We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Matara 261, Cusco, Peru -

83.9% Overall Rating

97 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2015)

GUSTAVO BARBOSA thinks…

"Great hostel, i like too much the rooms and the local in general, the party's in friday or saturday its great."

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that you must be 18y.o or over in order to check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Kukuli Lodge B&B
17.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
5.92 USD

Hostel 88.5% 29 reviews
Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
7.69 USD

Hostel 89.5% 70 reviews
The Point Cusco
8.33 USD

Hostel 76.8% 191 reviews
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pariwana Backpacker Cusco
9.83 USD

Hostel 94.3% 276 reviews
Hostelling International Cusco
8.88 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews
Mallmanya Inn Hotel
11.83 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

97 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 104 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great bar

Disliked: everything is great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dixon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we've stayed in on our travels! The place is immaculate, the beds very comfy, the food like proper Irish food(try the shepards pie!) and the staff are friendly and helpful! You get to meet so many people here and there's always something happening in the bar for a great night. The owners work there so everything runs smoothly...if I had a hostel I'd run it like these Irish lads-great place!!!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2012

Liked: The Beds were extremely comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: This is definitely a party hostel which is great but there is no quiet time and it is normally very loud until about 4 am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Lundstrom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi, nice bar with good prices on both food and drinks.

Disliked: No kitchen, The staff who checked us in wasent friendly at all didnt even show us around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Cazot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Although it´s a party hostel, sleeping wasn´t a problem. It´s a mecca for all different nationalities and types of people, great place to stay near the centre of Cusco.

Disliked: I didn´t dislike anything, but I wasn´t too happy about them keeping my passport because I didn´t have a large backpack with me. I was told it was for security...but that didn´t bother me too much, just thought it was a little irregular!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome chill out lounge, nice bar, clean and comfy and good for parties

Disliked: food could be better

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012

Liked: There were plenty of computers, a place to store and charge valuables, and they let you leave your stuff while hiking the Inca Trail.

Disliked: We thought it was just bad luck, but the night before our Inca Trail trip was the night before St. Patrick's Day, and this Irish hostel was partying in full force. We could hear everything from our room. Then when we returned in the middle of the week, we thought we'd be okay, but again it was an all-night party which we could hear. Plus there was no kitchen for general use.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, spacious patio/common area, good beds

Disliked: can be loud (party hostel), despite the cleaning is filthied up fairly fast, the staff cheats you out on small things which is annoying

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff. It has a party vibe to it, but sleeping wasn't an issue.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is pretty close to the center. It has spacious rooms and cosy beds. The younger staff is really helpful and friendly!!! There is a free use of three computers and free luggage storage for a maximum of one week!

Disliked: If you are looking for a place to relax, search for an other place to stay because the hostel is pretty crowded and loud especially during night time. The older security guy at the front door being extremely harsh to the travellers. If you plan on booking a tour....definitely AVOID the travel agency "Southern Peru Explorers" at this hostel. The guys just take your money without doing their job properly!!! And the prices there are extremely high in comparison to other places!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and secure, the staff were friendly although sometimes a bit too busy to answer your questions. The beds were beautiful and comfortable!

Disliked: I came here as a solo traveller and found it a bit difficult to meet anybody except in my dorm. I guess I would prefer to sit around listening to music, drinking and chatting to other travellers than 'partying hard and staying up all night woo'. There is a large common area but everyone is just sitting around using their laptops. So if you want to go it hard, this is the place for you. If not, well then just come for the comfy beds I guess...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Cushen

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: What a place, we were here for Christmas and New Years. Pure perfection, amazing parties, different themed nights, I met a hero of mine in John Lennon too...thanks guys for an unforgtettable time.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate dillane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing so helpful and friendly. The beds are super comfy and the foodis delicious. Stay here and you def won't be disappointed.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate dillane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing, so friendly . This hostel has a great homely atmosphere and has great food.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Manford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Sociable, fantastic staff, great activities and parties... hot water and peace and quiet when needed - everything you could want!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: let´s keep it simple...in a word...epic. you wanna party. here´s your place...done

Disliked: it´s all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Offringa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: I was sick while I stayed there so I didn't get to experience the legendary parties, but I didn't find it too loud. The bathrooms were cleaned very very often (believe me, I noticed).

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james burns

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: i couldnt fault the hostel, dorms were huge, had large beds and clean bathrooms with hot showers. the bar was great craic but yet rooms were still quiet and most of all the staff were great made you feel welcome and made sure u enjoyed yourself

Disliked: nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ives Batista

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 September 2011 Ives would recommend this property

Liked: FUN PLACE TO STAY

Disliked: BREAKFAST

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great showers and comfy beds, good bar with nice food

Disliked: internet and computers were very unreliable; shame that the bar has to close early now due to the noise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and the beds were huge and comfy

Disliked: Its definitely a party hostel so if you wanna get any sleep try somewhere else. There were no locks on any of the doors and one night some random people just came into the dorm room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big dorms, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, few blocks from main square, supermarket and cheap restuarants near by

Disliked: nothing i can think of

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katie Howlett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Pretty secure. Has a bar.

Disliked: If you like to wake up to the people in your room SPEWING ON THE FLOOR and DRY RETCHING IN THEIR BEDS FOR HOURS, then this is the place for you! This is the mentality that this hostel breeds, to get absolutely SMASHED in the bar (like a lot of hostels in Peru). Like, I am all up for getting really drunk while you're on holiday, and drunk we did get, but to the point where you can't make it to the toilet to spew? To be dry retching for hours making everyone in the beds around your's worry that you are spewing on their bags? What are we, 16 and drunk on Breezers again?!? To have people stumble in at 3am switching on the light, then leaving asking if you want the light left on when you are clearly ASLEEP because you want to get up at 6am to go on the Machu Picchu 4 day trek? Yeh. No. No thanks. The bathroom was dirty as, and was even worse after our "lovely" last night before we left (yes at 6am for the MP trek). Music pumps until 2-3am meaning even if you have partied for 2 weeks straight in this hostel, if you want a break and earlyiiiish night, you don't get it. I hate that. Either make the windows double glazed or the pub down stairs sound proofed but if you pay for a bed, you should be entitled to sleep well. Lastly, WHY ARE PEOPLE STILL ALLOWED TO SMOKE IN PUBS IN ANY COUNTRY?!? Fine, it's the government's decision but the pub should follow the rest of the civilised and smoking danger educated world! If you live in a country where smoking is banned inside, WHY WOULD YOU THINK SMOKING INSIDE IN A COUNTRY WHERE SMOKING ISNT BANNED IS OK!???!? HAS EDUCATION DONE NOTHING?!? ALL my clothes required washing after ONE wear (which is OK if the laundromat didn't cost an arm and a leg in any South American country), because of the smoking. Not to mention my hair stank absolutely gross the next morning and I had a cough like a 90 year old. Disgusting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Geoghegan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: it's huge and full of good people, good food, and stuff to do.

Disliked: it was so popular that it could have its off moments with busy staff and miscommunication, but they normally worked it out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Des Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Des would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good fun in the bar, very clean, and easy o meet people

Disliked: wifi can be down sometimes, but mostly its ok


See all Cusco hostels