We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Calle Matara 261, Cusco, Peru -

81.3% Overall Rating

85 out of 97 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Ria Guidone thinks…

"Great staff, location, and a good place to party! Their luggage room is secure and well organised."

Read all Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that you must be 18y.o or over in order to check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 21 reviews
Kukuli Lodge B&B
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Qosqo
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
8.52 USD

Hostel 87.2% 23 reviews
Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
8.86 USD

Hostel 88.1% 54 reviews
The Point Cusco
7.80 USD

Hostel 76.8% 191 reviews
Yawarmaki Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
70.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

85 out of 97 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Piotr Kozak

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: the beds were very comfy, by offering many other rooms you can find that a bedroom is just for sleeping, so you don't have problems with people doing something there, it was always dark there so you could go sleep at anytime! they have a good taste of music thou!

Disliked: no sockets by every bed :) the only thing that comes to my mind..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you wanna party and have a good time, you should definetely go to WR

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012

Liked: staff and free internet access

Disliked: gringo party hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Hynes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hannah Colder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar! With cheap beer and English food. The place to come if you want to party!

Disliked: Do not come here if you want to sleep! This clearly says it is a party hostel, and they do not lie!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: a cracking place with a great squad of staff, everyone very helpfull and just a great time had here, plenty of fond memories gained and will be a shame to say goodbye, overall spot on as is a clean and safe hostel, with plenty of carnage to be had at the bar, thanks to everyone for looking after me and my pals, and also collom for the loan of the kilt, dancing in the dark will always remind me of this cracking place, throughly reccommend it to anyone travelling to cusco

Disliked: the irish pool sharks who damaged my tab even more

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yuma muratalla

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 yuma would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: cant come here if you plan on getting some rest. come here to be drunk 24 hours a day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIH HSIU HUANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 SHIH HSIU would recommend this property

Liked: quite clean friendly reliable and comprehensive info. on tour good service the table tennis table on the center is quite fun

Disliked: They owned a bar themselves, so it's not that welcome to bring alcoholic drinks from supermarket, where things are cheaper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of fun for the young traveler, definitely not somewhere to stay if you just want to sleep (though I had no problems going to sleep early on occasional nights). Bar is always packed, ping pong tables and common areas are great places to socialize. Just a really great overall place to hang out as a young traveler. And great location as well, just a few minutes from the main plaza and main street.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Wrigley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 July 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: One big party. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. VERY comfy beds. Very clean and new. Fantastic hostel overall. The bar is good but busier on some nights than others, always a good place to start the night though.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds, good bar, cheap, hot shower in my 8 bed dorm which was a bonus!

Disliked: Nothing really, it's a wild rover, it's loud but you know to expect that!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere!

Disliked: Wifi is very unstable...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, comfy beds, free bread rolls with jam and coffee and tea 8am-12pm, cleaners available 24/7, good atmosphere - pool table, ping pong table, tourist info at hostel, close to everything, friendly staff. The hostel is safe but you the door to your room has to be unlocked at all times. (large lockers for your stuff but need your own padlock - the small ones don't fit though)

Disliked: Limited internet in rooms. Slow connection most of the time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big warm comfy beds! Met some amazing people too. Beware those who want sleep this is a party hostel so don't stay here if you want some good shut eye. Although it is a little quieter mid-week opposed to the weekend. All the staff are lovely too, food served at the bar is good and great value although you can eat well in Cusco generally cause it's so touristy. Breakfast is the same old bread, butter, jam, tea and coffee. Not as crazy as the La Paz one but the bar is bigger so you have room to move too. Can't say any more good things loved my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great bar

Disliked: everything is great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dixon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we've stayed in on our travels! The place is immaculate, the beds very comfy, the food like proper Irish food(try the shepards pie!) and the staff are friendly and helpful! You get to meet so many people here and there's always something happening in the bar for a great night. The owners work there so everything runs smoothly...if I had a hostel I'd run it like these Irish lads-great place!!!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2012

Liked: The Beds were extremely comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: This is definitely a party hostel which is great but there is no quiet time and it is normally very loud until about 4 am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Lundstrom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi, nice bar with good prices on both food and drinks.

Disliked: No kitchen, The staff who checked us in wasent friendly at all didnt even show us around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Cazot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Although it´s a party hostel, sleeping wasn´t a problem. It´s a mecca for all different nationalities and types of people, great place to stay near the centre of Cusco.

Disliked: I didn´t dislike anything, but I wasn´t too happy about them keeping my passport because I didn´t have a large backpack with me. I was told it was for security...but that didn´t bother me too much, just thought it was a little irregular!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome chill out lounge, nice bar, clean and comfy and good for parties

Disliked: food could be better

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012

Liked: There were plenty of computers, a place to store and charge valuables, and they let you leave your stuff while hiking the Inca Trail.

Disliked: We thought it was just bad luck, but the night before our Inca Trail trip was the night before St. Patrick's Day, and this Irish hostel was partying in full force. We could hear everything from our room. Then when we returned in the middle of the week, we thought we'd be okay, but again it was an all-night party which we could hear. Plus there was no kitchen for general use.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, spacious patio/common area, good beds

Disliked: can be loud (party hostel), despite the cleaning is filthied up fairly fast, the staff cheats you out on small things which is annoying

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff. It has a party vibe to it, but sleeping wasn't an issue.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is pretty close to the center. It has spacious rooms and cosy beds. The younger staff is really helpful and friendly!!! There is a free use of three computers and free luggage storage for a maximum of one week!

Disliked: If you are looking for a place to relax, search for an other place to stay because the hostel is pretty crowded and loud especially during night time. The older security guy at the front door being extremely harsh to the travellers. If you plan on booking a tour....definitely AVOID the travel agency "Southern Peru Explorers" at this hostel. The guys just take your money without doing their job properly!!! And the prices there are extremely high in comparison to other places!!!


See all Cusco hostels