HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Hostel | Jiron Pumacahua 160, Urbanizacion Tahuantinsuyo, Cusco, Peru 00000

90.9% Overall Rating

134 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Jesus Martinez thinks…

"Excellent hostel located very close to main attractions of the city. The rooms are fantastic, very clean and beds are made daily. Bathrooms are clean, and there's hot water available. There's a nice…"

Read all Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostal San Juan de Dios
17.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Golden Inca
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostal Tahuantinsuyo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Hostal Girasoles Cusco
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa de Campo Hotel
21.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 14 reviews
Hostal Atlantis Cusco
29.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casona La Recoleta
30.32 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Tu Hogar Hostal Cusco
12.50 USD

Guesthouse 76.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

134 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 134 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, the hostel was very clean, the lounge areas were wonderful!

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk to the plaza, but it's not too bad! The water in the shower stopped running my first day there, but it worked fine the second day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sian Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and secure, very clean, nice big room, decent breakfast of bread, jam, tea & coffee and either eggs or bananas. Good location 10 minutes walk from the main square and with some great cheap restaurants right outside.

Disliked: Sian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is slightly out of the town centre, but still easily walkable (in five to ten minutes), and quieter and with larger rooms as a result. The staff are incredibly friendly. Also, we have had no problems at all with hot water at any time of day, which we have heard is intermittent elsewhere. We will be returning twice more between treks before leaving Peru.

Disliked: No criticisms whatever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Wouters

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpfull! After traveling a lot and staying in differt others hostels we were very glad with the really warm showers and cleaness of the rooms. We can advice this hostel to others very much!

Disliked: Walter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randy Arroyave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Randy would recommend this property

Liked: They offered very personalized touch. Friendly, warm and helpful. The grounds are very nicely decorated and it has a spectacular view of the mountains. Since I was doing the Inca trail, they took care of my bags at no extra cost. Whenever I needed a cab, they called for one and it was there shortly after. Definitely recommend. Definitely will come back!

Disliked: Randy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia hellyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 julia would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff that will help you with booking tours and treks, very cozy and beautiful house, very comfortable beds

Disliked: julia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really lovely place to stay in Cusco, definitely recommended. The staff are extremely helpful, all speak at least some English. The rooms and bathrooms (big, with good water pressure and hot water) were some of the cleanest I've seen in my S America travels. Very comfy beds and pillows. Very nice atmosphere with one big common room and a number of smaller ones. It's a 15 min walk to the main plaza but there are plenty of local (cheaper) restaurants close to the hostel and a taxi back at night (not necessary during the day) is 4 or 5 soles. Very good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Woods

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: There are so many things we loved about this place! Firstly, the entire place is beautifully decorated and always smells great! The room (we paid for a twin room, but it actually had 3 beds with a private bathroom) we had was massive, amazingly clean and had a beautiful mural on the wall. Beds were comfortable and warm. The bathroom was always clean (and had hot water!!), as was the communal kitchen and other communal areas. There is a lovely place to sit outside in the sun, a TV room, perfect wifi, book exchange and the staff let us store out bags there while we were trekking at no cost. And, the breakfast is filling (bread, butter and jam, tea and coffee each day, plus a surprise.. One day it was pancakes, another day it was fruit and another day it was a smoothie). Apart from how great all of that is, the staff are also fantastic. They are super friendly and went out of their way to assist us at all times (from telling us how much to get a taxi for, to letting us know all the best places to visit to moving things around so we were able to stay another night at short notice). The location is about a 10 min walk to the main plaza, which is nothing! And the walk is nice and there are shops along the way where you can buy fruit / veg etc if you like to cook your own meals. We (2 females) felt really safe in this area. The hostel also offers a same-day laundry service which comes in very handy. This is the best place that we have stayed in months (if not the very best place we have stayed in Peru) and highly recommend it to people! We couldn't have asked for better service!

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jomar Rolland Braga Neto

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Jomar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is very cozy.

