HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Mama Simona Hostel

Hostel | Cenizas 364, Cusco, Peru 0000

89.4% Overall Rating

24 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Nathan Wang thinks…

"Very cozy and quaint. Was in a great location and easily walkable to main attractions. Staff was super friendly and the place was very clean."

Read all Mama Simona Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.28
  • Towel USD 1.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Marlon's Hostel In Cusco
9.00 USD

Hostel 95.1% 172 reviews
SUMAYAQ HOSTEL CUSCO
8.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
VIP House Hostel
7.05 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Chakana House BackPackers Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Cusi Wasi
17.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pirwa Backpackers Colonial
7.70 USD

Hostel 81.4% 100 reviews
QorichaskaPeru
17.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 10 reviews
Hostal Qorikilla
18.00 USD

Hostel 90.5% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

24 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mama Simona Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Wang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy and quaint. Was in a great location and easily walkable to main attractions. Staff was super friendly and the place was very clean.

Disliked: Nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henry Pinzon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal has al desaire Services for a travellers The wifi is very good

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was excellent. They spoke excellent english and were very helpful. The lounge was tastefully decorated as was our room.

Disliked: We would have liked to have been able to get wireless in our room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff,speak very good English, big lockers in the rooms, showers were clean and had hot water. Let us leave our main bags in lockers while we went on a 4 trip to Machu Picchu at no cost,which was really helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was just bread and jam, although you can order eggs if you want. Kitchen was quite small for the size of the hostel, could only really get one person cooking in there at any one time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chingting huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2013 chingting would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice n friendly stuff, also the place is really lovely Good place to chill out. Great breakfast n new computers can be use for free! Worth it!

Disliked: Can't get wifi in some rooms Also the floor isn't very quite.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damon Rutherford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Damon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, and the accomodations were a steal for the money. I would definitely recommend it for fellow travelers,

Disliked: The internet was intermittent for a while.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanty Do

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Vanty would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. We had a flat screen tv in our room, own bathroom, very clean. They had a kitchen and breakfast room, computer room with two free computers, a locker and storage room that you can leave your bags and lock up with your own lock while hiking machu picchu. Staff was friendly. Very safe.

Disliked: The only thing i didnt like is the trek up to the hostel and for some reason, one of the alleys that led up to the hostel was where all the locals kept peeing in public. By the second day, we just started taking the back route and it was fine after that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, warm with heaters in common spaces.kitchen is clean and has all you need to cook and has a great dining area with tv and english speaking channels if your missing it. Hot water comfiest beds we have had so far. We were able to leave our bags for a few days in the lockers while we went to aquas caliente. Highly reccomend this place to stay in.

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Simon Phillips

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2013

Liked: Clean place with some reasonable basic facilities. Free mate de coco tea and wifi in communal areas although can be picked up in some rooms

Disliked: Found staff to be rude and unhelpful, shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold. Stairs our very noisy and walls are thin meaning this is a place for the heavy sleeper. A lot of rooms are facing a undercover communal courtyard which is frequently visited by many. Also I would recommend to check the exchange rates if paying in local currency

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

johanenleen Nel - Van de Steen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 johanenleen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice, but both rooms we stayed at had no outside windows, Good shower, nice pillows and duvets (necessary cause it gets cold at night). There is a kitchen if you like to cook your own food.

Disliked: Breakfast is basic but you can order extras. Musty smell in some rooms, as they don't get any fresh air. Plastic around the matresses is clean, but quite uncomfortable and noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very helpful staff, great atmosphere, clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ellen Weis

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2012 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Mama Simona for 5 nights total, in two separate stays. Pros are the place is very clean. breakfast is standard but good, there is access to a small kitchen, and the wifi was (except for one day) fast and reliable.

Disliked: It is LOUD. The building is not sound-proofed, and our first room shared a wall with the stairs. We could hear everything - the main door opening, the music in the common areas, people walking in the hallways, dishes in the kitchen. LOUD. Also, the staff were helpful but not overly friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lemeshkov Aleksander

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Lemeshkov would recommend this property

Liked: fresh and clean sheets, fur duvets, chilled ambient, plenty of coca tea, nice and friendly staff, marketplace in 2 blocks

Disliked: that i stayed there only one night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernanda Melchiors Wenzel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel!!!

Disliked: Fernanda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff and subdued atmosphere - for those who appreciate peace of mind and generous facilities, mama simona is absolutely perfect. every day i felt refreshed and rested (in spite of the night before!) and looked forward to interacting with friendly staff and enjoying breakfast in the kitchen and dining areas. lots of light and air and class, and immaculately kept. thanks to everyone, the owner Marianella especially. my lengthy stay was a delight.

Disliked: nothing i can think of. it keeps getting better all the time!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Piussi

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: La relación precio calidad y la increible amabilidad de su gente.

Disliked: Fabio left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: familiäre Atmosphäre

Disliked: there was an overbooking or mistake about our booking and we had the problem that we hadn't the right rooms for the days staying in Cusco. So we need to search for another hostel. The breakefast is very simple and you have to pay for milk, eggs or other special things you want. But all in one it is a nice place!


See all Cusco hostels