We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Pariwana Backpacker Cusco

Hostel | Mesón de la Estrella 136, Cusco, Peru .

94.3% Overall Rating

268 out of 276 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2015)

"comfy beds, good hot showers. very clean. friendly and attentive staff, especially the cleaners who never seemed to stop cleaning and always greeted me with a big smile. free breakfast. sociable atmosphere with lots of…"

Read all Pariwana Backpacker Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

The Point Cusco
8.33 USD

Hostel 76.8% 191 reviews
Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
7.77 USD

Hostel 89.5% 70 reviews
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
5.97 USD

Hostel 88.5% 29 reviews
Ecopackers
11.80 USD

Hostel 90.3% 142 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
6.27 USD

Hostel 83.9% 111 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
Net House B&B
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pirwa Backpackers Colonial
8.00 USD

Hostel 80.8% 108 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

268 out of 276 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pariwana Backpacker Cusco'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 223 of 271 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huot Iv

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2015 Huot would recommend this property

Liked: social place and easy to meet people

Disliked: they had trouble giving recommendations on finding things. For example I asked where I could find some tourist souvenirs but they couldn't come up with anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Fun.

Disliked: Can be noisy at times

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

FERNANDA RIBEIRO DE LIMA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2015 FERNANDA would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: FERNANDA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2015

Liked: comfy beds, good hot showers. very clean. friendly and attentive staff, especially the cleaners who never seemed to stop cleaning and always greeted me with a big smile. free breakfast. sociable atmosphere with lots of places to hang out/relax. plug sockets inside lockers. really fun party on Saturday night. secure baggage storage.

Disliked: 1. the signs outside every room and the big blackboard advertised yoga classes on Tuesday and Thursday mornings, but it turned out there was no yoga as they 'don't have a teacher at the moment'. no-one told me this until i arrived at the meeting point ready for the class, then went to reception to ask about it- despite the fact that I expressed my interest when checking in. 2. the 'live music' on Friday and Sunday nights is the same band playing the exact same songs. 3. the 'bbq' on Sunday night was just food that one might cook on a BBQ, but cooked normally in an oven/grill. they told my boyfriend it was 'not possible' to exchange his pork chop (which he doesn't eat for religious reasons) for something else and then his burger was undercooked. 4. almosy all of the computers stopped working for several days. 5. the hostel is basically too big so there's always a queue at reception 6. I accidentally left some stuff in a locker by reception and only realised when I was on the bus to Puno. I emailed the hostel to ask whether there was a way they could send my stuff to me and they never replied to 3 emails. 7. in the 6 nights I was there, someone stole: nearly an entire pack of our butter all that was left of our cream cheese, leaving the box my tin of condensed milk ripped our packet of bread open and stole nearly all the bread, leaving broken pieces in the bottom (all this food was labelled and dated) my flannel that I left in the room someone else's entire bag of toiletries that they left in the bathroom. I informed a staff member about the food that was stolen and they said they'd check the CCTV and, if they caught the person and they were a guest at the hostel, make them pay for our food. However they never got back to me about this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JADER ALBUQUERQUE

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 JADER would recommend this property

Liked: O lugar tem uma energia muito boa, várias atividades oferecidas pelo hostel e sempre proativos para resolver os problemas.

Disliked: A internet não funciona dentro do quarto.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramez Salama

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015 Ramez would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very helpful, and very clean Hostel. Good Value. Highly recommend. I really enjoyed all the services that had been provided. I Will stay there again for Sure.

Disliked: The Rooms has No windows for the building is colonial style, so they can't change it ... so if you are asmatic you need to tell them in advance so you can have room with a window. The Music at Night is a bit loud

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Raymond Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Power socket inside locker.

Disliked: a bit cramped in the dorm room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2015 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere, lovely staff, great facilities and location, super warm blankets and comfortable beds

Disliked: The included breakfast was a bit basic, but very similar in other hostels

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place and pretty big for a hostel so everyone can find their own spot

Disliked: The tour agency was charging more than you could find anywhere else...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Henry Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Queirós

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The way its build, on and old claustrum, is absolutely delightfull. We only stayed for 2 day so we couldn't enjoy the activities that the hostel had to offer: barbeque, parties and so forth. A really good value for money, no doubt.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi was not working very well. Thats about it!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014

Liked: Cool vibe, neat decor and painting, soft/clean bedding, and quiet for sleeping, but loud if you head to the bar/common areas.

Disliked: Took 20+ minutes to get anything done (check-in/out, ask questions, get help, etc.) because there's almost always a line out the door at reception, no hot water, the sinks don't stay on so when you wash your face you have to keep pressing the knob every few seconds, the bathroom is just open to the entire common area. It's one thing to share restrooms with a few people who are in the restroom at the same time, but another to share with everyone at the hostel. No dry areas to set your bag down. The workers don't listen when you ask a question or try to explain anything. There is no nice place to hang out...the courtyard gets very cold at night and the upstairs common areas close. WORST THING: you only get wifi outside. So basically, you freeze long enough to send one email, then go scurrying back to your room. (You can get wifi in one other room but the chairs are taken 24/7 - mostly by people sleeping in there.)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Widjojo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room with bathroom and found this better than other hotels we have stayed at for the same price. We are older than the average age if backpackers but found this place catered for all types of travellers. Service,security, cleanliness and atmosphere was excellent.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VIVIANA TOBON

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 VIVIANA would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Cool atmosfere, super kind staff, great location, warm bed, cool and diverse spots to hang out in the hostel. One of the best hostels I've been to.

Disliked: VIVIANA left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fun staff, great food, fun bar, storage lockers with power outlets in room, helpful travel agency service.

Disliked: Make sure you confirm the time you arrive. You may not get the room size you requested (8 person room, 6 person, etc)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenda Lee

Alone

Events / festivals

11 July 2014 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor Wifi

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillaume St-Denis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 July 2014 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Beerpong champion... lots of fun great people!!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Fábio Viana Chagas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2014 Francisco Fábio would recommend this property

Liked: Local muito agradável, muitos banheiros e ambientes limpos.

Disliked: Nenhum ponto negativo durante minha estadia

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ravi Prakash

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2014 Ravi would recommend this property

Liked: secure lockers that had power points

Disliked: staff were always in a rush/very busy

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Munoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time! Had a private suite but still met a lot of people . Props to the staff for being very accommodateing.

Disliked: Raymond left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Benjamin Ee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, big projector t.v. for football matches. Fantastic location in downtown Cusco.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good mix of social and chill out unlike the other hostels I visited in the area. Gives you the options. Good Wi-fi access.

Disliked: The members of staff, bar 1 or 2, always seemed very put out to help you. not friendly at all, despite having best staff of 2013 certificate on the wall, I can only assume they all left!! This was the view of a lot of fellow guests their.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew McAndrew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - good facilities, atmosphere, friendly staff, good value for money. They safely store your luggage whilst you are off touring around the area, and the baggage room is locked and under video surveillance.

Disliked: Nickname is partywana - loud, terrible pop and dance music blasting until 2am on saturday night makes sleeping difficult, which is annoying if you have to get up early to travel to machu picchu.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cavanagh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel - really cool building with spacious dorms, lots going on, and great food and drinks. The location was perfect too, and the reception staff really lovely. I had a really fun time here.

Disliked: Wifi could be a bit iffy, but it wasn't enough of a problem to impact my stay, and besides, they have free-to-use computers which were always working just fine.

The property's response is...


See all Cusco hostels