Disliked: The location is a little bit far from Plaza de Armas in Cusco, 10 minutes walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for six nights in total - 3 nights before our four day trek to machu pichu and 3 nights after - and we loved everything about the hostel. For the first three nights we stayed in a private too with a private bathroom. The room was cleaned everyday and the shower was the best shower we have had in the whole of Peru! Piping hot! When we returned we stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. Again, everything was so clean. The shared bathroom was spotless and cleaved throughout the day. We had showers in the morning and the evening and the shared bathroom was spotless at all times. We would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in cusco. Javier and the team are so friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a great location - around 15 minutes walk from the main plaza - which is actually really nice as you get approached constantly in the main plaza by tourist agencies and sellers. We caught a cab only when we were getting back to our hostel after 8pm and it cost 3/4 soles. There are lots of reasonably priced restaurants near the hostel too. Definitely the best hostel we've stayed in peru!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. the showers were really hot, except one morning. There are small lounges to watch tv. Cold beer and water are available. The staff will help organise trips to Machu Picchu or Titikaka, however the recommended accommodation at these places was not good.

Disliked: The toilet/bathroom for the three different rooms we stayed in between coming and going to other places, either backed onto another bathroom, with the air vent of one going into the other, so we could hear everything other other guest was doing and vica versa, or the vent faced into the breakfast room, so while in the bathroom anyone eating breakfast would be able to hear everything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and clean place

Disliked: very small kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Tyson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel would really recommend it. Good hospitality, the owner and staff are friendly and helpful. 5 mins walk to main plaza. Big, comfortable beds and the rooms & bathrooms are very clean. Private rooms and dorms are lovely and homely. Brilliant collection of DVD's an good wifi. The only hostel in 3 months of travelling in SA I've been able to uploads photos. Nice breakfast with something different each day, great pancakes! We stayed an extra week here as we liked it so much, would definitely go back!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tori Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Tori would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed this hostel. I arrived at 4:30am on a night bus from Bolivia and they let me stay on a comfy sofa in their tv room till check in. It has a really nice relaxed home-y feel to it. After the machu picchu trek I was really looking forward to coming back and relaxing. The beds are comfy, the breakfast was pretty nice- good coffee, bread with bananas and jam, and they have a huge selection of dvds plus a ping pong table and a sweet little garden. Good wifi. The staff are all really friendly too. Definitely recommend :)

Disliked: A few people have mentioned the location- it is a bit of a walk into the town centre- about 10 minutes- but i found it quite nice to do this during the day. at night I easily found a local cab to take me back at night for 1 sole.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivek Battu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Vivek would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks to Javier and his team for making my stay so comfortable and enjoyable. On arrival I was made to feel very at home and was given a quick rundown of the route to the main square and nearby amenities. The beds were really comfortable with plenty of layers to keep warm during Cusco's cold nights. The showers were nice and hot and internet access was good all over (I stayed in two different dorms over two visits). Breakfast of pancake and bread + tea/coffee etc was nice. Staff always friendly and willing to help. They speak good english.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house, in very good location. Very clean room and bathrooms. Super friendly and helpful staff. Pancakes and eggs for breakfast. Laundry and luggage storage. Relaxed and hassle-free atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice facility with many chill spaces, very clean, quiet at night, nice and friendly staff, nice beds and a served breakfast. overall great value.

Disliked: small kitchen (though reasonably well equipped), lockers outside the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qianjing Xia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Qianjing would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great. It's a private family-run hostel. Owners speak good English and are extremely nice and helpful. One of the cleanest hostels I have stayed at! Highly recommend it.

Disliked: Qianjing left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom brakefast

Disliked: location: still in walking distance, but make sure you take all the things with you you need during the day. if you want to stay in the historic center where most of the tourist action takes place stay somewhere else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adel Karim Antar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2013 Adel Karim would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really cosy and familiar place. The staff was really nice and whenever you asked for something they gave you really good information.

Disliked: Sometimes the girl for the breakfast isn't so enthusiastic at all. Anyway the breakfast was still pretty good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin McNeill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Very clean and relaxed. Staff were very helpful, especially with the available tours. Can't think of anything to fault the place with. Nice breakfast, TV Room, fast wifi, close to restaurants and main square. Would stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

keeley pond

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 keeley would recommend this property

Liked: We travelled as a family of 4 .2 girls under 15 and us by car across peru and this hospedaje was amongst the best we came accross.The welcome on arrival was good and there were plenty of options for those looking for tours (i cant comment on those as we were self sufficient) and the rooms were clean and spacious.We booked two budget twin rooms with bathrooms and were given what amounts to a suite, first room 2 beds with bathroom second 4 beds with ensuite and sitting area between.More than comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN D CREW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 ALLEN D would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly ..Safe ...Clean

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZIYUE LI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 ZIYUE would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice and clean place. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast is pretty good.

Disliked: ZIYUE left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfully staff. Quiet place.

Disliked: Kitchen facility very basic.


See all Cusco hostels