HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Bright Hostel Cusco

Hostel | Calle Ladrillos 436, Plazoleta Nazarenas, esquina con Calle Pumacurco Cusco, Peru cusco01

65.9% Overall Rating

24 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2013)

"Excellent central location. Stayed for 4 nights in a renovated double room which was very good, private bathroom with comfy bed and decent wifi."

Read all Bright Hostel Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostal Samani
14.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hospedaje Pumacurco
7.50 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 3 reviews
Tierra del Inka
28.70 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Jacaranda Inn
11.00 USD

Hostel 77.9% 72 reviews
THOMAS GRILL-GARDEN
8.97 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 3 reviews
Pakari Hostel Cusco
5.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apu Wasi Hostels
7.50 USD

Hostel 76.3% 14 reviews
Hospedaje Sihuar
14.35 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

24 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bright Hostel Cusco'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
66.4%
Value
64.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014

Liked: The location was good and our room was quite nice. Fine to stay for a night.

Disliked: The staff were very disorganised. They didn't seem to know what room we had booked, we ended up getting a different room to what we had booked.The room wasn't ready on time, then try couldn't find us a key for the door. The key they found didn't work so we had to close our room in hope that they would find the correct key. And the internet didn't work.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013

Liked: The location was ok, and the room we got was decently cleaned

Disliked: To start off, we were not picked up from the bus station as promised. The hostel reception seemed rude and unorganized. We were overcharged upon leaving and had to argue our way to getting the quoted price. The breakfast was bread and butter. Thats all. The room was cleaned but there wad no tp or towels. Pay a few more bucks and stay away from this place.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The woman on reception was incompetent and could not decide what to do about my reserved room that they had clearly given away to someone else without repeatedly ringing her boss who could be heard screaming at her down the phone. She then tried to overcharge me for an inferior room having given my reserved room away to someone else. Then when she eventually agreed to a still inflated lower price she tried to put me - a single female on my own - in a room that could not be locked as they had lost the key for it. There was also no functioning light as the neon lighbulb in the room was flashing constantly. When I asked for a lamp to use she said that was impossible and suggested I use the light of the TV!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location. Stayed for 4 nights in a renovated double room which was very good, private bathroom with comfy bed and decent wifi.

Disliked: We had a mixed experience at this hostel. After returning from our Machu Picchu trip we were moved to another building across the alley which was not to the same standard, although we'd paid the same price. Some disorganization led to confusion and mis-understandings, especially regarding things we had already paid for. The drain in the first bathroom smelt bad. Kitchen not always kept clean & tidy.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013

Liked: Location is ok

Disliked: Unless you don't mind not being able to get into the hostel at any time, do not stay here. Several times there was no one at reception and the front door was locked making it impossible to enter. The cleaning lady didn't even have keys. We found her throwing rocks at a window trying to get a guest's attention to come open the door! They mischarged us as well. Very poorly managed hostel. The only bad experience we had during our one month in Peru.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julie-Anne Leblond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2013

Liked: it was clean

Disliked: the staff is always running after you to pay the bill and they dont have any change if you dont pay the good amount. And there is not enough bread in the morning for everyone but the breakfeast is supposed to be included... and we did a reservation for a night we knew we would arrive late (like at 12PM) and when we arrive in the night, they told us it was no vacancy for the night... so we had no choice to change hostel...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: Quiet rooms, good location

Disliked: Worst hostel in Peru by far! No one was ever at reception when you needed them. When we arrived they had a ten year old running the front desk by himself. He handed us a key and when we got to the room, someone else was already staying there. This hostel has no organization skills. We were mischarged as well because they don't pay attention to the fact that hostelbookers automatically charges ten percent of the cost. The manager told me it was the guests responsibility to make sure they were being charged correctly. Their breakfast is a joke, we were there by 8 and all we saw was bread and tea.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and always prepared to help me. It´s location is very close to the plaza del armas, what makes it a nice place to sleep, as you are in the centre of cusco within 5 minutes. Another thing I really liked is that the hostel is developing. Where things are broken they are replaced very soon.

Disliked: The alley where it´s located always smells like urine. Also the bathrooms weren´t to clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manon Duncker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 June 2013 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: Its a family own place with really friendly and helpful staff. They are from cusco so they can help you out with informations about almoust erverything.

