HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Ecopackers

Hostel | Santa Teresa #375, Cusco, Peru 8002

92.8% Overall Rating

121 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/06/2014)

Jean Michel Lemay thinks…

"A and K room very big private! Fantastic Lovely atmosphere with a lot of energy Deposit for the bags during the expedition Bar, breakfast, kitchen with very good food"

Read all Ecopackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostal Intiwasi
21.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 4 reviews
Hotel Cáceres
6.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 58 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Cusco
10.00 USD

Hostel 74.9% 10 reviews
Pirwa Backpackers Colonial
7.70 USD

Hostel 80.0% 101 reviews
Monte Horeb Hospedaje
19.73 USD

Hostel 89.5% 367 reviews
Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Cusco
10.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 32 reviews
Chakana House BackPackers Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Royal Qosqo
16.15 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

121 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ecopackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jean Michel Lemay

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

07 June 2014 Jean Michel would recommend this property

Liked: A and K room very big private! Fantastic Lovely atmosphere with a lot of energy Deposit for the bags during the expedition Bar, breakfast, kitchen with very good food

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alles war echt super

Disliked: War ein bisschen teuer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nell Ranken Perrott

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

20 May 2014 Nell would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at ecopackers. Even though we were in the 18 bed dorm there were rarely noise issues. Lockers in the rooms, each bed is assigned one. Atmosphere is great, and staff were really friendly and helpful- we were able to book our bus to Puno easily from the on site travel agency. Storage room for your luggage when you go to Machu Picchu. Bathrooms were clean and the showers always had hot water! Nice courtyard in the middle with table football and ping pong.

Disliked: The one bad thing is that the kitchen is tiny, but it's still useable and since there's so many cheap resteraunts nearby we didn't find it that much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Visita a una gran ciudad
Relajación/Spa
Turismo cultural

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Große abschließbare Fächer, sehr günstiges und gutes essen, wunderschöne Unterkunft in perfekter Lage

Disliked: Sehr kleine Küche zum selber kochen..kein Geschirr dafür vorhanden..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mauricio Diazgranados

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

25 March 2014 Mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place and location.

Disliked: My only comment is that my bed had fleas...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice.

Disliked: Party atmosphere.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to plaza de Armas, beautiful courtyard, helpful staff. We were able to leave our backpacks at no additional cost for 24 hours while we visited Machu Picchu.

Disliked: We were in the 4 bed dorm "L" and tried to go to sleep early on a Thursday night which was impossible. They blasted very loud music from both courtyards until 11pm. In addition the room was right opposite the mixed bathroom and you can hear every time somebody uses the urinal, flushes the toilet, showers or uses the sink. There is no table,no hook to hang your stuff, no shelve in the room, only your bed and a locker. I also found long black hairs on my pillow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con un grupo grande / organizado

Turismo cultural

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and the staff were also great. There was a cute little kitten and the bar upstairs was nice. Also, I liked that they had a basic breakfast for those heading to Machu Picchu on the first bus.

Disliked: The bathroom was not the cleanist bathroom, but I have definitely seen and stayed in a lot worse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Savanna DeLuca

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

28 July 2013 Savanna would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eric, the owner, was so hospitable and the free welcome drink was a nice touch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Carroll

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural

21 May 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: This is possibly the best hostel I stayed in in my 5-week trip to Bolivia and Peru! Large TV room, good wi-fi (3 computers if you don't have a laptop/smartphone), awesome bar, large lockers in dorm rooms, table football and table tennis. Bathrooms are kept really clean even though they are communal and I always had hot water. Really helpful staff and a great atmosphere with loads of places to chill out. Have recommended this place to so many people I met!

Disliked: The only small drawback was that the kitchen was very small, but the bar does pretty good and cheap food and there are loads of other places to go and eat so didn't feel the need to cook while I was there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

En familia con niños

Vacaciones en familia
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, especially Balvena Denis, was very helpful and friendly, the atmosphere great as well as the location. I would greatly recommend this place to anybody young at heart.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

aline ribeiro

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

01 May 2013 aline would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable beds, sheets and blanket smell so nice and fresh, helpful friendly staff, recommended.

Disliked: aline left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Fiesta / Ambiente nocturno
Turismo cultural

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great courtyard with hammocks, chairs and tables, where people sat out into the evening. Popular bar with live music at the weekends, cheap drinks. Communal toilet and shower block which was cleaned super regularly and was spotless - although the urinals are right by the sinks and it's not separate for girls and guys. Amazingly hot and powerful showers.

Disliked: I was ill on two of the nights I stayed, so it wasn't great that my room backed onto the bar and looked out onto the courtyard, people were coming and going until about 1am. However maybe not a fair comment as if I'd been well I would have been out there myself! Staff on the front desk seemed to be different every few hours and didn't all seem as clued up as each other.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

29 March 2013

Liked: I think this property has nice clean rooms in a big beautiful house. The location is pretty good too - close to the main square.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that the music and sound of people talking was so loud that I was not able to sleep until well after midnight both nights I stayed there. (Before and after the Inca Trail). My private room K is obviously not a good choice because the bathroom is connected to the restaurant bar area where you can basically hear every conversation going on in the bar. I really have never experienced such a loud hostel. When we arrived on Sunday, there was very loud music playing in the beautiful courtyard area which in my opinion took away from some of the ambiance. I got a little nervous about this noise and asked the reception people when the music would be turned off and they told me 8 or 9 at the latest. The music was not turned off at this time and I did not have a great night. The same thing happened on Thursday night although I believe they turned the music down or off as I was mainly hearing lots of loud talking. My husband was able to sleep both nights (we were exhausted from travel and doing the Inca trail) - though he did wake up frequently. I am somewhat of a light sleeper, but I have stayed in many hostels and noise has never been such a problem as it was in this hostel. I hope the management can do something to insulate room K from the noise because I only read 1-2 review complaining about the noise when I booked this room so maybe it is only that room that has the problem... We did get 50 % off our 2nd night because of the noise.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Trabajo / Voluntariado

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EcoPackers is a great hostel, especially to meet other travellers. It is a great starting point to start a night out in Cusco or to explore different travel/ adventure opportunities. The staff at Ecopackers were incredibly helpful. Yenivel, one of the girls who helps with breakfast and lunch, was particularly sweet and made our stay here really special! Would recommend this place to any young person travelling Peru looking to have a good time and explore the city of Cusco.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Heistad

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

05 March 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is EXCELLENT, and im picky with hostels. The beds and rooms are VERY clean, and the atmosphere is great! They have a little bar and its good for meeting people at this hostel.

Disliked: have to wait for check in but thats not too bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had a so-so time here at the hostel. The location is perfect and the cleaning crew was really nice. The room (female dorm) was clean and they cleaned the bathrooms multiple times a day to try and keep it clean because people were so messy. The free breakfast was the usual simple; you could purchase hot food if you wanted. Great social environment if that is what you are looking for: pool tables, i think i heard karaoke one night, tv, ping pong tables, nice deck in the middle of the building.

Disliked: There was only one outlet in the whole room (6 people); the extra ones were outside, but why would I want to do that if it's cold outside or i want to charge it while i'm doing something else. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were not that friendly. The reception staff was helpful but the restaurant staff seemed more interested in partying and socializing with themselves only. I decided to eat elsewhere, so problem solved. But I would stay here again and even recommend it to others, just set expectations.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mariangela massari

Viajero independiente

Turismo cultural

28 February 2013 mariangela would recommend this property

Liked: it's a big place with his own restaurant, travel agency and common spaces to hang out and chat with other travellers, staff is helpful and friendly

Disliked: it gets crowded and noisy during week ends, i was there on a sunday and loud music was on all day long, hot water finished early as the place was overcrowded with two groups, one of these groups spent the night with sleeping bags in the living room... tour agency inside sold me a tour that was a tourist trap, the "sacred valley tour": only 2 archeological places visited and plenty of time spent in a fake silver factory, in a fake local market, and in a pricey restaurant where lunch was not included, you had to pay 10$, no other lunch options available as it was in a place out of nowhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice building and good facilities. Great location. Awesome movie room.

Disliked: It is a little cold in the rooms and walking between your room and the bathrooms after a shower/ at night is chilly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Viajero independiente

Turismo cultural

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, everything you hope for in a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Fiesta / Ambiente nocturno
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large shared dorms, personal lockers, very secure. Nice courtyard area and good bar.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit iffy but apart from that, a great hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Internet conection


See all Cusco hostels