HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of El Tuco Hostel

Hostel | Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru Cuzco

96.3% Overall Rating

566 out of 577 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Carolin Merz thinks…

"We had a wonderful stay at this hostel. On our whole Trip, we never had such a helpful, friendly and caring owner and staff. The rooms are very clean and large. You have the possibility to use the…"

Read all El Tuco Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Mallmanya Inn Hotel
10.62 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
70.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Yawarmaki Hostel
28.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kukuli Lodge B&B
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
7.43 USD

Hostel 81.1% 96 reviews
Hostelling International Cusco
10.62 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 21 reviews
Pirwa Backpacker Familiar
9.50 USD

Hostel 76.7% 144 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

566 out of 577 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Tuco Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 501 of 564 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolin Merz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful stay at this hostel. On our whole Trip, we never had such a helpful, friendly and caring owner and staff. The rooms are very clean and large. You have the possibility to use the Internet and a TV and the WIFI in the rooms is great. The showers are hot and you can use the kitchen. Breakfast is included and the owner will refill whatever you need (hot water, milk,...). It is a really quiet and peaceful place, where we felt like at home! We would defenitely recommend staying there when being in Cusco, we loved it.

Disliked: Carolin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Benatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is cool and helpful

Disliked: The proposed trips didn't seem to be too reliable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff and spacious rooms. It is not a party hostel and more like a guest house. So, if you like to meet tons of people and drink all night you are wrong at this place. If you want quite and peace to relax before or after visiting Machu Pichu, it is perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Bridges

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property Breakfast included use of kitchen Great owner and staff Fantastic rooms with ensuite and quiet Use of pc Tv. Room Dining room Very relaxing

Disliked: We couldn't stay longer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean monteith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 sean would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Coco and his wife more than go out of there way to make you comfortable and help you in any way they can. I was only booked in to stay for a few days but ended up staying for 2 weeks in total. I would definatey recommend this place for your stay in Cusco.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Princen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Coco and his wife were very friendly and helpfull with the things you needed, it has a good location, it is a 10 minute walk to the plaza de armas/centre and has a supermarket 1 block away

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Rooms, private bathrooms, clean, friendly staff, well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of El Tuco Hostel (Coco) is very friendly and helpful. At every time of the day/night we were able to consult him for advice. We had insightful chats about Cusco and sights / places we should visit. Spontaneously, we decided to extend our stay and Coco made everything possible. We felt home and would definitely recomend a stay in El Tuco, especially for couples it is a perfect location.

Disliked: There is absolutely nothing that we disliked during our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas A G Paranhos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: i highly recommend your stay at the hotel!!! Coco and his wife are just great!! The shower is better than in my house :)

Disliked: Lucas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Bourne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to main square (10mins), very close to supermarkets and fruit stalls, seemed quite safe around even if it is on a bit of a chaotic street (was still quiet in our room), decent wifi. Main reasons to stay here are the staff and the showers! Best powerful hot showers we have had in our whole South America trip, better than back home in London, which was just what we needed after our Inca Trail. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Coco, the owner, sorted us out with directions, taxis, a trip to Tambopata and provided useful general advice. He was also great just to chat to, speaking good English and Spanish. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Not much, though did have to pay for towels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shailen Laxman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Shailen would recommend this property

Liked: Coco (the owner) was extremely friendly and helpful with every part of our stay. The hostel is fantastic, quiet, spacious, and has a very good atmosphere. We loved our stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shi Wen Ann Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 Shi Wen Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Host and owner Coco was friendly, helpful and hospitable. He speaks good English and was flexible to accommodate our requests. We feel very at home at El Tuco and would recommend this place for a warm, safe and value for money accommodation.

Disliked: Shi Wen Ann left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandon Nixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very helpful! Place is very clean, nice hot showers, nearby to markets. Great place to stay!

Disliked: Brandon left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Above all, excellent service attitude!

Disliked: Nil.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very helpful and friendly.Kitchen is clean .

Disliked: No hot water at the vanity . Towels not supplied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked Coco a lot. He is very friendly and helpfull. During our stay he made sure we are well taken care of. We would recommed this hostel to everyone who is looking for a piece of home away from home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Abshagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is an extremely friendly and helpful host and was full of information about restaurants, transport and sightseeing. The hostel is good value for money (very similar prices to dorms near the centre), and I would recommend for couples or travellers looking for a more quiet experience with private bathroom. It is quite close to the Cruz del Sur and bus terminal

Disliked: It was a bit far from the centre and some people may not feel safe in the area but as a solo traveller whoi walks everywhere I always felt safe

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Ospina

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place to stay. The owner is a very helpful and honest person, he gave us great advices, and made our stay really great. Also he made us feel like we were in a safe place. The rooms are always clean. The showers are great. Also there was wifi and computer service.

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Coco, is very helpful, talkative and offers a lot of Information on any problem you might have. The location is not that far away from the centre with proximity to the bus station, post office and various markets which we considered advantageous.

Disliked: The premises could be slightly cleaner, although our room, beds and bathroom were very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is an excellent host who will go out of his way to do anything for his guests! Arrived at 5am and he gave us a bed in another room even though our room wasn't ready yet! Lifesaver!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size room and cleanliness.

Disliked: Purchased two 5 day tours to Matchu Pitcchu and paid way over the amount because the owner of the hotel gets a kick back. Very unfair being that the sales person from the tour agency and the owner Coco, sit down together to sell you on it and back each other up knowing that the are not looking out for you as a tourist. This is shady specially when the double team to scam tourist :(

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is so a nice person and has so many good information what you can do in Cusco and how you can go to Machu Picchu. The Hostel is very clean and the location is also really good. We can definitely recommed this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff. They fix everything. Nice big and clean rooms. Hot water. They offered a small, but nice breakfast. Just outside the worst tourist area, but still close to everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pozo Camara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is ver friendly anwhat pfully. Specially the owner, Coco. He helps us a lot in finding the best tours, bus connections to other cities, advises in the city and handicraft markets. The place is very well located. It takes 10 minutes to get the main square. It is very quite and safe area. The price is very cheap for what they are offering. The breakfast is included. I sorely recommend this place to have a good time in Cusco. I

Disliked: Nothing. It is excelent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

federico armeni

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 federico would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice staff, safe bed and showers.

Disliked: nothing


See all Cusco hostels