We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of El Tuco Hostel

Hostel | Av Grau 835, Cusco, Peru Cuzco

92.5% Overall Rating

594 out of 606 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2015)

Michael Dove thinks…

"Very secure, reasonably central, not noisy at night, pleasant, clean. More of a guesthouse than a hostel. Helpful manager who provides local knowledge, info on tours etc. The manager was organised,…"

Read all El Tuco Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Mallmanya Inn Hotel
12.61 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Yawarmaki Hostel
25.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kukuli Lodge B&B
17.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
6.62 USD

Hostel 88.1% 107 reviews
Hostelling International Cusco
9.46 USD

Hostel 71.0% 6 reviews
Pirwa San Blas Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 76.1% 145 reviews
El Labrador Hostal
15.76 USD

Hostel 90.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

594 out of 606 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Tuco Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 527 of 593 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sonja Sahadeo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Hot water, good wifi, friendly staff and safe.

Disliked: No heating

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dove

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure, reasonably central, not noisy at night, pleasant, clean. More of a guesthouse than a hostel. Helpful manager who provides local knowledge, info on tours etc. The manager was organised, clear and nice. Overall it's a good hostel and I'd stay there again.

Disliked: Could have been closer to the centre; no real common area where travellers hang out so a bit hard to meet people; could be cold at night as no heating (although while I was there it was fine); the manager spoke English well, but the receptionist and tour guide who works with the hostel misunderstood a lot of English! Some rooms in Cusco are oxygen-supplemented I believe, although this was not. You get what you pay for, but if you have bad altitude sickness you might want to stay in an oxygen-supplemented room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Gonser

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The host was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful in orienting us to the city! He talked with us at breakfast each day to help us work through the logistics of what we had planned which was very helpful! The room was very clean and quite large.

Disliked: The location is really safe and secure as the host will unlock the gate for you coming in and out of the establishment each time. We never had to wait long but you do need to be let out by a staff member

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, you get a great night's sleep. Coco is lovely and even let us lie in a little past our check out time the day after our big trek.

Disliked: it is very quiet, hard to meet new people. Not a real buzz.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great sized rooms, one of my best hostel experiences in Peru.

Disliked: A little far from the Plaza de Armas, but not too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maleen Kock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2015 Maleen would recommend this property

Liked: Coco is really friendly and gave us good advice. The room with the enclosed bathroom was clean and nice. We really enjoyed our two nights here and are looking forward to coming back.

Disliked: Maleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Pedersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2015 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! Powerful and hour showers, clean rooms, and amazing staff.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic, but the room was clean and comfortable, and cleaned each day. Coco/ Jorge, the owner was a really likeable chap, and efficient. Great location near to all major sites. Quiet at night.

Disliked: Breakfast was meagre unless you paid extra for eggs and juice. The kitchen was not kept clean, as Users were asked to wash up themselves. Towels were also extra.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Lykke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fantastic. Coco and his wife are so welcoming and friendly. They will heap with anything you need. Great base to leave your gear if completing the Inka Trail, very safe. I stayed here before and after my trek. Rooms are very large and clean, the beds are comfortable with lots of warm blankets, bathroom is modern and clean with good hot water. The kitchen has good facilities with heaps of space. Its only a short walk to everything you need and the streets were safe. Its a beautiful place to call home for a few days.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joyce van

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2015 joyce would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money - the room is large and clean and shower is hot. Coco and his wife are lovely and very helpful and easy going. Very close just across the road from the buses/colectivos for Ollantaytambo and Urubamba.

Disliked: It's a little far from the main square but we knew this when booking. When you get a private room with ensuite at this rate you can walk an extra 10mins

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micaela Cesatti

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2015 Micaela would recommend this property

Liked: Hola! Nos quedamos con mi pareja durante 5 noches en EL TUCO hostel en cusco, Perú. No tenemos más que palabras de agradecimiento para con coco que nos abrió la puerta de su casa y nos la hizo sentir propia. Las habitaciones son amplias y cómodas, el agua caliente funcionaba a toda hora y a la perfección, la limpieza impecable, la localización del hostel es a una caminata de 5/10 min hasta la plaza de Armas(6 cuadras aprox), lo cual es muy bueno porque esta lejos del bullicio, en los hosteles del centro por la noche hay muchisimo movimiento hasta las 7 am y es imposible descansar. Nos tuvieron las mochilas durante las 3 noches del camino inca, y sin ningun problema ni costo adicional. La verdad todo muy bien, super recomendable!!

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Bradbury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is well located, resonably priced, around 10 minutes walk into the centre and has excellent facilities including decent wifi that works in the large, clean and comfortable rooms, a computer, TV room, a good breakfast, well stocked kitchen and secure baggage room we left our bags in for 3 days while in Machu Picchu. However the best thing about El Tuco is the owner, Coco. From getting up at 4.30am to let us in after an early bus ride to his advice, flexibility and help throughout our stay was second to none. We ended up staying twice as long as expected and would recommend El Tuco to anyone. Thanks Coco!!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice personal, good service, clean rooms. Perfecto!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its an easy place to stay - the staff are really helpful and its only a 12-13 minute walk to the main plaza.

Disliked: Its not particularly handsome, and the internet was a bit slow.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yandy Orozco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2014 Yandy would recommend this property

Liked: The property is centrally located within walking distance of all high profile touristic sites within the city of Cuzco. Hot water for showers and everything was very clean. The biggest attribute of the Hostel is the staff. It is family owned and Coco, the owner, is approachable, helpful, and very flexible. The staff contacted me via email ahead of time to make further coordination and ask if I needed anything else. I had a great time during my stay at the Hostel and cannot think of anything to complain about. Strongly recommend the Hostel to anyone planning on visiting Cuzco.

Disliked: No Comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Coco was very friendly and helpful, as was Anna Maria (his wife). We felt very comfortable asking them for their advice and recommendations during our stay.

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014

Liked: We were a little surprised as how well this was rated. The hostel is nice and the owners are lovely, it is a little more than a lot of other places in Cuzco, they charged us s/1.50 for hand soap as well as charging extra for towels. The hostel is clean and the rooms are big. The hostel is a little out of town and we felt a little unsafe walking back after dark. The rooms are cold and there isn't a lot of atmosphere, there are no lockers either. We found it very inconvenient having to leave our key at reception every time we left (and hanging around for quite a while as there wasn't always someone on reception.

Disliked: As above

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominik Schaefer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very healpful and friendly. They even get up in the middle of the nite for guiding you to the train station.

Disliked: Dominik left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff extreme helpfulness and the presence of Wi-Fi and running hot water for showers.

Disliked: On my first night, the bed linen had hair on it that wasn't mine. Eek. On the next stay, linen was clean. YAY! You get charged for towels, so bring your own. No toiletries.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Actually nothing. The lazy ones ought to know that it is a 15 min walk to the town center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Tschopp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.!! Nice and very clean hostel.!!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, clean, safe hostel that is located a short walk to the centre of Cusco. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable, warm beds. There is always hot water no matter what time of day you take a shower. Coco and his wife are very helpful and kind people. When my partner got sick with altitude sickness they were very caring and helped provide him with oxygen. Breakfasts are very nice and the kitchen is available to use all day. This hostel is very quiet at night so we slept very well. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Morgan

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 August 2014 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Coco and his wife. They are a lovely couple and really make the hostel feel like a home. Will definitely recommend this place to friends who are travelling to Cusco.

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Bate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is brilliant very helpful and accommodating !

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and welcoming. Very flexible staff - opened the door at all hours - when we arrived in Cuzco at 5am and when we returned from the jungle trek at 1am! Good facilities and hot, powerful shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels