We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hostel Jacaranda Inn

Hostel | 216 choquechaca, San Blas, Cusco, Peru .

77.9% Overall Rating

58 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2012)

Gary Grono thinks…

"very close to the main plaza and all the amenities. Great breakfast...loved the eggs and bread and lots to eat. Enjoyed having access to hot water and tea throughout our stay. Helpful, accomodating…"

Read all Hostel Jacaranda Inn reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that private rooms are with shared bathrooms. Private ensuite rooms are with a bathroom inside the room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

THOMAS GRILL-GARDEN
8.52 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 4 reviews
Hospedaje Pumacurco
5.30 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 4 reviews
Backpacker La Boheme
10.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Samani
13.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bright Hostel Cusco
6.99 USD

Hostel 65.9% 40 reviews
Tierra del Inka
27.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Second Home Cusco
60.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal San Blas
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

58 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Jacaranda Inn'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Grono

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the main plaza and all the amenities. Great breakfast...loved the eggs and bread and lots to eat. Enjoyed having access to hot water and tea throughout our stay. Helpful, accomodating and kind hosts. Heavy wool blankets on the beds and very clean.

Disliked: Rooms the first night on the front and very noisy all night, however when we asked if we could move to the back of the building there was no problem or change in cost.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samir Goel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Samir would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to Plaza de Armas and other restaurants. Staff tried to be helpful.

Disliked: Showers! The room was a bit cold as well and there is no heat. also, when we ordered breakfast the first day, it took forever as they had to go grocery shopping before making breakfast which almost made us late for our tour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all, great hostel credit to the staff who went the extra distance to ensure that our questions were answered above and beyond what we expected. The location is pretty central in terms of the tourist area, and there are many great places to eat very close by .The streets at night are all lit on the way to the hostel as well so even if you go out at night, it feels relatively safe. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just 2 minutes from the plaza,friendly staff,real hot showers,warm comfy beds and great wi-fi.value plus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lewin Schmitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Lewin would recommend this property

Liked: The beds

Disliked: A little cold at night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and well kept, not too noisy, which is what I was looking for. The first room I stayed in was great and a good deal for the money. It is close to the main square. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: I returned after my Inca Trail trip and stayed in a different room - the dorm room. I was the only one in the room, which was nice, but the sink or something was leaking in the bathroom, so there was a constant puddle in the bathroom. The hot water is hit or miss, but I expected that based on other reviews.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location.

Disliked: Not very clean. Didn't clean the bathroon in four days. It was quite disgusting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm had single beds with its own little balcony. A full breakfast. The location was close to the plaza de armas and two good museums. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful although we had to rely on Google Translate at times as I don't speak Spanish.

Disliked: A bin, hooks, and a mirror in the dorm would be really helpful. One blanket on the bed was not enough to keep me warm at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alla Burlyaeva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Alla would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff. I've been late for the breakfast for 1 hour (!), but they was so kind and served the breakfast specially for me! Really hot shower. Comfortable big bed. Clean.

Disliked: A bit cold in the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has definetely really good locations. It is just 2 blocks away from Plaza de Armas. It is cheap, but you shouldn´t expect too much... It is value for money.

Disliked: I didn´t like the attitude of staff. They weren´t helpful at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Let us leave our bags for 2 days very clean! Don't come here if u want to party!

Disliked: Lady who does breakfast is rude!!! Rolls her eyes at every thing! Waited 5 mins once to get the door opened

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cassandra Bordin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: great property if you're looking for something centrally located (great position!). we stayed in a private room and it was clean, comfortable & warm (including hot water!) but if you're after atmosphere and meeting travellers this isnt the place for you. was like a small hotel which wa great for us.

Disliked: dont rely on the laundry service for same day/urgent, but that's just Cusco in general. Hostel in general is great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Treby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was nice and bathrooms super clean. Excellent location! Wifi very good, and staff were helpful.

Disliked: Didn't see a common area or kitchen or anything while I was there, although perhaps I needed to look around a bit??

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011

Liked: it´s save

Disliked: it´s cold inside, cold water shower. we order the breakfast at our arrival in the mornig at 6 o´clock, because we want to go to machu piccu and they say that is no problem. in the morning of the next day we went down and ask where we get the breakfast, and the only answer that breakfast starts at 8 so we don´t get breakfast and the wouldn´t gave us the money back for that. after a few minutes talking we get the money back.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A safe and comfortable, though characterless, place with real hot showers. The owner was helpful and let me leave my bags in secure storage after my stay.

Disliked: Too-soft beds and squishy-soft pillows. Zero "charm" in either the building or the staff. No areas to socialize; it's all just rooms (but nice and quiet because of that). The owner "forgot" that I paid and asked for payment the day I checked out; he eventually remembered. Get a receipt!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Excellent WIFI. Nice breakfast, bread, jam, eggs, tea and coffee. Big room. Communal bathrooms cleaned daily and hot showers.

Disliked: No much atmosphere. Cant use kitchen to cook.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, breakfast included eggs, they gave a towel, it was quiet at night, there was free internet

Disliked: long way to the bathroom

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

emma overton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 emma would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, hot showers 24/7, tho at times there was no toilet paper and floor was dirty, wifi was fantastic worked in my room at the top, i would recommed to stay here if ytou dont want a party hostel.

Disliked: when i arrived i felt the girl was unhappy and i was given no info about breakfast etc, tho its my falt for not knowing spainsh. everyone else was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here after the inca trail and I was very well received. The location is good, just 2 minutes from the main square. The place is quiet, the room is comfortable and clean,good hot showers,free wi fi.Highly recommend!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good showers, good location close to main square

Disliked: had to pay (a small amount) for internet, whereas other hostels in the area provided it for free

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steven Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, great location. Very friendly staff got up specially to cook us breakfast at 5am before we left for the Inca trail, and the breakfast is very good. Showers good for electric ones (if its cold make sure the flip switch is on).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zane Palmer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Zane would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is excellent value for money in Cusco! It was really clean and tidy with the bathrooms being cleaned everyday. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the location was also good. They had internet,wi fii, big comfy beds and breakfast included (which had a different menu each day) We would deffinately recommend this lovely hostel!

Disliked: You could sometimes be woken by neighbours getting up early for the Inka trail banging about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds,good showers,internet,friendy staff,secure location.perfect for after the inka trail

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, unlimited coca tea, outstanding service, clean bedrooms & bathrooms, hot water. I felt completely comfortable and safe staying here. They even have a beautiful courtyard where you can sit and relax. It's the perfect place to stay in Cusco.

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful and pays atencion to who enters the hostel. The location is good.

Disliked: Couldn't lock the door of the shared bathroom.


See all Cusco hostels