We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of El Tuco Hostel

Hostel | Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru Cuzco

95.2% Overall Rating

578 out of 590 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/11/2014)

Yandy Orozco thinks…

"The property is centrally located within walking distance of all high profile touristic sites within the city of Cuzco. Hot water for showers and everything was very clean. The biggest attribute of…"

Read all El Tuco Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Mallmanya Inn Hotel
13.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
70.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Yawarmaki Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kukuli Lodge B&B
18.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
7.15 USD

Hostel 81.3% 97 reviews
Hostelling International Cusco
10.22 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Pirwa San Blas Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 76.1% 145 reviews
El Labrador Hostal
18.74 USD

Hostel 86.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

578 out of 590 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Tuco Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 513 of 577 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yandy Orozco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2014 Yandy would recommend this property

Liked: The property is centrally located within walking distance of all high profile touristic sites within the city of Cuzco. Hot water for showers and everything was very clean. The biggest attribute of the Hostel is the staff. It is family owned and Coco, the owner, is approachable, helpful, and very flexible. The staff contacted me via email ahead of time to make further coordination and ask if I needed anything else. I had a great time during my stay at the Hostel and cannot think of anything to complain about. Strongly recommend the Hostel to anyone planning on visiting Cuzco.

Disliked: No Comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco was very friendly and helpful, as was Anna Maria (his wife). We felt very comfortable asking them for their advice and recommendations during our stay.

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014

Liked: We were a little surprised as how well this was rated. The hostel is nice and the owners are lovely, it is a little more than a lot of other places in Cuzco, they charged us s/1.50 for hand soap as well as charging extra for towels. The hostel is clean and the rooms are big. The hostel is a little out of town and we felt a little unsafe walking back after dark. The rooms are cold and there isn't a lot of atmosphere, there are no lockers either. We found it very inconvenient having to leave our key at reception every time we left (and hanging around for quite a while as there wasn't always someone on reception.

Disliked: As above

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominik Schaefer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very healpful and friendly. They even get up in the middle of the nite for guiding you to the train station.

Disliked: Dominik left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff extreme helpfulness and the presence of Wi-Fi and running hot water for showers.

Disliked: On my first night, the bed linen had hair on it that wasn't mine. Eek. On the next stay, linen was clean. YAY! You get charged for towels, so bring your own. No toiletries.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Actually nothing. The lazy ones ought to know that it is a 15 min walk to the town center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Tschopp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.!! Nice and very clean hostel.!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, clean, safe hostel that is located a short walk to the centre of Cusco. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable, warm beds. There is always hot water no matter what time of day you take a shower. Coco and his wife are very helpful and kind people. When my partner got sick with altitude sickness they were very caring and helped provide him with oxygen. Breakfasts are very nice and the kitchen is available to use all day. This hostel is very quiet at night so we slept very well. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Morgan

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 August 2014 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Coco and his wife. They are a lovely couple and really make the hostel feel like a home. Will definitely recommend this place to friends who are travelling to Cusco.

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Bate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is brilliant very helpful and accommodating !

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and welcoming. Very flexible staff - opened the door at all hours - when we arrived in Cuzco at 5am and when we returned from the jungle trek at 1am! Good facilities and hot, powerful shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

India Miller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 India would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners, extremely clean, huge rooms, building is homely and interesting! Really lovely feel!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolin Merz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful stay at this hostel. On our whole Trip, we never had such a helpful, friendly and caring owner and staff. The rooms are very clean and large. You have the possibility to use the Internet and a TV and the WIFI in the rooms is great. The showers are hot and you can use the kitchen. Breakfast is included and the owner will refill whatever you need (hot water, milk,...). It is a really quiet and peaceful place, where we felt like at home! We would defenitely recommend staying there when being in Cusco, we loved it.

Disliked: Carolin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Benatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is cool and helpful

Disliked: The proposed trips didn't seem to be too reliable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff and spacious rooms. It is not a party hostel and more like a guest house. So, if you like to meet tons of people and drink all night you are wrong at this place. If you want quite and peace to relax before or after visiting Machu Pichu, it is perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Bridges

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property Breakfast included use of kitchen Great owner and staff Fantastic rooms with ensuite and quiet Use of pc Tv. Room Dining room Very relaxing

Disliked: We couldn't stay longer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sean monteith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 sean would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Coco and his wife more than go out of there way to make you comfortable and help you in any way they can. I was only booked in to stay for a few days but ended up staying for 2 weeks in total. I would definatey recommend this place for your stay in Cusco.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Princen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Coco and his wife were very friendly and helpfull with the things you needed, it has a good location, it is a 10 minute walk to the plaza de armas/centre and has a supermarket 1 block away

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Rooms, private bathrooms, clean, friendly staff, well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of El Tuco Hostel (Coco) is very friendly and helpful. At every time of the day/night we were able to consult him for advice. We had insightful chats about Cusco and sights / places we should visit. Spontaneously, we decided to extend our stay and Coco made everything possible. We felt home and would definitely recomend a stay in El Tuco, especially for couples it is a perfect location.

Disliked: There is absolutely nothing that we disliked during our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas A G Paranhos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: i highly recommend your stay at the hotel!!! Coco and his wife are just great!! The shower is better than in my house :)

Disliked: Lucas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Bourne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to main square (10mins), very close to supermarkets and fruit stalls, seemed quite safe around even if it is on a bit of a chaotic street (was still quiet in our room), decent wifi. Main reasons to stay here are the staff and the showers! Best powerful hot showers we have had in our whole South America trip, better than back home in London, which was just what we needed after our Inca Trail. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Coco, the owner, sorted us out with directions, taxis, a trip to Tambopata and provided useful general advice. He was also great just to chat to, speaking good English and Spanish. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Not much, though did have to pay for towels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shailen Laxman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Shailen would recommend this property

Liked: Coco (the owner) was extremely friendly and helpful with every part of our stay. The hostel is fantastic, quiet, spacious, and has a very good atmosphere. We loved our stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shi Wen Ann Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 Shi Wen Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Host and owner Coco was friendly, helpful and hospitable. He speaks good English and was flexible to accommodate our requests. We feel very at home at El Tuco and would recommend this place for a warm, safe and value for money accommodation.

Disliked: Shi Wen Ann left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandon Nixon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very helpful! Place is very clean, nice hot showers, nearby to markets. Great place to stay!

Disliked: Brandon left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels