HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels-Cusco Cusco Hostel

Calle Atoqsaycuchi No.416 San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms linen might be better and clean

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: everything

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely views of Cusco from outside the rooms - you can see over the rooftops of the whole town. The staff were very friendly and helpful - helped book our bus to Cusco. There is a tour booker on the second floor of the hostel who speaks perfect English and is very helpful. Free coca tea, free breakfasts in the morning. Kitchen for communal use. Leisurely walk to the main square in about 15mins. Good distance from some nice restaurants and cafes, shops and pharmacies. Great value for money too.

Disliked: Nothing - HOWEVER, be warned, go prepared for the altitude. The hostel is high up the San Blas, which is a lovely location. But it does mean you might suffer from altitude sickness. We didn't go prepared at all, so felt quite ill. So I would strongly advise taking altitude sickness tablets before you land in Cusco, and taking them while you're there. Make use of the fantastic free coca tea at the hostel too. But don't let that put you off the hostel, because it is a lovely place to stay. Well worth the height!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well located about 10 minute walk up the hill from the main square. Friendly and helpful staff working the front desk and making breakfast. In fact, on my last night when I had an early flight the next day, Mario even offered to go out at night to buy bread so he could make me breakfast at 3am before I left. Great place to meet other backpackers without a noisy environment. I would stay there again.

Disliked: James helps you book tours from the hostel but his prices seemed expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff picked us up from airport despite a three hour flight delay. Offered to make breakfast for us at 445 AM Before we left for a trek. Quiet location away from car traffic. Great view of city. Always have hot water, coca leaves and tea available.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We liked this hostel and the people were very nice. Très jolie vue sur Cusco de la terasse, chambres mignonnes, avec chauffage central et eau chaude, un endroit simple mais chaleureux qui rappelle un peu les chalets de montagne. Les propriétaires sont adorables!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Having stayed elsewhere in Cuzco we found Sami Wasy to be very good, they looked after our bags whilst we did a Machu Picchu trek and were very helpful after we had checked out to get to the bus station. The Breakfast was lovely (great coffee!) and the staff were all very nice and helpful. I only wish we could have stayed here longer.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: From your room, you can see all Cusco, a great landscape!The cast is really friendly and helpful.It is clean with a good breakfast, comfortable bed and hot water!

Disliked: For old people could be a problem because from the Plaza de Armas you will have to climb some hills and stairs... But the ride is great, with a lot of stores and little squares.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice terasse with fantastic view, good breakfast, big rooms with heaters and hot water, very friendly and helpful staff, location central - perfect

Disliked: I don´t know anything to critizise!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff, good price. Stored our luggage and placed it into our room for us before we returned after a trek. Great WiFi and hot water.

Disliked: Very basic free breakfast (bread and jam, tea and/or coffee). Up some big steps (maybe difficult if you're not acclimatised).

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability