HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Hostel | Jiron Pumacahua 160, Urbanizacion Tahuantinsuyo, Cusco, Peru 00000

90.3% Overall Rating

132 out of 134 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2014)

Brendan Hawker thinks…

"My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks before doing the Salkantay Trek. Absolutely great value for money, we had a huge room that was cleaned daily. A simple breakfast is included, and the shower…"

Read all Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostal San Juan de Dios
17.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Golden Inca
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostal Tahuantinsuyo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Hostal Girasoles Cusco
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa de Campo Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 14 reviews
Hostal Atlantis Cusco
31.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casona La Recoleta
31.46 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Tu Hogar Hostal Cusco
12.50 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

132 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 132 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynsey Devitt

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 July 2014 Lynsey would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful & friendly

Disliked: The walls are really thin. Was fine the first night as we had considerate neighbours. The next two nights weren't great as we had two girls staying next door who seemed to think they could make as much noise as they want at all hours.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Hawker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks before doing the Salkantay Trek. Absolutely great value for money, we had a huge room that was cleaned daily. A simple breakfast is included, and the shower was hot hot. The staff are absolutely lovely, we were welcomed 'home' after our trek and given the same great room. We booked the Sacred Valley tour through the hostel which was great, and the staff were always happy to help with recommendations. Laundry is done in a day and a great price. Although it is a 10-15 minute walk from the main square, means you get to know Cusco better & taxis are super cheap anyway. If we're ever back in Cusco we will definitely stay here again. Can't recommend enough.

Disliked: Brendan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Werner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: A nice quiet hostel, around 15 minutes walk from the city enter. It felt very secure and the stuff is super friendly. The make your bed every day and the rooms, the bathrooms and floors are perfect clean. The WIFI worked proper and they offer lockers, a luggage rooms and a big living room. The kitchen is small, but useable and the breakfast typically (2 breads, butter, jam and an egg or a banana). I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: ---

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Townsin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Good if you want a quiet place to prepare for or recover from a trek. Big comfortable beds and really quiet at night. Still met people to chat too.

Disliked: A little out of town, about 10-15 minute walk which is fine but if you go out at night it might be a little unsafe to walk by yourself. 4-5 soles for taxi there. If you wanna party best staying somewhere in town

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Petr Rukavichnikov

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: Чисто, нормальный завтрак.

Disliked: Когда приехали, все комнаты, того типа, что мы бронировали, были заняты. На решепшене просто развели руками! Дали комнату с окошком в потолке 20х50см, с тремя кроватями и туалетом через коридор, вместо дабла с приватной туалетной комнатой. А когда я пришла платить за номер, сказали, что цены поднялись и сейчас все стоит дороже. Я, конечно, заплатила как в брони.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia Hubbel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014 julia would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly and helpful staff, great little maps, gets you everywhere, close to everything, help with getting to local attractions and longer trips to the Sacred Valley, upgrades to single rooms are worth the five dollars, people go out of their way to make you welcome, big clean HOT showers, beautiful appointments and views, the place is full of warmth and character. What's not to like?

Disliked: Tiny fridge and tiny kitchen but most people eat out. For me it was fine as I eat in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarawin Harnchoowong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Sarawin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice. Super clean, good bed, hugh bathroom and friendly staff.

Disliked: A little bit scary when walking to hostel at late night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Evans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, lots of character. Staff is very, very helpful and friendly. Good value.

Disliked: Private rooms can be a bit noisy, as some are right next to kitchen or hallway. I did not like room #1, so they switched me- very accommodating! It was a bit of a walk back to the hostel, so I did coordinate my activities around that a little. Walked at night though and felt fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Par Gustav Teleberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Par Gustav would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and nicely decorated hostel.

Disliked: Par Gustav left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Poon Kaichun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Poon would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe hostel

Disliked: it is not too closed to city center

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

cezary filipek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 December 2013 cezary would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostea/guest house I have ever stayed in (I saw the person celanning it non-stop). Hot water in the bathroom 24/7. Very friendly and helpfull staff ( particularly managers) Safe location and very safe hostel itself ( stored our luggage for many days and all was in order). Quite, decent plce-certainly not a party type of hostel ( this can be advantage and disadvantage depending what are you lookign for. Very safe and secure. Nice collection of DVD you can watch in cosy living room. Access to kitchen accessible 24/7. We actually came back to Recoletta hostel 2 times more in November ( stayed in total over 2 weeks).

Disliked: Basic (typical jam/bread/tea) breakfast ( althought this has improved on our second stay in the middle if November and they inlcude some juice/fruits in the breakfast). Very quite place at times too empty ( there was nobody in the hostel to chat or hang out- but again this can be be advantage if you look for quite and relaxing place. A good walk to the centre ( aprx 20 min). No extra facilities ( sighseeing/night outs etc) like some hostel tend to organise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adity Abedin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Adity would recommend this property

Liked: Execellent value, great atmosphere and great host.

Disliked: Adity left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly, nice rooms and good breakfast!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013

Liked: big rooms, clean

Disliked: the staff was polite but not extremely helpful or warm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Alieksieieva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Thank u Javier, Carlos and all the staff!!! The design of the guesthouse is nice, and it is very safe.

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint. Good WiFi. Computer access, though you may not be so thrilled about tht if you end up with the room whose window overlooks the computer, adds to the noise.

Disliked: Many of the trips leaving Cusco leave early, so you may never actually get the breakfast that is supposed to be included. A crust of bread left out for early risers would be nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Alieksieieva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: I am very thankful to the great staff! Thank u Javier, Carlos and others! My flight had 5 hours delay, but i was picked up from the airport! The staff writes always everything on the board, and they don't forget anything. My departure was early, but i had the thermos and tea on the table :) The staff has even a uniform :) The showers and WC are clean, there was always hot water! And for the breakfast i got even a banana shake! The linens ver also clean. One night i was in Aguas Calientes and after my arrival to Recoleta i had even the new linens and new towel. I highly recommend this place for staying for some days in Cuzco!!!

Disliked: NOTHING!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Stay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: It's cosy and homely and the staff know your name. Very friendly and also quiet, comfortable and clean. The walk in to town only takes 10 minutes and takes you out of the main tourist zone so you get to see a little of Cusco real!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cosy hostel, very homely feel to the place with numerous social areas which are basically living rooms with TV's and hundreds of DVD's for you to watch. The beds and pillows are extremely comfy, probably the best I've experienced in a hostel! Located about 10 minutes from the main plaza but the walk is enjoyable, good to be that little bit away from the center to get that local feeling, would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Rattley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: As i did not speak any Spanish, i wanted a place where the staff spoke English.This hostel fitted the bill, the staff were always available & eager to sort out any problems/questions that i had.I also wanted a place that was secure/cheap/hot water available around the clock & in a reasonable location, not far from the centre.Recoleta fits all my requirements.In all i spent 7 nights inbetween trips.There is also a nice restaurant across the road, serving cheap menu of the day food.Thanks Javier & Kathy for a great stay

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Carswell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in hostels throughout Central America, South America and Asia and found this to be one of the best. If you are going for a party hostel, this is not for you. We had just hiked the Inca Trail and it was nice to come back to and just relax. The owner, Javier, was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot.

Disliked: Not necessarily a bad thing because I like to walk but it was a 10 minute walk to main plaza.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah de Wit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 October 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very comfortable and warm. It was quiet and safe. The breakfast was nice and the staff were very helpful. I will stay here again.

Disliked: One tour I booked through the front desk was a bit of a nightmare. I don't recommend Machu Picchu by car, spend the extra money and take the train. Also, the shower was a little difficult to figure out. You either burn or freeze, or the water stops completely at an awkward time. I was told at check out that happens if you shower after 11pm, which I didn't know.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a really friendly atmosphere, the staff were really helpful and the place was always clean. The beds were comfy and plenty of space to keep you stuff, plus a big locker. The bathrooms were always clean and I only had hot showers! The breakfast was really nice and table service plus each day there was an extra item to the bread and jam which ranged from pancakes, smoothies or eggs. The lounges were really homely with a big dvd collection and the walk into town was fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, the hostel was very clean, the lounge areas were wonderful!

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk to the plaza, but it's not too bad! The water in the shower stopped running my first day there, but it worked fine the second day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sian Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and secure, very clean, nice big room, decent breakfast of bread, jam, tea & coffee and either eggs or bananas. Good location 10 minutes walk from the main square and with some great cheap restaurants right outside.

Disliked: Sian left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels