HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Hostel El Grial

Hostel | Atoqsayk'uchi 594, San Blas, Cusco, Peru .

96.0% Overall Rating

53 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2013)

"What didn't we like about this property. First of all it's on a quiet street in San Blas, just a 5-10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas. The rooms are rather big with comfortable beds. A safe is available in all rooms to…"

Read all Hostel El Grial reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Casa De La Gringa
14.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 79 reviews
Hostal Qori Koyllur
16.61 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alfredo's Palace Hostal
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal San Blas
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 33 reviews
Orquidea Real Hostal
16.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Second Home Cusco
60.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Tu Hogar Hostal Cusco
12.50 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 9 reviews
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

53 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel El Grial'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didn't we like about this property. First of all it's on a quiet street in San Blas, just a 5-10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas. The rooms are rather big with comfortable beds. A safe is available in all rooms to store you travel documents and money, which was a nice change from other hostels we have stayed in. Breakfast is included and was more substancial than at other hostels (it included eggs, coffee/tea, juice, buns and jam). The staff is what really makes this place amazing! I can't stay enough about them. They were always at the desk to wish you a good night out or welcome you back after an afternoon outting. At one point during our stay we had to switch rooms (at the request of the hostel, not because anything was wrong) and the staff said that if we packed everything up they would move it for us. There were several really good restaurants less than a three minute walk away (I recommend Sumaq and the Creperie just a few doors down).

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Meredith Nahkies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2012 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean rooms, friendly staff, hot showers. Location is only 3 blocks away from main plaza and is easy to get around. It's a small hostel so atmosphere while quiet (which can be nice) was limiting if you wanted to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Bedroom was on the street and due to the narrowness of the street taxis tend to reverse. Beeping at 2.30am wasn't fun but that is hardly the hostels fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Connie Perry

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Connie would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel El Grial was a wonderful stay away from home. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the hot breakfast as well. Very lovely place to stay.

Disliked: Connie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! It is tucked away in the streets of San Blas (very short walk to Plaza de Armas). Perfect for a comfortable little getaway in Cusco. Also the breakfast is good and the staff is helpful!

Disliked: The water went off in the middle of the night but no major issues.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived at 5.30am and given the keys to the room straight away(I did not have to wait until the official check in time). Also,I was offered tea (complimentary) which was a lovely gesture after arriving on an overnight bus from Bolivia. The staff were extremely helpful, breakfast was fresh juice and eggs.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very clean, good breakfast

Disliked: Rooms can be cold, internert a tad slow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Kugler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostal in Cusco San Blas area. Staff were the most helpful people I have encountered. Provided great information in getting to Machu Picchu and surrounding parts of the city. With amazing coffee every morning. Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building, location pretty close to plaza de armas. Good breakfast, internet terminal worked fine. Staff very friendly and helpful, happy to look after our luggage while we did inca trail. Laundry service quick and effective

Disliked: Couldn't get a double room (i.e. with a double bed) despite booking double on hostelbookers, but this happens to us quite a lot and in various places so it would be unfair to single out just this hostel. Address on hostelbookers is quoted as being 'Atoqsayk'uchi' but note that the entrance is on 'Calle Carmen Alto' near the corner that meets Atoqsayk'uchi - don't walk all the way up the steep hill with big bags then feel stupid like we did when we realised we'd walked just past it earlier!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great, very spacious and a comfortable beds. Clean bathroom (we had the ensuite) and staff were very helpful. Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise (eggs!). Location was central and within walking distance of everything.

Disliked: Room was not extremely soundproof and you could hear the buzzer to let guests in thoughout the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, a kind of @home

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostal is beautiful! It's clean, attractive and safe, but the best part is the staff. Our host Eloy, the woman who cooked breakfast, and every one of the other staff members was warm, pleasant and extremely helpful. Whether we needed tea or transportation, someone was always available to help us! We will definitely stay here again if we have the chance!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Culver

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and the shower is amazing. An excellent place to stay after a trek to Machu Picchu

Disliked: The hostel is a bit out of the way, which is nice because it's quiet, but you do have to walk down a long, fairly empty street in the dark at night to get there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Fitzpatrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely small hostel in San Blas area of Cusco. Staff wonderfully helpful, secure building, ensuite bathrooms with the best, most reliable hot water I've had so far, and a great included breakfast (bread, jam, fresh squeezed juice, tea, coffee and eggs) between 6-11am. Bedrooms and ensuites cleaned daily, and TVs with cable in the rooms.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Secure. Nice location. Good showers.

Disliked: Windows are not very soundproof, but because the hostel is in a side street it doesn't matter much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot water all the time. Nice staff and breakfast. Calm.

Disliked: In the night, sometimes, it takes a while for the door to be answerd (not a nice thing in the winer time).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we had was excellent and the shower was the best we have had in South America so far. The staff was very friendly amd helpful.

Disliked: We had a room on the street so it was a bit noisy and the boards on the room above us were creaky so we heard every movement above us. If you are a sound sleeper this will not be a problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Abdul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: In a nice area of Cusco, San Blas. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms nice and showers AMAZING!!!

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian Twigger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the quaint San Blas area of Cuzco, close to the main Plaza, this hotel has great rooms, serves superb breakfasts and has superb, helpful staff. Eloy is the friendliest, most attentive hotel staff member I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Hotel Grial is perfectly located for a quiet, comfortable stay in Cuzco.

Disliked: Nothing at all, it was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Rolls

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: safe and convenient location

Disliked: bad tv reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very friendly and helpfull staff. - good breakfast with awfull fresh juices.- quiet- we extended with four additional nights.

Disliked: foo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Nastari

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing and the hot shower is better than the shower of my house. I highly recomend El Grial!!!

Disliked: Felipe left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the San Blas area of the city and therefore very quiet. The rooms downstairs can be quite noisy from the overhead rooms but the bathroom facilities were great - not just hot water but scorching! Just what you need after trekking to Machu Picchu.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: again we never met anyone, it was pretty quiet...you have to walk a fair ways to get to the main areas of the town ...but its a clean and safe place to stay and the breakfast was good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jason Locke

19 August 2009 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, quite happy to store our bags while we were on the Inca Trail even though we hadn't stayed there before we went. Room was nice, good shower etc, a little noisy (you could hear the doorbell + street noise). Probably a little overpriced, but a nice enough place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels