HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Casa De La Gringa

Hostel | San Blas Corner Tandapata & Pasnapacana 148, Cusco, Peru .

81.6% Overall Rating

60 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2012)

"The hostel itself was nice and very quiet. Breakfast was very good. Shared toilet & shower were clean."

Read all Casa De La Gringa reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hostel El Grial
24.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 54 reviews
Hostal Qori Koyllur
16.67 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alfredo's Palace Hostal
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal San Blas
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 33 reviews
Second Home Cusco
60.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Inversiones Siete Angelitos
8.87 USD

Hostel 79.0% 3 reviews
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Orquidea Real Hostal
16.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

60 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa De La Gringa'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 56 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's atmosphere had nice potential

Disliked: Sundays there is no help from staff for any travel arrangements

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012

Liked: Hot showers in main part, not in extension part.

Disliked: Bring a coat or buy a new garment on the way up, your basically gonna be in a fridge all night. If you suffer from allergies then STAY AWAY, they compensate for no heat with a ton of wool blankets that probably haven't been cleaned properly in yours.. Wear shoes or sandels, the make shift roof leaks when it rains in the common areas along with the bathroom. Guy working night shift is the most unpleasant person I've met in 6 weeks worth of hostels.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was nice and very quiet. Breakfast was very good. Shared toilet & shower were clean.

Disliked: Our room was very small and had no window. The bad was very uncomfortable. We decided to leave the hostel a day early and find something better (and we did, for less money)...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shannon Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: close to the city center, but still quiet

Disliked: not really for your average backpacker, more for those looking for a spiritual journey

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

andre marschke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011

Liked: Friendly staff. Good common area

Disliked: This is a dillema. The people are friendly. There is Wifi and a good common area. however IT IS FREEZING. The sun doesn't hit this part of San Blas until about 11am. A couple of heaters would do the trick. But until then do not stay here unless you like pneumonia!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, central and near a nice square, its comfortable and the white cat is nice

Disliked: some of the guests were a little on the wierd side!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gianni Antonica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2011 Gianni would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, very clean and real hot water!

Disliked: no internet connection in Casa2 and very slow wifi in Casa1

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A hostel with character! Like the artistic atmosphere at the San Blas area. Very friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and hallways are nicely decorated and the breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: Inconenvient rooms across the street, always kind of dark, the prices changed at times. The staff speaks a little bit of english, but this hostel is best for those with a good understanding of spanish.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and lovely common areas but the rooms were a bit small for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

elisa maia

13 May 2010 elisa would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in cusco. Good energy, great people, colourful and friendly. Cute cats. Just wouldn't recommend staying in the bedrooms close to the entrance (there might be a lot of noise). And yeah: casa the la gringa 1 is much nicer than casa 2. And if you stay there, be sure to try san pedro with lesley. :)

Disliked: elisa left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is friendly and the rooms are clean and cosy. It offers excursions to the countryside to experience the powers of the San Pedro cactus which we didn´t do but appears quite an experience from the reviews given. There is a bohemian vibe and it is very chilled out so I wouldn´t recommend it to those looking for more of a party atmosphere. It is also fairly tucked away but everything you need is within short walking distance.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vaniah LEDGISTER

10 January 2010

Liked: This is the perfect place to stay if you're into "spiritual journeys" and other New Age stuff. If you're not, like us, then its a fun friendly place to stay if you don't mind the evangalising.

Disliked: Vaniah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i stayed at in peru. charming. clean. great way to meet other travelers. internet. highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool vibe!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alice Kizny Gordon

01 December 2009 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good facilities and great breakfast. My only complaint is that it needs a good clean, everyday.

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiroshini Naidoo

30 November 2009 Thiroshini would recommend this property

Liked: Oh what a lovely, cosy and clean place. Staff were most helpful in so many ways. Hot water.. YES! Will definitly recommend this hostel to travellers.

Disliked: Thiroshini left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jeronimo Quezada

24 September 2009 Jeronimo would recommend this property

Liked: It has several tours and things to do in Cusco which are interesting. San Blas is nice area and there are restaurants, a pharmacy, a market and bars nearby. Beware that there are cats in the main house in case you are allergic to them. The breakfast is basic and good. The staff is very helpful as well. The rooms need a little bit of upkeep and repairs on the shared bathrooms, but other than that the hostal is very good. I do plan to go back to Cusco and stay at Casa de la Gringa when I do.

Disliked: Jeronimo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Mudie

26 July 2009 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: We had booked this place because it was in one of our travel books, and it was by far our favorite place we stayed at on our trip. We met some really great people while staying here, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the place was really cute. We even got to meet the "gringa!" We liked the place so much we stayed there again when we returned to Cusco the next week. They also have a travel agency associated with them and we booked horseback riding with them, which was well worth the money. It's a great place and a great location! highly recommended.

Disliked: Ann left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Garry Hamilton

01 June 2009 Garry would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, they go above and beyond expectations. Rooms were clean and basic but good value. Only downside were the showers in the other 'wing' not being hot but showers a short walk in the main hostel compensated.

Disliked: Garry left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christos Kyriazis

25 April 2009 Christos would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the place was amazing! It was an inspiring, corourfull place to stay at and very calmfull! Every room was totally different from the others and beautifull! Also this hostel was remarkably quiet during the night... a great place to have a good nights' sleep. Only bad thing is that we never got to meet the "Gringa" : )

Disliked: Christos left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere and eggs for breakfast!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 February 2009

Liked: hot showers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

keli knight

19 September 2008

Liked: the hostel has a main building plus an annex. the main building is festive looking and offers breakfast (tea and toast)

Disliked: keli left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels