HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bright Hostel Cusco Hostel

Calle Ladrillos 436 Interior 2, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 50%

Location 78%

Safety 70%

Staff 65%

Value 62%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 50%

Location 78%

Safety 70%

Staff 65%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: The location is pretty good, not too far from Plaza de Armas but still far enough away from the centre to be quiet.We could leave our luggage for free.

Disliked: Their description on Hostelbookers is not very accurate. The breakfast is only bread, butter and a little jam plus tea/coffe and not that nicely described buffet. We didn't have any towels in our room even though that was indicated online.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

The breakfast was not nearly as described, there were no towels in the room even though this was indicated on the internet, there was also no computer that one can use even though that was indicated on the internet as well

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location just a minute or two to main areas. Helpful staff

Disliked: Bad breakfast, no useable kitchen facilities, you cant entre without ringing a doorbell a lot of the time, our booking was messed up and when we arrived they were fully booked although they sorted us out with a lady across the road, weak internet in rooms, hot showers was very hit and miss. This could be a great hostel just a few things are not maintained to its best standard.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: they are kind and helpful, close to plaza de armas, good pizzas

Disliked: some rooms cold, bad matress, some problems with hot water

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cheap, relatively clean, and close to the Plaza de Armas!

Disliked: Nothing too serious, but there isn't much of an atmosphere to speak of, and the facilities are visibly old and a bit run down.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was good and our room was quite nice. Fine to stay for a night.

Disliked: The staff were very disorganised. They didn't seem to know what room we had booked, we ended up getting a different room to what we had booked.The room wasn't ready on time, then try couldn't find us a key for the door. The key they found didn't work so we had to close our room in hope that they would find the correct key. And the internet didn't work.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The woman on reception was incompetent and could not decide what to do about my reserved room that they had clearly given away to someone else without repeatedly ringing her boss who could be heard screaming at her down the phone. She then tried to overcharge me for an inferior room having given my reserved room away to someone else. Then when she eventually agreed to a still inflated lower price she tried to put me - a single female on my own - in a room that could not be locked as they had lost the key for it. There was also no functioning light as the neon lighbulb in the room was flashing constantly. When I asked for a lamp to use she said that was impossible and suggested I use the light of the TV!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent central location. Stayed for 4 nights in a renovated double room which was very good, private bathroom with comfy bed and decent wifi.

Disliked: We had a mixed experience at this hostel. After returning from our Machu Picchu trip we were moved to another building across the alley which was not to the same standard, although we'd paid the same price. Some disorganization led to confusion and mis-understandings, especially regarding things we had already paid for. The drain in the first bathroom smelt bad. Kitchen not always kept clean & tidy.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it was clean

Disliked: the staff is always running after you to pay the bill and they dont have any change if you dont pay the good amount. And there is not enough bread in the morning for everyone but the breakfeast is supposed to be included... and we did a reservation for a night we knew we would arrive late (like at 12PM) and when we arrive in the night, they told us it was no vacancy for the night... so we had no choice to change hostel...

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet rooms, good location

Disliked: Worst hostel in Peru by far! No one was ever at reception when you needed them. When we arrived they had a ten year old running the front desk by himself. He handed us a key and when we got to the room, someone else was already staying there. This hostel has no organization skills. We were mischarged as well because they don't pay attention to the fact that hostelbookers automatically charges ten percent of the cost. The manager told me it was the guests responsibility to make sure they were being charged correctly. Their breakfast is a joke, we were there by 8 and all we saw was bread and tea.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is ok

Disliked: Unless you don't mind not being able to get into the hostel at any time, do not stay here. Several times there was no one at reception and the front door was locked making it impossible to enter. The cleaning lady didn't even have keys. We found her throwing rocks at a window trying to get a guest's attention to come open the door! They mischarged us as well. Very poorly managed hostel. The only bad experience we had during our one month in Peru.

Check Availability