HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of La Casa de mi Abuelo

Guesthouse | Nueva Alta 785, Cusco, Peru -

89.5% Overall Rating

54 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/03/2014)

ELMER GUSTAFSON thinks…

"We really like the people here.they have been very helpful and great with information. The location is great it is walking distance to the major plazas and is in ole town. Breakfast is with 2 cups of…"

Read all La Casa de mi Abuelo reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostel Kilombo
11.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
QorichaskaPeru
17.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 10 reviews
Mama Simona Hostel
11.89 USD

Hostel 89.4% 25 reviews
Hostal Cusi Wasi
17.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Net House B&B
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Marlon's Hostel In Cusco
9.00 USD

Hostel 95.1% 172 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
SUMAYAQ HOSTEL CUSCO
8.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

54 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casa de mi Abuelo'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELMER GUSTAFSON

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 ELMER would recommend this property

Liked: We really like the people here.they have been very helpful and great with information. The location is great it is walking distance to the major plazas and is in ole town. Breakfast is with 2 cups of coffee instead of the normal one that everyone gives you. If you are looking for lucery not here but a good clean friendly place and very convenient.

Disliked: ELMER left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very, very friendly and helpful in everything we asked about (hairdresser, markets,...). We had health problems and even had to go to the hospital. They called the (very good) doctor for us and did not charge our nights in hospital, although our stuff was still in the room of the hostel. The hot shower was perfectly working - very nice in cold Cusco nights! As a breakfast, they served eggs - really enjoyable. The room was cleaned very accurately every day (if we were outside).

Disliked: We had to quit the hostel because there is no common kitchen but we wanted to cook by ourselfs to overcome stomach problems. There was no heating, so in the evenings and mornings it was quite cold. The toilet paper was not always refilled during the cleaning, so we bought it on our own.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner/staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us recommendations where to eat and even ordered our taxis for us. They also told us what we should be paying for taxi rides.

Disliked: A little far from the main square. But a cheap taxi ride for only 3 or 4 soles.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. You get eggs cooked every morning for breakfast - yum! The beds are very comfy. They allowed us a very early check in plus breakfast the morning we arrived. The city centre is about a 10min walk (slightly longer if you stroll...).

Disliked: The first night we had trouble getting hot water in the shower but it seemed to sort itself out the second night then it was very hot.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean place with good breakfast on offer and decent wifi. Central with Owners helped me retrieve some lost property from Aguas Calientes, normally an impossible task - restablished by faith in the honesty of humanity... an impressive feat after my experienced in La Paz.

Disliked: Beutiful place, very comfortable in a non-touristy area in a tourist city.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Pardo Villaverde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. The staff was extremely helpful, kind and efficient and they helped us book two very good and very well priced tours and recommended great budget restaurants. It is not in the very center, but it is close enough to walk, even in altitude. Pretty good breakfast. Warm and clean. Nice back yard. Wifi. Perfect for a group of friends.

Disliked: Very basic, decoration a bit shabby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Los dueños, amables, educados y atentos en grado sumo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amy verschraegen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpfull. The rooms are large and very clean. They clean the room every day. Its quite a walk to the centre going down, if there is a night you dont feel like walking down, you can order a pizza and 15 minutes later it arrives, and they are very good. We really liked our stay here and would definitely recomend it to other travelers.

Disliked: The neighbourhood sometimes give you an unsafe feeling at night, but nothing happened

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sonia and her son (the owners of the accommodation) were so friendly, welcoming and keen to help us in any way. We arrived early on our first day (before 9am) and they were happy to let us check into our room early and made us breakfast straight away, which included scrambled eggs instead of the usual bread/jam. We had a matrimonial room which was spacious, with a flat screen cable TV and private bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable. They are conveniently located just a ten minute walk from the main square..so all in all we could not ask for more and would definitely recommend La Casa de mi Abuelo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located near the main squares in Cusco, less than 10 minute walk to restaurants, museums, etc. The owners are wonderful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Prescott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very nice and the rooms were good. Especially in the private room with a very nice bed.

Disliked: No kitchen for cooking, but that's pretty common in Peru from my experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Patricio

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

25 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: very nice stuff, family owned hostel, soo sooo helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

christopher regan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012

Liked: The dog and the cable TV.

Disliked: They didnt keep our reservation which we booked 2 days before and I even emailed the owner to say we were going to check in around 9pm. They then left us waiting in a door way for 45 mins while they sorted out another room without saying what was happening, this was at 9pm at night, we finally got our room at 9.45pm. They took us into a filthy dorm room which had blood stains and other suspicious stains on the duvets, not the double room with garden view we asked for. The toilet had no seat on it and the shower curtain has never been washed and had mould sticking it together. Sonia was very rude to us, lied to us as to why we didnt have a room, when her brother or son had earlier told us they had given it to someone else and told us if we didn't like the room we could leave, it was 10pm at night by this point and quite away from the plaza, with no taxis near by. We took the room, as we were only staying for 1 night. I went to shut the curtains, they did not work, asked for a member of staff to fix them, he tried for 2 mins and told us he would fix it the day after (we were only staying for that night), i told him it wasnt good enough, he started shouting and pointing in my face aggressively, 'what is your problem, what is your problem?? Why dont you go, i think it is best you go!!' after about 5 mins of his aggressive behaviour he then started shouting things in Spanish, while walking out, stuck his middle finger up and slammed the door shut!! totally out of order after what we had already put up with and only asking him to fix our curtains. The other brother or son from earlier came in and fixed them without going mental. The noise outside our room from staff was loud until late. you had to walk through a dirty garage containing muliple empty packets of crisps and 2 motorbikes to get to the disgusting room and in the morning there were randoms sleeping outside our room on duvets on the floor. It was like a doss house!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominik Djerdj

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: It`s been a great time at this hostel!After the first night here i decided to stay for a couple of days more.They have really big rooms and you have your own (perfectly clean) bathroom!The beds are super comfortable and Sonia and the other guys here do everything to make your stay as nice as possible! You get a lovely breakfast every mornig-it`s really like being at home.U would recommend this Hostel to everyone but especially to couples! Also it`s good located,just a few minutes to walk to the lovely main square of cusco-it`s an amazing city! It`s the best Hostel I stayed yet in South America. I hope i will be able to come back!

Disliked: absolutely nohing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friedly, it had a good location and I was made to feel at home

Disliked: When I arrived they had no bed for me so they had to put me in a private room. I was moved twicw after that.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adrian Blackhurst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012

Liked: Clean, nice family, cable TV with lots of english channels!

Disliked: Somebody went to clean my room and went through all of my bags!!! nothing stolen, but...invasion of privacy, possible theif on staff! not cool!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Amato

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at three different hostels while we were in Cusco and this hostel was the best! It has heat!! We were both sick from the altitude and this was the perfect place to recover. We stayed warm and watched the flat screen tv in our room! Breakfast was great and Sonia was very helpful. She let us keep our packs there for a couple of days while we explored the sacred valley. We loved the dog as well!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit spotty, but they tried to help us with that. The bathroom smelled quite bad so we had to keep the door closed...but really the hostel was great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DUFFES Guillaume

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 DUFFES would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Please see my previous rating about the same property.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work, however, there are computers that one can use anytime.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DUFFES Guillaume

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 DUFFES would recommend this property

Liked: I would insist on the kindness of the owners. I got mountain sickness during 3 days, and the owner gave pills for free and tell me what to recover quickly before going trekking, and it worked perfectly.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: superfriendly, always helping you! Big rooms and a super breakfast included. Its a 6 minute walk to the center.

Disliked: nothing to really dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIANA MARQUEZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 DIANA would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is great!

Disliked: It's very 'BARE BONES".

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola woodward

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Always helpful staff - family run. It was small and had a real mixture of guests from places such as Columbia, Russia and Vietnam. It is a good price, comfy and could easily be a long-term stay.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIANA MARQUEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 DIANA would recommend this property

Liked: Sonia, the woman in charge, goes above and beyond to help travelers feel at home. She is really friendly and helpful and always has a smile. Also, this hostel is really close to the plaza, which in Cusco is a big PLUS. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh.

Disliked: The property was VERY bare bones, no frills, no pretty art on the walls or anything. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well-kept, but no fancy anything, no luxury at all. I would recommend it for the budget traveler, but maybe not for honeymooners.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo a Fuentes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2011 Hugo a would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and cleanliness. Thanks Sonia for everything,

Disliked: nothing!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2011

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: I previously entered comments about this property and was emailed a threatening and abusive email by the manager of this property, Sonia. I therefore contacted hostelbookers and was given the option to re write my review as well as advised them of the unprofessional service I had received as well as the abusive email. Please do not stay at this property. They do not deserve your money. There are plenty of other places to stay in Cusco that have hot water (24 hrs) and have the amenities that are described unlike this one. The only good thing about this hostel is the breakfast and it is quite secure, however it is very unorganized and the staff cannot speak any english. So if you need something the only person you can speak to is Sonia and her english is limited as well. During my stay here I encountered many problems that I should not have. The worst being no hot water in a cold weather climate. When you return to your hostel from Macchu Picchu or the Sacred Valley or hiking you want a shower and a hot one. This you will not get at this hostel. There will always be some explanation as there is no "water pressure", or there is no water in the "whole of Cusco??". I stayed four nights and only had two hot water showers which lasted about 2 minutes maximum. On top of that the staff is rather rude and inconsiderate. One of the showers I took they took me into someone elses room to take as my shower would not work. They never offered me to change a room even though others were available, as it could have possibly been the shower head but to them, why even try? On top of this, they though I only booked one night when I booked four, they demanded payment on a day that I had my tour shuttle waiting outside, I asked if it could wait (I was obviously returning the same day) but then Sonia came and demanded a reservation letter. So while my bus is waiting and I have a train to catch to Macchu Picchu I have to back up to my room, go through my luggage, which I kept locked at all times, and come back down and give her the reservation. On top of this they have a young 16 yr old kid doing all the cleaning, I felt sorry for the guy as all he did was clean and work. When I left my slippers / flip flops were missing but I just left. All in all a seriously unprofessional hostel with lacking amenities and it will make your stay in Cusco not as pleasant as it should be.


See all Cusco hostels