if you want to sleep at night. WIFI not in rooms, only outside in the rain. They need to lower the price by a few dollars per night, too expensive.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Very loud guests. The staff do not take complaints about noise seriously. If you want to sleep, stay somewhere else. No WIFI in bed rooms. No INDOOR area to sit to use WIFI, so you must sit outside in the rain under an umbrella to use WIFI. Dorm beds are expensive compared to other options.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not far from main square, laundry service

Disliked: breakfastarea wasn't that clean, some staff couldn't speak english

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to plaza de armas and pubs clubs etc

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels