We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Milhouse Hostel - Cusco

Hostel | Calle Quera 270, Cusco, Peru 084

89.1% Overall Rating

60 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"daily activities available. onsite tours available. good location. safe and quiet."

Read all Milhouse Hostel - Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in ; 13.00 Check out; 11.00 Breakfast included Credit card payments accepted upon arrival The minimum age to stay at Milhouse Backpackers & Hotel is 18 years old. There is no maximum age, but it is important that you are young in spirit :) Cancellation and Non-Show Policy: You can cancel your booking with no extra charge up to 48 hours in advance. However, if you cancel with less than 48 hours in advance or do not honour your booking, the hostel will charge you for the balance of the first night. Based on local tax laws, Peruvian citizens (and foreigners staying more than 59 days in Peru) must pay an additional fee of 18%. To be exempt from this 18% additional fee (IVA), a copy of the immigration card and passport must be presented. Please note both documents are required for fee exemption. Guests who are not able to present both documents will be required to pay the fee. Foreign business travellers who require a printed invoice, will also be charged the additional 18% regardless of the length of their stay in Peru. This fee is not automatically calculated in the total costs for the reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

The Point Cusco
8.33 USD

Hostel 76.8% 191 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Cusco
10.37 USD

Hostel 94.1% 269 reviews
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
9.41 USD

Hostel 88.1% 28 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
6.59 USD

Hostel 88.3% 106 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
Ecopackers
11.80 USD

Hostel 90.6% 141 reviews
Net House B&B
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kukuli Lodge B&B
17.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

60 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Milhouse Hostel - Cusco'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 64 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: daily activities available. onsite tours available. good location. safe and quiet.

Disliked: room did not have windows so dark and a little mucky

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maci Levy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2015 Maci would recommend this property

Liked: Youthful atmosphere

Disliked: Exposed plug in room 205 - my friend got electrocuted

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location great comfy beds and bedding

Disliked: a bit noisy with the bar pumping - not great if you need to go hike and need to get up at 3am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Rains

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The hostel was in an optimum location and it was very quaint. You can make whatever you want of it. There is a hostel bar open till late where the more extroverted crowd goes to and it really is just a fun time. But if that isn't your thing you can take solace in knowing that the noise from the bar cannot be heard from outside the bar, and the quiet areas outside and the bedroom are all silent and provide a good night's sleep.

Disliked: My shower wasn't hot, but everyone else claims theirs was, maybe I wasn't doing it right.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel provides 4 bed dorms. This means for people wanting a more peaceful room, this hostel is good. No noise from the bar can be heard in rooms. Note that as far as I saw, this is not a party hostel, this is a mature chilled hostel. The bar has live Peruvian music and people sit around chilling. For discotek style vibes bar and people dancing and doing shots, you should head to Wild Rover, Loki, Kokopelli. It depends what you want.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathrooms a little dirty in dorms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Naiomi Molyneux

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Naiomi would recommend this property

Liked: Large comfortable bunk beds. Cage lockers provided. Decent breakfast included

Disliked: We payed up front for the night we would return to Cusco after our Machu Picchu tour and when we were stuck in Aguas Caliente and couldn't get back to Cusco in time for our reservation they would not give me any money back despite my calling to cancel our reservation and being told I would get 50% back. They changed their story when it came to refunding my money which is frustrating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melva Cueva

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 July 2014 Melva would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó mucho, es muy seguro, tranquilo para descansar.

Disliked: Melva left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thalia alvarado

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 thalia would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great

Disliked: Too much noise at night- bar really loud

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice building with decent rooms and a good bar/restaurant upstairs that has both good wifi and a nice view of the city´s prettiest suburb. I found the party element more ´chilled out´ than in other hostels such as Pariwana, and the breakfast is pleasant with the morning view of the city.

Disliked: Basically it is fine - nice to have individual lights, although the bunks can be a little claustrophic with the plywood cubicles around them. It could conceivably have more atmosphere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2014

Liked: The hostel is situated very central in Cusco, close to the main attractions / plazas... The beds are wide and the pillows are good! I stayed in a shared room and the beds have small lamps with plugs, which is really useful for charging your phone over night. They hostel also offers a super service regarding the luggage storage, where you can store your bags for several days while doing the inca-trail. This is safe and you get a ticket that you need to reclaim you luggage when returning! They also have safety lockers where you can store your valuables.

Disliked: This hostel was recommended to us by our Inca-trail travel agency - so we decided to stay there! BIG MISTAKE! The hostel has a bar located on the second floor, which means that most of the dorms are very close to the bar - where there is a party going on every night til 01.00! In the hour of writing (Saturday) I returned to the hostel at 23.00 after four days on the Inca-trail. On the last day of the trek we got up at 3.30 AM and with three nights in a tent I was really looking forward to 7 hours of sleep in a real bed, before I have to go to the airport at 6.00 AM... But this is impossible as the music from the bar makes the windows shake and is sooo loud that it keeps me awake. So if you are looking for a place to actually sleep - go somewehere else! Cusco has plenty of other hostels!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Crayford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere.. and lots of social places.. but quiet at night so you can sleep well! we booked for two nights stayed for a week!

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here in September 2012 and had a really great time. The building is beautiful and rooms were all a good size and very clean. Good location very close to the main square and a great view of the mountains from the bar balcony. The food in the bar was also really good. I was only meant to stay here a couple of nights and ended up staying for two weeks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very social hostel, easy to meet people, nice to have a bar and restaurant in the hostel for when you get back late from Machu Picchu or other treks. Cages in each room make it feel safe and secure to leave stuff, in addition to a well secured luggage storage system and smaller lockers outside the rooms.

Disliked: Nothing it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and pretty house, many common spaces to talk with other backpackers. Nice bar.

Disliked: Rooms were very cold, they should have heating system.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helena Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The wifi can be a struggle at times and if you are not early for breakfast it is slim pickings. Rooms anywhere near the bar are really loud at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The size of it and there beds were very comfy

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a private room. Easily the comfiest bed and best shower (hot and hight pressure) we have had in over two months in South America. Bar has good happy hour drink specials. We left our luggage there while on the Inca Trail and had no dramas at all. Breakfast is basic but doesn´t run out. Definitely worth the bit extra we spent on this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cesar Fiorini Amorim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Bruno Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was awesome. Since breakfast till night parties.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice building and communal areas

Disliked: didn;t dislike anything, just don't think it is worth paying extra to stay here in comparison to other hostels

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Reeder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013

Liked: It is spacious and the bar is nice. Large locker-cages are provided in the rooms.

Disliked: This is a party hostel. It was noisy until 1am. There are charges for everything--three soles to rent a towel, etc. The place is so large that there is no effort to provide good service to guests. The luggage storage rooms are just large piles of unorganized suitcases and backpacks and I was expected to search for my baggage myself--I eventually found it at the bottom. I was criticized because another staff member had forgotten to place a tag on my bag. Internet was not available in the rooms and was spotty even in the common areas where it was supposed to work.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, great chance to meet other backpackers

Disliked: Our room was right at the entrance door, behind security so it was really really noisy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Genevieve Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful despite language barrier

Disliked: It looked a little dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable beds, individual lights and power points for each bed in the dorm and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the walking tour that was offered as an activity. I also liked that each bed had a little cubby with an outlet and a light.

Disliked: It was very noisy, loud music until very late.


See all Cusco hostels