HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal El Grial

Guesthouse

Carmen Alto 112, San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 94%

Location 95%

Safety 99%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 94%

Location 95%

Safety 99%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: What didn't we like about this property. First of all it's on a quiet street in San Blas, just a 5-10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas. The rooms are rather big with comfortable beds. A safe is available in all rooms to store you travel documents and money, which was a nice change from other hostels we have stayed in. Breakfast is included and was more substancial than at other hostels (it included eggs, coffee/tea, juice, buns and jam). The staff is what really makes this place amazing! I can't stay enough about them. They were always at the desk to wish you a good night out or welcome you back after an afternoon outting. At one point during our stay we had to switch rooms (at the request of the hostel, not because anything was wrong) and the staff said that if we packed everything up they would move it for us. There were several really good restaurants less than a three minute walk away (I recommend Sumaq and the Creperie just a few doors down).

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely clean rooms, friendly staff, hot showers. Location is only 3 blocks away from main plaza and is easy to get around. It's a small hostel so atmosphere while quiet (which can be nice) was limiting if you wanted to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Bedroom was on the street and due to the narrowness of the street taxis tend to reverse. Beeping at 2.30am wasn't fun but that is hardly the hostels fault.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel El Grial was a wonderful stay away from home. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the hot breakfast as well. Very lovely place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: This is a great hostel! It is tucked away in the streets of San Blas (very short walk to Plaza de Armas). Perfect for a comfortable little getaway in Cusco. Also the breakfast is good and the staff is helpful!

Disliked: The water went off in the middle of the night but no major issues.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I arrived at 5.30am and given the keys to the room straight away(I did not have to wait until the official check in time). Also,I was offered tea (complimentary) which was a lovely gesture after arriving on an overnight bus from Bolivia. The staff were extremely helpful, breakfast was fresh juice and eggs.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, very clean, good breakfast

Disliked: Rooms can be cold, internert a tad slow

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing Hostal in Cusco San Blas area. Staff were the most helpful people I have encountered. Provided great information in getting to Machu Picchu and surrounding parts of the city. With amazing coffee every morning. Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely old building, location pretty close to plaza de armas.Good breakfast, internet terminal worked fine.Staff very friendly and helpful, happy to look after our luggage while we did inca trail.Laundry service quick and effective

Disliked: Couldn't get a double room (i.e. with a double bed) despite booking double on hostelbookers, but this happens to us quite a lot and in various places so it would be unfair to single out just this hostel.Address on hostelbookers is quoted as being 'Atoqsayk'uchi' but note that the entrance is on 'Calle Carmen Alto' near the corner that meets Atoqsayk'uchi - don't walk all the way up the steep hill with big bags then feel stupid like we did when we realised we'd walked just past it earlier!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The room was great, very spacious and a comfortable beds. Clean bathroom (we had the ensuite) and staff were very helpful. Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise (eggs!). Location was central and within walking distance of everything.

Disliked: Room was not extremely soundproof and you could hear the buzzer to let guests in thoughout the night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: the atmosphere, a kind of @home

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability