HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Hostel | Jiron Pumacahua 160, Urbanizacion Tahuantinsuyo, Cusco, Peru 00000

90.9% Overall Rating

134 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Jesus Martinez thinks…

"Excellent hostel located very close to main attractions of the city. The rooms are fantastic, very clean and beds are made daily. Bathrooms are clean, and there's hot water available. There's a nice…"

Read all Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostal San Juan de Dios
17.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Golden Inca
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostal Tahuantinsuyo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Hostal Girasoles Cusco
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa de Campo Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 14 reviews
Hostal Atlantis Cusco
29.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casona La Recoleta
30.32 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Tu Hogar Hostal Cusco
12.50 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

134 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 134 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was our second stay here and everything was very good, as expected.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice welcome with coca tea. Good breakfast with sometimes something extra like fruit, pancakes, eggs,... and very good coffee. Very friendly English speaking staff, always there to help you and able to give a lot of information about Cusco. Big rooms with very clean bathroom and a big shower with hot water and comfy beds. Good laundry service. Fast computer with internet available. Good wifi everywhere in the B&B. They also have a recreation room with a lot of dvd's, soccer game, table tennis and lockers. In one sentence: everything you desire from a B&B.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, the building is big and rooms are large, staff are friendly and helpful. DEFINITELY consider trying Don Matteo's Picanteria across the road - S/20 buys you a big Peruvian meal and is some of the tastiest food I have ever eaten! Plus the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing - the walk to the city is a little annoying but not that bad as mentioned in other reviews.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff were super nice and always helpful. Breakfast was great. Everything was very clean.

Disliked: A couple of rooms back onto the entrance staircase so you can get woken up by people leaving to go on treks at 5am (other ones are really quiet however). Location is a little bit of a walk to the main part of town, not too bad though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Schebitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: the family that runs the hostel is very friendly and helpfull. breakfast is average but good. wifi is fast and everywhere. the place is very safe. rooms are very clean. we stored our luggage there two times - no problems. the sacred valley tour was very good.

Disliked: the place is a little bit too expensive for the location. you can find similar places more central. it is 15 minutes walking from plaza de armas or 3 soles by taxi. the owner stretched the exchange rate for dollars a little bit. water pressure at the shower-rush hour is poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best that we've stayed at in South America. Very clean, and very helpful staff, always smiling. Wonderful hot showers, and a brilliant banana milkshake for breakfast, very tasty! Location is good too, close enough to town to walk, or only a 3 sole taxi ride if you're like us and feeling a bit lazy! Good place to visit Machu Picchu from, we left our backpacks here in their storage room while we were away, and felt happy they were safe. Not a party hostel, but a chilled out place that feels like home, we didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Notman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Recoleta Hostel was one of the best hostels we have stayed in so far during our South America travels. The staff were so friendly and accommodating - nothing was a problem. The rooms were large and very clean - as were the bathrooms (which were always spotless). The free breakfast was always varied - including pancakes one day! The games room is fun - pool, darts, foozeball and a great dvd collection. The place wasn't noisy at all which is great for a good night's sleep, and the location is great - just a 10 min walk to central Cuzco. Very safe - we left our packs here while doing the Inca Trail. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough - you must stay here!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic people running hostel, alway friendly and happy to help. Rooms are comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle moors

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Good location & very clean rooms

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better places I've stayed around the world. We loved the place. From what I heard from other travellers, much better than some of the alternatives. A little more expensive than other spots, but that money is put into making this a quality location. Decrease the stress of visiting the area, and stay at Recoleta.

Disliked: A little difficult to locate. Best to get a taxi to Retiro and walk up the short hill, taking the right fork, than to get a cab to Recoleta street and search for Pumacahua all along the length of it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful house and property. There are many art works and quaint touches and it is a well kept old house that has been refurbished. There's lots of space. I liked the covered smoking areas and dining facilities. There was a lot of peace and quiet during the day, kitchen was available to use, which was nice cos it's small.

Disliked: For me as a solo traveller the quiet and emptiness of the place was both comforting and a little isolating. So far I haven't really met people staying here. Families or small groups and no-one seems that social in general, let alone up for any kind of party. I'm not in the mood to party, but I dunno there just wasn't a social vibe. Could be the people here and the way everything is sooo clean and orderly. Like staying with your relatives u don't want to offend them. I would prefer the space upstairs was not called or used as a TV room, encourage something more social. Although I didn't see people watching TV there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gaven skinner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2012 gaven would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly and helpful staff. good games & tv room

Disliked: gaven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a huge house and its so quiet compared to many other hostels. I really enjoyed staying here. It felt like I was taking time out from the hustle and bustle of travel life.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Hogg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, willing to go out of their way to help and good advice on where things are and how much things should cost. The brekfast was really good and the lady always had a smile serving it, Alan and the manager are very friendly, good clean hostel with dvd, chess, table tennis, and a kitchen also if you want to cook

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bo zhu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 bo would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing special

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sergii Kozak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Sergii would recommend this property

Liked: People at the reception were very friendly and helped with advice on everything. Hostel's location is fine and you can get a taxi to anywhere in to town or just walk 10 min to the centre. The hostel has good hot water supply. It is not crowded and I even got single room for the price of dorm because there were few people.

Disliked: The hostel was a bit deserted, so sometimes it was boring.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bedrooms are very good and clean, also the bathroom. breakfast was ok.

Disliked: the kitchen is very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jostein jerkoe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 jostein would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly hostel with a good atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed ther twice during our stay in Peru. A 10 min walk from Plaza de Armas.

Disliked: jostein left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff: friendly and helpful. Building of real charm and character; spacious and comfy rooms/beds Services good Family friendly

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and kind. I returned to Recoleta after a trek and was quite sick, I was able to move to a private room and the staff seemed to be quite concerned which was nice when travelling alone. The owner even took my shorts to a tailor to be fixed for me, he went above and beyond. It's not a party hostel but you can definitely meet other travellers if you want to. They have a great range of DVDs to watch which is a bonus if you're having a chill out day or are sick like I was. The free breakfast is good too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCIN POLAK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 MARCIN would recommend this property

Liked: Recoletta hospedaje appeared to be a great place, comfy beds, hot shower, wifi access, breakfast and friendly atmosphere. You will definetle enjoy your stay there. Bezwatpienia porzadny hostel w Cusco prowadzony przez super miłych/pomocnych ludzi. Polecam!

Disliked: Location is the only downside of this place, although it is quiet and safe area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a twin room for two nights, and liked everything about Hospedaje Recoleta: friendly staff, comfy beds, wifi in the room, free breakfast, hot showers with nice water pressure (the first we'd had in WEEKS, so it was very exciting). The location was a 10-15 min walk from the Plaza, and the building felt very secure. There's a great restaurant across the street. We'll be back in a few weeks and are looking forward to it :)

Disliked: Nothing - everything was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help, they all seemed to enjoy their job and were happy to chat and assist us in any way. Breakfast is included and was nice-including pancakes. There are multiple cozy and homely common rooms which meant there was always somewhere to go, either to be with other people or to find a quiet spot. There was a pleasant relaxed atmophere. It was very clean and the laundry service offered was efficient and reliable. We very much enjoyed our stay in Recoleta and extended our stay twice!

Disliked: It is a little far from the centre of town, just a 10-15 minute walk. Nothing else that we disliked!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was friendly and chilled out.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Cusco hostels