HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Monte Horeb Hospedaje

Hostel | San Juan de Dios 260, Cusco, Peru .

89.6% Overall Rating

340 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2012)

wai ling au thinks…

"definitely the staff. they were friendly, helpful and attentive. we went on the inca trail and were able to store our luggage for 4 days for free, but probably because we booked another 2 nights with…"

Read all Monte Horeb Hospedaje reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 2.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hotel Cáceres
6.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 58 reviews
Hostal Intiwasi
21.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 4 reviews
Pirwa Posada del Corregidor
14.50 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 40 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Suecia
11.60 USD

Hostel 82.4% 40 reviews
The WalkOn Inn
9.50 USD

Hostel 87.0% 170 reviews
Ecopackers
11.80 USD

Hostel 90.4% 133 reviews
Hotel Royal Qosqo
21.29 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Cusco
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

340 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Monte Horeb Hospedaje'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 296 of 303 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, helpfull staff

Disliked: no atmosphere at all. Rooms are very light in the morning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff! Clean, quiet, relaxing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PICHAI CHEVASUTHO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

01 June 2012 PICHAI would recommend this property

Liked: freindly staff, quiet, not far from the main plaza

Disliked: the lighting in the room is too few

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wai ling au

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2012 wai ling would recommend this property

Liked: definitely the staff. they were friendly, helpful and attentive. we went on the inca trail and were able to store our luggage for 4 days for free, but probably because we booked another 2 nights with them. breakfast was simple but adequate. also there is a tv in the room with cable. nice to chill out.

Disliked: The rooms are cold. but there are plenty of bedcovers and quilts to keep you warm during the night. the 1st time we stayed at the hostel, the shower was terrible. very bad pressure and lukewarm temperature. the 2nd time we stayed however, the shower was a lot better so best to ask when you book.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angelo Antonio A Lozada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Angelo Antonio A would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!!...location is great, staff is awesome, clean....you should stay here while in Cusco, defenitely! Oh yes, there is hot water for shower, it is a must in because the weather is cold.

Disliked: when i walk the wood floor squicks :(

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012

Liked: Room and bathroom were big. Beds were comfortable and warm.

Disliked: Price was a bit high for what you get.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... the location is perfect, the staff more than helpful. It's quiet and beautifully appointed with antiques.

Disliked: The bathroom in our room was a little tired, but nothing major to remark on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The rooms clean and the beds mighty comfy. I cant recommend this place more if you want a quite little hostel, not a party hostel.

Disliked: Breakfast was basic but tea and coffee all day was good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was in a great location, always had hot water and the breakfast was simple but good.

Disliked: Bit quiet and we didnt meet any other travellers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just 2 blocks from the Plaza. Very clean. Great staff. Breakfast basic, but free. Wifi reasonable speeds

Disliked: Front room with balcony is horribly noisy from street & nightclub downstairs. Second room at front is slightly quieter. Third night I got switched to room behind lounge, fantastic. Don't take one of the front rooms & you'll get a good sleep

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable and property location was great. Wifi was good too.

Disliked: Average breakfast, wouldn't bank on filling up!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011

Liked: Location is great-about 3 minutes walk from Plaza de Armas. Staff were very friendly and helpful Great Cable TV in room Beds were comfortable Cleanliness was good Place felt safe-big gates and staff would open the door to let you in.

Disliked: Shower was worst we had in a while-water got warm but there was only a drip of water coming out and it was not hot enough to add cold water. Room was very cold due to old windows not closing properly, we were offered other rooms (which was nice) but decided to stay as the others had no windows. To be fair though, we were offered extra blankets by staff. Interior of rooms was a little dated,We had one double and one single bed in the room which made it a little bit crammed but comfortable enough. Breakfast was eggs(scrambled or fried) with bread butter and jam and a choice of tea or coffee, this was served to us but the portions were not very big. We stayed on a weekend night and the place next door had party so it was not exactly quiet (but that might not happen every night.) We had stayed in another hostel ( El Tuco) before coming here and I guess we felt that compared to what we had paid there (approximately half) we expected more for the money we paid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anjali Samani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Anjali would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff are fantastic - really helpful and very keen to accommodate all our needs and requests. The breakfast basic and in line with that all other hostels. We'd had a long flight (24h+) and were absolutely famished and suffering from altitude sickness - the staff were happy to give us more food (within reason, of course) and the coco tea kept coming as we requested it. The hostel has hot water, which is fantastic because it was really cold in Cusco. The hostel also provided us with extra blankets because we were so cold. You can also get electrical heater at an extra cost, but with all the blankets we didn't really need it. All in all, a great experience.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Close to main square.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Booked the first couple of nights in Cusco here to hold us over as we searched for a Machu Picchu trek. Once that was booked, we knew we were going to want to spend a few more nights in Cusco after we returned to explore the town. We were very happy with our stay thus far at Monte Horeb (e.g. they were up to let us in at 4:30am when we arrived in Cusco, did our laundry, were extremely helpful). However, we wanted to see if we could get a better deal for a double en suite. We literally scoured the town, visiting at least 5 different hostels in person and we couldn´t find one that compared in price, comfort or location. We ended up booking 6 additional days upon our return from the trek and couldn´t have been happier!

Disliked: absolutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antoine Briot

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Antoine would recommend this property

Liked: Tinny hostels in the city centre, very friendly staff, helpful, practical way to know Cusco.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service is genuine, the staff made us feel at home. The value is great, they have Wifi included which was very important to me!. They also organized all our tours. Great place to stay in Cusco.

Disliked: nothing, all was really good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and really friendly staff who also speak english. emma and her staff made us feel at home. the rooms are big, very clean and all have free wireless. good breakfast as well.

Disliked: enjoyed our experience

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2011

Liked: the location was good and the hostel safe breakfast was ok- eggs and bread but the fresh fruit juice was lovely!

Disliked: (1) the room was totally freezing making it impossible to relax. I had to wear thermal underwear at night and sleep in a mummy liner (2) we used the washing facilities as you couldn´t wash things in the sink and frankly there is no way they would have dried. Unfortunately my expensive pair of craghoppers went missing and we were told we hadn´t sent them to the washing outlet.. yeah right ... they were stollen for sure! no compensation was offered. (3) The showers were luke warm and you were given a hand towel to dry yourself. very unpleasant as the room was so cold it was pretty miserable. We did challenge the temperature of the water and was told this was as hot as it got!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011

Liked: the women that run the place were trying to do their best. the location is very convenient.

Disliked: the place is very old and not well kept. one rainy night i found myself in a very wet bed and room.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Location Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Everything was good for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrick Kraehenbuehl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: thanks for the friendly stuf!!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and friendly. When I arrived, they had put up a small welcome sign on a black board by the door. They are also always very prompt at all my request and was very flexible when we had to move the dates around. The room was clean with an attached water. and we have chocolates on the pillow on the first day. When we went to the inca trek, we left our bags with them including inside are laptops, camera etc but everything was returned and we felt quite safe throughout

Disliked: I stayed in the summer but I can imagine in the winter it can get cold because the room doesn't have good insulation. The blanket that they provide is very warm but a heater would have cost extra. Also throughout our stay we didn't run into any other guests except for one couple so it's not that lively. The most annoying thing is that there is a bar around the corner which means that at night some random drunk person would walk pass the hotel and make a lot of noise (our room was overlooking the street with its own balcony, room 201)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Emma, Louis and the entire team had an excellent disposition!!! We went for 3 days and finally stayed for 10 days! They always helped us, showed us how to get to various places, go by bus to other towns ... etc. The place is very well located, just 2 blocks from the square, and is very safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels