HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of El Tuco Hostel

Hostel | Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru Cuzco

95.0% Overall Rating

547 out of 558 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"We liked Coco a lot. He is very friendly and helpfull. During our stay he made sure we are well taken care of. We would recommed this hostel to everyone who is looking for a piece of home away from home!"

Read all El Tuco Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Mallmanya Inn Hotel
10.61 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Yawarmaki Hostel
28.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kukuli Lodge B&B
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Posada Del Abuelo
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
7.43 USD

Hostel 77.7% 92 reviews
Hostelling International Cusco
10.61 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

547 out of 558 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Tuco Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 487 of 544 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very helpful and friendly.Kitchen is clean .

Disliked: No hot water at the vanity . Towels not supplied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked Coco a lot. He is very friendly and helpfull. During our stay he made sure we are well taken care of. We would recommed this hostel to everyone who is looking for a piece of home away from home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Abshagen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is an extremely friendly and helpful host and was full of information about restaurants, transport and sightseeing. The hostel is good value for money (very similar prices to dorms near the centre), and I would recommend for couples or travellers looking for a more quiet experience with private bathroom. It is quite close to the Cruz del Sur and bus terminal

Disliked: It was a bit far from the centre and some people may not feel safe in the area but as a solo traveller whoi walks everywhere I always felt safe

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Ospina

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place to stay. The owner is a very helpful and honest person, he gave us great advices, and made our stay really great. Also he made us feel like we were in a safe place. The rooms are always clean. The showers are great. Also there was wifi and computer service.

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Coco, is very helpful, talkative and offers a lot of Information on any problem you might have. The location is not that far away from the centre with proximity to the bus station, post office and various markets which we considered advantageous.

Disliked: The premises could be slightly cleaner, although our room, beds and bathroom were very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is an excellent host who will go out of his way to do anything for his guests! Arrived at 5am and he gave us a bed in another room even though our room wasn't ready yet! Lifesaver!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size room and cleanliness.

Disliked: Purchased two 5 day tours to Matchu Pitcchu and paid way over the amount because the owner of the hotel gets a kick back. Very unfair being that the sales person from the tour agency and the owner Coco, sit down together to sell you on it and back each other up knowing that the are not looking out for you as a tourist. This is shady specially when the double team to scam tourist :(

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is so a nice person and has so many good information what you can do in Cusco and how you can go to Machu Picchu. The Hostel is very clean and the location is also really good. We can definitely recommed this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff. They fix everything. Nice big and clean rooms. Hot water. They offered a small, but nice breakfast. Just outside the worst tourist area, but still close to everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pozo Camara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is ver friendly anwhat pfully. Specially the owner, Coco. He helps us a lot in finding the best tours, bus connections to other cities, advises in the city and handicraft markets. The place is very well located. It takes 10 minutes to get the main square. It is very quite and safe area. The price is very cheap for what they are offering. The breakfast is included. I sorely recommend this place to have a good time in Cusco. I

Disliked: Nothing. It is excelent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

federico armeni

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 federico would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, nice staff, safe bed and showers.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Macqueen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2014 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Great service from Coco, he helped us with our Machu Picchu booking and anything else we needed. The property is reasonably close, about 8 minutes, to the main square. Nice rooms with hot showers ! Recommended !

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our double en suite room was amazing value for money - cheaper than most hostels in town and much better! It's a big, clean hostel with lovely wooden floors and high ceilings. Breakfast is only tea/cofee, bread and jam, but the communal kitchen is a bonus. Coco is a great guy and the rest of the staff are helpful too!

Disliked: Lumpy pillows. The location is a ten minute walk from the main square, which is fine, but don't walk there alone after 9pm - get a taxi instead.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Biggest asset was the owner 'coco' who couldn't do enough for us, including last minute additional bed over New Years. Excellent hot showers

Disliked: Wifi a little slow in rooms., pretty standard of Peru though and worked fine in comunal areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is so friendly and he can help you with anything. The hostel is near main plaza so you can get there easily. I really recommend here to you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Genevieve Bernard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2013 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is super nice!! Very helpfull. Great attention. He helped us book or bus ride and kept our bag safe in the ocker room whie we were on the inca trail. Good hot water. All you can eat bread, jam and tea in the morning. Everything you need in the kitchen. Clean room. Really a great place to stay!

Disliked: It's a little walk from the historic center (10 min), no big deal. Might need ear plug to have a better sleep at night cause the car in the city are noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Paraschivoiu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2013 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Coco, the owne, is a fantastic host. Room was large and clean. Breakfast included. Shower was hot and strong. You can leave your things safely here while out for a multi day trek.

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are fantastic and couldn't do more to help you. The showers are excellent and very hot and the hostel is immaculately clean. would definitely recommend his hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antoine Strauss

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

15 November 2013 Antoine would recommend this property

Liked: Ecellent safety and value !

Disliked: Antoine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Eberl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: We loved how safe and secure it was and felt. Also location is great, far enough away from all the tourists yet only a 10 minute walk to the main tourist square.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in two rooms during our time at El Tuco. Both of the rooms were large, with clean ensuite bathrooms. Also, the hostel's hot water is fantastic; a rarity for Cusco. Finally, Coco is a fantastic host. His English is impeccable and he is full of useful advice about Cusco specifically and Peru generally.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great private bedroom; amazing hot showers; Coco (owner) is an outstanding host!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: Coco, the owner, is one of the nicest guy we've met in Peru, very willing to help, open and always with a story for you ("no problem!"). Free and easy storage of our bags during the camino inka. He even gave us two walking sticks for the trail for free AND we could stay in the hostel until our bus departed in the evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco

Disliked: Nothing


See all Cusco hostels