HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta Cusco Hostel

Jiron Pumacahua 160, Tahuantinsuyo, Cuzco, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 91%

Location 80%

Safety 98%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 91%

Location 80%

Safety 98%

Staff 90%

Value 94%

Showing 21-15 of 15 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The cleanest hostea/guest house I have ever stayed in (I saw the person celanning it non-stop). Hot water in the bathroom 24/7. Very friendly and helpfull staff ( particularly managers) Safe location and very safe hostel itself ( stored our luggage for many days and all was in order). Quite, decent plce-certainly not a party type of hostel ( this can be advantage and disadvantage depending what are you lookign for. Very safe and secure. Nice collection of DVD you can watch in cosy living room. Access to kitchen accessible 24/7. We actually came back to Recoletta hostel 2 times more in November ( stayed in total over 2 weeks).

Disliked: Basic (typical jam/bread/tea) breakfast ( althought this has improved on our second stay in the middle if November and they inlcude some juice/fruits in the breakfast). Very quite place at times too empty ( there was nobody in the hostel to chat or hang out- but again this can be be advantage if you look for quite and relaxing place. A good walk to the centre ( aprx 20 min). No extra facilities ( sighseeing/night outs etc) like some hostel tend to organise.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I am very thankful to the great staff! Thank u Javier, Carlos and others!My flight had 5 hours delay, but i was picked up from the airport! The staff writes always everything on the board, and they don't forget anything.My departure was early, but i had the thermos and tea on the table :)The staff has even a uniform :)The showers and WC are clean, there was always hot water! And for the breakfast i got even a banana shake! The linens ver also clean. One night i was in Aguas Calientes and after my arrival to Recoleta i had even the new linens and new towel.I highly recommend this place for staying for some days in Cuzco!!!

Disliked: NOTHING!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and safe hostel

Disliked: it is not too closed to city center

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's cosy and homely and the staff know your name. Very friendly and also quiet, comfortable and clean. The walk in to town only takes 10 minutes and takes you out of the main tourist zone so you get to see a little of Cusco real!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great cosy hostel, very homely feel to the place with numerous social areas which are basically living rooms with TV's and hundreds of DVD's for you to watch. The beds and pillows are extremely comfy, probably the best I've experienced in a hostel! Located about 10 minutes from the main plaza but the walk is enjoyable, good to be that little bit away from the center to get that local feeling, would definitely recommend!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I've stayed in hostels throughout Central America, South America and Asia and found this to be one of the best. If you are going for a party hostel, this is not for you. We had just hiked the Inca Trail and it was nice to come back to and just relax. The owner, Javier, was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the showers were hot.

Disliked: Not necessarily a bad thing because I like to walk but it was a 10 minute walk to main plaza.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The beds were very comfortable and warm. It was quiet and safe. The breakfast was nice and the staff were very helpful. I will stay here again.

Disliked: One tour I booked through the front desk was a bit of a nightmare. I don't recommend Machu Picchu by car, spend the extra money and take the train. Also, the shower was a little difficult to figure out. You either burn or freeze, or the water stops completely at an awkward time. I was told at check out that happens if you shower after 11pm, which I didn't know.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast was great, the hostel was very clean, the lounge areas were wonderful!

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk to the plaza, but it's not too bad! The water in the shower stopped running my first day there, but it worked fine the second day.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As i did not speak any Spanish, i wanted a place where the staff spoke English.This hostel fitted the bill, the staff were always available & eager to sort out any problems/questions that i had.I also wanted a place that was secure/cheap/hot water available around the clock & in a reasonable location, not far from the centre.Recoleta fits all my requirements.In all i spent 7 nights inbetween trips.There is also a nice restaurant across the road, serving cheap menu of the day food.Thanks Javier & Kathy for a great stay

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is slightly out of the town centre, but still easily walkable (in five to ten minutes), and quieter and with larger rooms as a result. The staff are incredibly friendly. Also, we have had no problems at all with hot water at any time of day, which we have heard is intermittent elsewhere. We will be returning twice more between treks before leaving Peru.

Disliked: No criticisms whatever.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability