HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Milhouse Hostel - Cusco

Hostel | Calle Quera 270, Cusco, Peru 084

88.1% Overall Rating

43 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

"The hostel is situated very central in Cusco, close to the main attractions / plazas... The beds are wide and the pillows are good! I stayed in a shared room and the beds have small lamps with plugs, which is really…"

Read all Milhouse Hostel - Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

The Point Cusco
7.80 USD

Hostel 84.3% 185 reviews
Hostal Qosqo
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
8.85 USD

Hostel 90.4% 19 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
7.43 USD

Hostel 77.7% 92 reviews
El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 20 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Cusco
10.26 USD

Hostel 95.2% 238 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
Ecopackers
10.50 USD

Hostel 93.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

43 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Milhouse Hostel - Cusco'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2014

Liked: The hostel is situated very central in Cusco, close to the main attractions / plazas... The beds are wide and the pillows are good! I stayed in a shared room and the beds have small lamps with plugs, which is really useful for charging your phone over night. They hostel also offers a super service regarding the luggage storage, where you can store your bags for several days while doing the inca-trail. This is safe and you get a ticket that you need to reclaim you luggage when returning! They also have safety lockers where you can store your valuables.

Disliked: This hostel was recommended to us by our Inca-trail travel agency - so we decided to stay there! BIG MISTAKE! The hostel has a bar located on the second floor, which means that most of the dorms are very close to the bar - where there is a party going on every night til 01.00! In the hour of writing (Saturday) I returned to the hostel at 23.00 after four days on the Inca-trail. On the last day of the trek we got up at 3.30 AM and with three nights in a tent I was really looking forward to 7 hours of sleep in a real bed, before I have to go to the airport at 6.00 AM... But this is impossible as the music from the bar makes the windows shake and is sooo loud that it keeps me awake. So if you are looking for a place to actually sleep - go somewehere else! Cusco has plenty of other hostels!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Crayford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere.. and lots of social places.. but quiet at night so you can sleep well! we booked for two nights stayed for a week!

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here in September 2012 and had a really great time. The building is beautiful and rooms were all a good size and very clean. Good location very close to the main square and a great view of the mountains from the bar balcony. The food in the bar was also really good. I was only meant to stay here a couple of nights and ended up staying for two weeks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very social hostel, easy to meet people, nice to have a bar and restaurant in the hostel for when you get back late from Machu Picchu or other treks. Cages in each room make it feel safe and secure to leave stuff, in addition to a well secured luggage storage system and smaller lockers outside the rooms.

Disliked: Nothing it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and pretty house, many common spaces to talk with other backpackers. Nice bar.

Disliked: Rooms were very cold, they should have heating system.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helena Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The wifi can be a struggle at times and if you are not early for breakfast it is slim pickings. Rooms anywhere near the bar are really loud at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathan Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The size of it and there beds were very comfy

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a private room. Easily the comfiest bed and best shower (hot and hight pressure) we have had in over two months in South America. Bar has good happy hour drink specials. We left our luggage there while on the Inca Trail and had no dramas at all. Breakfast is basic but doesn´t run out. Definitely worth the bit extra we spent on this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cesar Fiorini Amorim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Bruno Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was awesome. Since breakfast till night parties.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice building and communal areas

Disliked: didn;t dislike anything, just don't think it is worth paying extra to stay here in comparison to other hostels

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Reeder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013

Liked: It is spacious and the bar is nice. Large locker-cages are provided in the rooms.

Disliked: This is a party hostel. It was noisy until 1am. There are charges for everything--three soles to rent a towel, etc. The place is so large that there is no effort to provide good service to guests. The luggage storage rooms are just large piles of unorganized suitcases and backpacks and I was expected to search for my baggage myself--I eventually found it at the bottom. I was criticized because another staff member had forgotten to place a tag on my bag. Internet was not available in the rooms and was spotty even in the common areas where it was supposed to work.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, great chance to meet other backpackers

Disliked: Our room was right at the entrance door, behind security so it was really really noisy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Genevieve Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful despite language barrier

Disliked: It looked a little dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable beds, individual lights and power points for each bed in the dorm and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the walking tour that was offered as an activity. I also liked that each bed had a little cubby with an outlet and a light.

Disliked: It was very noisy, loud music until very late.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amanda Lathrop

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice lobby area, good wi-fi and fun bar upstairs for drinks. The beds were really comfortable with nice duvets and there are plenty of social activities/tours available on offer.

Disliked: The rooms could be a little noisy depending on where you are located. The hot water wasn't the best in the showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the common facilities.

Disliked: it can be pretty noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, just a 5 minute stoll to Plaza de Armas. Friendly and helpful staff. Good atmosphere, a place to have a few drinks and party if you want too but plenty of grounds if you dont want to hit the bar. We would stay again. Decent breakfast spread in comparison to other SA hostels.

Disliked: Food in the bar was average.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica reddington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and location. All the staff were really helpful!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Hay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - this place is a home from home nobody wants to leave and quite often they don't for weeks on end. If nothing else come for the really hot powerful showers!

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Hopwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: A great building with courtyards and nice rooms. Lockers, ensuite bathrooms, reading rights and power at each bed. Fantastic staff on reception and at the bar, and a good travel/tours desk. Bar upstairs with cheap and good food available all day, free unlimited breakfast. Good speed on the wifi.

Disliked: Nothing really. One of the bar staff would only take notice of you if you had breasts but the other younger guys were brilliant.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anca Serban

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Anca would recommend this property

Liked: its central,breakfast as in all other hostels in South America,jam,butter,bread,milk,tea....Wi-fi poor working on the reception only and in the bar but always dropping.Rooms are cold no heating,but enough blankets to warm up.

Disliked: Anca left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N

Disliked: they intended to charge me 80% more than the normal price, because of ¨ley for foreigner¨ that you have to pay a fin if you loose a small paper given in the airport, which never happened in the other hostels I stayed before and after in peru. finally I didn´t pay the fin to them after a very tough argument. The next day I confirmed that with the local polices if that happens to U , just ask their help and the fin asked by hostel isn´t reasonable at all. Take Care Foreigners, IN Milhouse THE STAFFS ARE REALY GOOD LIERS. PS: if you choose not stay or pay the fin, ANYWAY they will charge U the rest according to the cancellation policy, soooo T_T very bad experience ha

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All great service, lovely hostel.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Uys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Milhouse was brilliant, a lovely hostel and amazing facilities! The bar is great to hang out and have drinks as well as reasonably priced dishes, but at the same time also far enough removed to not bother you when you are trying to sleep in your room! The shower in the room are the best we've had on our travels.

Disliked: If we had to say something, the menu is a bit limited. (there is no self service kitchen)


See all Cusco hostels