HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Hostel | Jiron Pumacahua 160, Urbanizacion Tahuantinsuyo, Cusco, Peru 00000

89.5% Overall Rating

131 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2014)

Brendan Hawker thinks…

"My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks before doing the Salkantay Trek. Absolutely great value for money, we had a huge room that was cleaned daily. A simple breakfast is included, and the shower…"

Read all Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostal San Juan de Dios
17.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Golden Inca
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostal Tahuantinsuyo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
HOSTAL IQUIQUE CUSCO
8.00 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 133 reviews
Hostal Girasoles Cusco
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa de Campo Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 14 reviews
Hostal Atlantis Cusco
31.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casona La Recoleta
31.47 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

131 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 131 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for an initial 2 nights and liked it so much we stayed again after our inka treck and they looked after our rucksacks. The hostel has a very comfortable feel, great character with incense sticks always burning. Rooms are spacious, clean and warm and a good breakfast for Peruvian standards.

Disliked: Located away from the town centre so beware of altitude when walking. The hostel is fairly quiet, so is not for those looking for a party atmosphere. Also I couldn't find the games room so make sure you ask!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marla Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Marla would recommend this property

Liked: It was fun to stay in this charming old colonial mansion full of artworks. Nice woven bedspreads and plenty of blankets. Lots of places to lounge around and relax. Our private rooms even had TVs in them with plenty of cable channels--not that we ever had time to watch them. This was the owner Javier's family house and they do their best to make you feel at home. There's a tiny rooftop terrace with comfortable chairs, too. Everything was very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful, they even hauled my bags up to my room for me. Breakfast was only bread, coffee, juice tea and jam but the bread was fresh and good. Coca tea was available in the kitchen. It felt cozy. There were numerous inexpensive places to eat nearby too where real people ate, not tourists, so cheaper. We had a delicious broasted chicken dinner with drink, soup and potatoes for 10 soles across the street. Also it's only a 5-10 minute walk to catch the combis to Pisac, which cost 5 soles, compared to buying a tour in the square. I noticed some clubs with live music on the way to the Plaza de Armas. It's also only a short walk to the Qoricancha archeological site.

Disliked: The location was a 10 or 15 minute walk from the historic center of town which normally would not be a problem, but in the thin air of Cusco, it could leave you out of breath. Some of the sidewalks very narrow. On the plus side, it was flat walking all the way, not climbing up and down ridiculous flights of stairs like San Blas. And pretty easy location to find walking or in a cab. Just tell them it's next to the beer factory.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sonja norris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and happy to help with any questions, as soon as we arrived at the hostal we felt really welcome and having a nice clean room to stay in was great! the hostal is really safe and about 10 min walk from the centre of Cuzco. We aso left our bags at the hostal whilst on a 3 day excursion to Macchu Picchu and the hostal were happy to look after the bags which was a real relief! The facilities were really good, and nothing was too much trouble as the staff were really accomadating. I would really recomend this hostal to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing had a great stay!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for a total of 4 nights (1 night, 1 night, then 2 nights over the period of a week) with my husband and my parents. I had booked two basic twin rooms for each time. Upon arrival, we found out that there was some confusion with the booking and we had been allocated a quadruple room instead. The manager was very appologetic, especially as the hostel was fully booked for that night. In compensation, he gave us a free upgrade to twin room with private bathroom for our subsequent stays. All the staff were very friendly, most had reasonable English and they were always willing to try. The hostel and bathrooms were always spotless, and the showers were hot. The laundry service was very helpful for us, as we were able to leave dirty clothes with them to be washed while we went on 2 or 3 night trips to nearby areas and it was clean and folded when we returned. The luggage storage facilities were also great. We didn't end up having time to use the following, but there was a lovely tv room with dvd's, and a fooseball table and table tennis table too. They also are able to organise tours to Machi Picchu etc, which we didn't use as our tours had already been arranged. Breakfast was decent, and the free wifi was great too. If you email them in advance with your flight information, they will arrange for someone to be waiting at the airport to take you to the hostel - cost is 20 soles, or approx $7.50. It's a bit more expensive than a taxi, but with my parents as well, it was very nice to have to find a taxi and negotiate a price. The hostel will call a taxi for you for the return to the airport and settle the price. A taxi anywhere else in town (except the bus station) is approx 3 soles, but the main square is within walking distance. If you are fit and acclimatised, you can get there in about 15 minutes, we usually took 20-25mins.

Disliked: Nothing! It was fantastic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Sneddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, rooms, bathrooms. Great english speaking staff if you cannot speak spanish. Always friendly and able to help with anything. Good Wi-Fi. Great place to relax before and after your hikes/visit to Machu Picchu. Booked a double room but got upgraded to a large triple room with private bathroom for free. 15 minute walk to the main plaza or 3 soles in a taxi.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Location is a bit out of the way from the centre (Plaza das armas) but it's totally fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a quaint, family home. The staff are so friendly. The security is great as they give you a key for the front door and your room. Plus, Katy is such a wonderfully nice person. If you are fortunate enough to meet her, her smile will defintiely make your day brighter!!!