Disliked: sometimes they have to take of theire kids, so you cant watch tv as you like or the kids play around you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the place itself is very well located, and very clean and cozy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its very cozy, clean, and the beds are very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2013

Liked: I liked that it was in easy walking distance of the main plaza. The man at reception was nice but did not have any customer service skills. I liked that they offer breakfast but it was very basic.

Disliked: The man at reception was nice but did not have any customer service skills. I had to ask for everything - towel, what time breakfast was, etc. My room was very basic and charmless. They must have the best room pictured on the site. First night I got no sleep because four people were talking all night (on drugs I think, who can laugh that much??) and the sound travels through the place light an amplifier. The entrance is down a narrow street and through a doorway that is not well signed. One night, I came back to the hostel and there were two men in their 20's freaking out on drugs in the doorway. Breakfast was stale bread and tea. Not recommended.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jason Sharman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: Relatively good location (though up a steep hill from plaza); Wifi was good

Disliked: They have their own exchange rate so you end up paying more than the quote on hostel bookers; Left luggage is not free even if you book to return to hostel after Machu Pichu; Freezing cold room; Drains really smell bad in bathroom; No breakfast before 7.30am and most people leave before that to Machu Pichu; They had no change when we paid and we were in a rush to catch a bus- he just told me it was my problem and then waved a $100 bill at me saying that was all he had (I was paying in Soles).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice little hostel and so cheap! Really friendly staff, good location, clean nice rooms. We booked into an 8 bed dorm but they upgraded us to a 3 bed with an ensuite bathroom! So great for the money. Standard breakfast. They kept our bags while we went to Machu Picchu. Staff speak good English.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: está super bien ubicado, en uno de los mejores barrios de cusco, el personal fue amable, el desayuno es como todos... el dormitorio estaba limpio y aunque un poco pequeño era muy cómodo.

Disliked: nada

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maria Fernanda Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013

Liked: Hostel in deplorable conditions

Disliked: I've received a room in deplorable conditions...the bathroom was full of garbage, there was not water between 9pm-9am...Sheets were not changed... the room was humid...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anton Karatoun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013

Liked: Hot water

Disliked: Small and cold rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2013

Liked: locality

Disliked: I was put in a "new room" on the third floor. It had no electrical outlets and when I asked to be moved it took 3 days to move.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013

Liked: The staff is very friendly and caring. Wireless internet is available in the rooms. They keep the door locked and secure and the place is clean.

Disliked: The upper floor gets its electricity from an extension cable from downstairs. There are no electrical outlets in the upper floor rooms for this reason. You must descend to the lobby to recharge your devices. Even the bathroom has no separate lighting. The hot water barely works, if at all. You must ask for toilet paper when you need it; it does not come with the room. There seems to be no communication when it comes to airport pickups etc. They were supposed to have somebody pick me up at the airport but it didn't happen. Somebody was supposed to wait for me during my Sacred Valley tour but nobody was there for me. I know they made the phone calls for these pickups so I'm not sure what the problem was. On top of that, the Sacred Valley tour they arranged for me was poorly planned and I was not included on the "lunch list" even though I paid for it. They did refund me the money though. The place has NO heating at all and it was cold the whole time I was there (February). The staff suffers from this and so do the guests.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Renovation being done on the property.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Agustin Rodriguez Riccio

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 December 2012 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and nice place.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kevin wade

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: All my stays at your hostels have been pleasant experiences. I'd rather stay at one of these than stay at home.

Disliked: Noisy dogs in the neighborhood, of all things. I saw many dogs here and there in Cuzco.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price - quality ratio (quite cheap), good location (5 min walking from the Plaza de Armas, next to the San Blas district), comfortable bad, possibility to use computer, internet.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit dirty.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012

Liked: Close to the plaza des armas

Disliked: Firstly we had a fixed price for the room through hostel bookers but when came to paying they tried to charge 12soles more on the exchange Rate which we found very dishonest and only that we had the email from hostel bookers they would have charged the extra. I found a male member of the staff to be dishonest a and rude but this should not take away from the very friendly female staff who did their best to make our stay comfortable. Also the shower left a lot to be desired.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah Caldow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: hostel was in a good location, but away from main roads, so it was quiet

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels