We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Matara 261, Cusco, Peru -

81.3% Overall Rating

85 out of 97 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Ria Guidone thinks…

"Great staff, location, and a good place to party! Their luggage room is secure and well organised."

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that you must be 18y.o or over in order to check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 21 reviews
Kukuli Lodge B&B
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Qosqo
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
8.52 USD

Hostel 87.2% 23 reviews
Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
8.86 USD

Hostel 87.5% 55 reviews
The Point Cusco
7.80 USD

Hostel 76.8% 191 reviews
Yawarmaki Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
70.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

85 out of 97 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and secure, the staff were friendly although sometimes a bit too busy to answer your questions. The beds were beautiful and comfortable!

Disliked: I came here as a solo traveller and found it a bit difficult to meet anybody except in my dorm. I guess I would prefer to sit around listening to music, drinking and chatting to other travellers than 'partying hard and staying up all night woo'. There is a large common area but everyone is just sitting around using their laptops. So if you want to go it hard, this is the place for you. If not, well then just come for the comfy beds I guess...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Cushen

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: What a place, we were here for Christmas and New Years. Pure perfection, amazing parties, different themed nights, I met a hero of mine in John Lennon too...thanks guys for an unforgtettable time.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate dillane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing so helpful and friendly. The beds are super comfy and the foodis delicious. Stay here and you def won't be disappointed.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate dillane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing, so friendly . This hostel has a great homely atmosphere and has great food.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Manford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Sociable, fantastic staff, great activities and parties... hot water and peace and quiet when needed - everything you could want!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: let´s keep it simple...in a word...epic. you wanna party. here´s your place...done

Disliked: it´s all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Offringa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: I was sick while I stayed there so I didn't get to experience the legendary parties, but I didn't find it too loud. The bathrooms were cleaned very very often (believe me, I noticed).

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james burns

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: i couldnt fault the hostel, dorms were huge, had large beds and clean bathrooms with hot showers. the bar was great craic but yet rooms were still quiet and most of all the staff were great made you feel welcome and made sure u enjoyed yourself

Disliked: nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ives Batista

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 September 2011 Ives would recommend this property

Liked: FUN PLACE TO STAY

Disliked: BREAKFAST

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great showers and comfy beds, good bar with nice food

Disliked: internet and computers were very unreliable; shame that the bar has to close early now due to the noise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and the beds were huge and comfy

Disliked: Its definitely a party hostel so if you wanna get any sleep try somewhere else. There were no locks on any of the doors and one night some random people just came into the dorm room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big dorms, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, few blocks from main square, supermarket and cheap restuarants near by

Disliked: nothing i can think of

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katie Howlett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Pretty secure. Has a bar.

Disliked: If you like to wake up to the people in your room SPEWING ON THE FLOOR and DRY RETCHING IN THEIR BEDS FOR HOURS, then this is the place for you! This is the mentality that this hostel breeds, to get absolutely SMASHED in the bar (like a lot of hostels in Peru). Like, I am all up for getting really drunk while you're on holiday, and drunk we did get, but to the point where you can't make it to the toilet to spew? To be dry retching for hours making everyone in the beds around your's worry that you are spewing on their bags? What are we, 16 and drunk on Breezers again?!? To have people stumble in at 3am switching on the light, then leaving asking if you want the light left on when you are clearly ASLEEP because you want to get up at 6am to go on the Machu Picchu 4 day trek? Yeh. No. No thanks. The bathroom was dirty as, and was even worse after our "lovely" last night before we left (yes at 6am for the MP trek). Music pumps until 2-3am meaning even if you have partied for 2 weeks straight in this hostel, if you want a break and earlyiiiish night, you don't get it. I hate that. Either make the windows double glazed or the pub down stairs sound proofed but if you pay for a bed, you should be entitled to sleep well. Lastly, WHY ARE PEOPLE STILL ALLOWED TO SMOKE IN PUBS IN ANY COUNTRY?!? Fine, it's the government's decision but the pub should follow the rest of the civilised and smoking danger educated world! If you live in a country where smoking is banned inside, WHY WOULD YOU THINK SMOKING INSIDE IN A COUNTRY WHERE SMOKING ISNT BANNED IS OK!???!? HAS EDUCATION DONE NOTHING?!? ALL my clothes required washing after ONE wear (which is OK if the laundromat didn't cost an arm and a leg in any South American country), because of the smoking. Not to mention my hair stank absolutely gross the next morning and I had a cough like a 90 year old. Disgusting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Geoghegan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: it's huge and full of good people, good food, and stuff to do.

Disliked: it was so popular that it could have its off moments with busy staff and miscommunication, but they normally worked it out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Des Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Des would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good fun in the bar, very clean, and easy o meet people

Disliked: wifi can be down sometimes, but mostly its ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garnet Carpenter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Garnet would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing. Somehow they´ve managed to combine an awesome party scene with quiet rooms to sleep in, super comfy beds, hot hot showers, great food in the bar and clean as a whistle. The only trap is that this hostel is so comfortable and fun, you might miss seeing Cusco because you never left the hostel.

Disliked: I had to leave

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Benites

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 June 2011 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: So much fun, friendly people, good bar, good food, good caipiriñass

Disliked: nothing¡¡¡¡

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Foley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! The only place to stay in Cusco! Always something happening. Really hard place to leave!!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Gentile

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: El mejor hostel en el que estuve. Las camas son geniales y el staff mucho mejor. El bar es de lo mejor tambien. Es totalmente recomendable.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashley twamley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 ashley would recommend this property

Liked: good party hostel. nice and clean and very good beds

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Vermont

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, wicked bar, great food, comedy staff, good prices..... Loved it!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick kett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The wild rover hostel is a great to stay.. the staff are fantastic.. the bar is the place to be.. food is as great, just like home and there is always something on every night in the bar.. not for the tame hearted or people with pacemakers :-) and a great place to meet people.. the rooms and hostel was always clean and secure.. and all round must go to..

Disliked: none..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the beds were so comfy with great pillows and cozy doona´s. the bar food was great, drinks were flowing, although watch out for happy hour they will really knock you off your feet. friendly but slightly crazy bar staff. tv room was pretty cool. cool common areas.

Disliked: tv room was great but was too close to the bar, so noisey. breakfast started too late 8am and was boring bread and jam and to order a something different you have to wait till 10am to order. the rooms were noisey if people were around. the place echos.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shai Trinczer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2011 Shai would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place... One of the best I've been to. Clean all the time great location and the bar is awesome This is the place in Cuzco

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mads Langager Larsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 Mads Langager would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to meet people!!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Cusco hostels