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ina Linnankoski

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Ina would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff are very friendly. The owner speaks english. A very nice atmosphere at the hostel, very clean, even the shared bathrooms. The social area, living room is well equiped, lots of videos, good TV, table tennis etc. The hostel is lightful, the little garden adds positively to the atmosphere and it is nice to sit in the terace. And the place is safe!

Disliked: No negatives! I had a very good time in Ricoleta!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, not bad location, clean, free towls.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent, well-run hostel. The owner is friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful, making for a pleasant and easy stay. They even stored our bags for free whilst we visited Machu Picchu. We stayed in three rooms over various visits to the hostel and were satisfied with all of them - clean and comfortable, with warm showers and a good little kitchen for tea and coffee. Good value for money - definitely recommended.

Disliked: The breakfast was standard for most hostels in South America - mainly bread and jam with tea. We also had some problems with change from the hostel when trying to pay with large value notes, but none of these issues would put us off staying here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal is beautiful and more like an old large family home than a hostal. The rooms are spotless and quiet with comfortable beds and lots of warm blankets. The shared bathrooms are also very clean with great hot showers. The breakfasts are basic but nice and there's a great TV room with a huge selection of DVDs you can borrow. The staff are incredibly helpful, particularly the owner Javier, and will help with whatever questions or problems you have. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Cusco - I can't recommend it highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly and go out of the way to make your stay. You can leave bags and valuables safe while doing your trails and they were very flexible for us on both check in and check out. A great place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Clark

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a great place to stay. The hostel itself is lovely and clean and a great place to meet other travellers. Its only a 10min walk to the main plaza and in a nice safe area. The staff at the hostel are very friendly and helpful, particularly Javier who gave us lots of great information! I would definately recommend the hostel and would stay here again myself.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHOGUI SILVERA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 CHOGUI would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the historic center. Close to where the food is cheap Super friendly staff. Especially Javier. Hot shower and warm rooms

Disliked: CHOGUI left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chitra Kumar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Chitra would recommend this property

Liked: After staying with Xavier at his place our expectations for hospitality were blown away. Nothing was ever too much hassle, from the start we were made to feel welcome and at home from all of the staff. The place itself is a lovely character filled building with DVDs, Kitchen, table football and pingpong! Good areas for meeting people and fast internet. The rooms have really comfortable beds and are spotless. The breakfast is with eggs or pancakes and not just boring old bread and jam like normal. The location is only 10min safe walk from the centre and next to some amazing off the beaten track restaurants. Xavier recommended the BEST place we have had ceviche ever! Certainly what makes this place the best we have stayed in Peru is the hospitality and the extent to which the staff will go to to make your stay comfortable. From mending shoes, tailoring trousers or arragning excursions or even just some advice about eating etc, it is all honest and helpful. And the value is excellent for Cusco. We liked it so much we returned a second time and if we ever had to stay in Cusco again this would always be first choice. Thanks Xavier for a lovely time!

Disliked: Chitra left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Naomi Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean. Good communal areas with large selection of DVD's. Safe were friendly. Breakfast was standard S. America - bread and jam. Nothing special.

Disliked: There was some confusion when we arrived regarding the length of our booking. They had obviously written something down incorrectly. It wasn't too much of an issue as we ended up with a huge triple room for the price of a double. The balance on Hostelbookers is given in USD. When I booked online it was quoted at 7.73GBP per person per night, with the exchange rate used by the hostel it actually worked out to be 8.75GBP. Not a massive amount but when you are on a very tight budget not the best surprise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Pink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant hostel with owners who spoke some English. Without asking, they kindly gave me a private room for the same price as a dorm. Breakfast was the best I had at any hostel, in fact it was the best hostel I stayed in, in South America.

Disliked: It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the main square along a narrow road but wouldn't let that put you off...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcos Duque

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: The room wa big and confortable and the bathroom was very clean. The breakfast is great. Is very near from the center.

Disliked: It was a bit cold during the night. They offer airport pickup, not very expensive, but it is possible to find it cheaper on your own.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcos Duque

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2012 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: The room wa big and confortable and the bathroom was very clean. The breakfast is great. Is very near from the center.

Disliked: It was a bit cold during the night. They offer airport pickup, not very expensive, but it is possible to find it cheaper on your own.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoram Lotan

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 April 2012 Yoram would recommend this property

Liked: Met our expectations. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast and clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lucy darling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2012 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very helPful staff full of good advice on tour companies etc. Quick 15 min walk to main square. Quiet, clean rooms. Great powerful showers with hot water!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was our second stay here and everything was very good, as expected.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice welcome with coca tea. Good breakfast with sometimes something extra like fruit, pancakes, eggs,... and very good coffee. Very friendly English speaking staff, always there to help you and able to give a lot of information about Cusco. Big rooms with very clean bathroom and a big shower with hot water and comfy beds. Good laundry service. Fast computer with internet available. Good wifi everywhere in the B&B. They also have a recreation room with a lot of dvd's, soccer game, table tennis and lockers. In one sentence: everything you desire from a B&B.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, the building is big and rooms are large, staff are friendly and helpful. DEFINITELY consider trying Don Matteo's Picanteria across the road - S/20 buys you a big Peruvian meal and is some of the tastiest food I have ever eaten! Plus the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing - the walk to the city is a little annoying but not that bad as mentioned in other reviews.


See all Cusco hostels