HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Hostel | Calle Atoqsaycuchi 416, Cusco, Peru San Blas

93.9% Overall Rating

221 out of 246 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Tom McKenna thinks…

"Having stayed elsewhere in Cuzco we found Sami Wasy to be very good, they looked after our bags whilst we did a Machu Picchu trek and were very helpful after we had checked out to get to the bus…"

Read all Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 26 reviews
Sanblas Backpacker Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 65.7% 12 reviews
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Second Home Cusco
60.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alfredo's Palace Hostal
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpacker La Boheme
10.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa De La Gringa
14.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 79 reviews
Hostel El Grial
24.00 USD

Hostel 96.0% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

221 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 191 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed elsewhere in Cuzco we found Sami Wasy to be very good, they looked after our bags whilst we did a Machu Picchu trek and were very helpful after we had checked out to get to the bus station. The Breakfast was lovely (great coffee!) and the staff were all very nice and helpful. I only wish we could have stayed here longer.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luna Loureiro

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 August 2014 Luna would recommend this property

Liked: From your room, you can see all Cusco, a great landscape! The cast is really friendly and helpful. It is clean with a good breakfast, comfortable bed and hot water!

Disliked: For old people could be a problem because from the Plaza de Armas you will have to climb some hills and stairs... But the ride is great, with a lot of stores and little squares.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice terasse with fantastic view, good breakfast, big rooms with heaters and hot water, very friendly and helpful staff, location central - perfect

Disliked: I don´t know anything to critizise!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tegan Jones

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2014 Tegan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good price. Stored our luggage and placed it into our room for us before we returned after a trek. Great WiFi and hot water.

Disliked: Very basic free breakfast (bread and jam, tea and/or coffee). Up some big steps (maybe difficult if you're not acclimatised).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing - they were realy nice and helpful. The location is perfect and the rooftop terrace had an incredible view of the city. The rooms were very clean too. I would definetely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing - it was a great place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debbie Cardiff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with the best views of Cusco. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Delicious breakfasts. Hot water showers.

Disliked: It's a bit of an uphill walk to the hostel, which can be difficult for those first couple days acclimatizing to the altitude, but it's so worth it once sitting on the patio sipping a cocoa tea.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We definitely liked splurging on this one. There was cable in the room with quite a few movie channels in English, when we got there the receptionist offered us hot water for tea in our room right away. She brought us a huge thermos of hot water that stayed hot all afternoon into the evening! We were in the delux room upstairs with a nice view over the city and the breakfast was pretty good with eggs, bread, coffee and homemade juice with some jam and butter. The wifi worked in the room although we had to go to the common room to Skype. We got a free airport pick up, which was GREAT b/c we would never have known how to get there and all the staff were super friendly! Really made us feel at home.

Disliked: The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but not the most uncomfortable either. Definitely have experienced worse, but they should get like a mattress topper or something. Just a little too firm for me. The kitchen does not have bowls that we could find so the one day we made soup we ate out of smaller pots.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena atención, habitaciones limpias y agradables. Cerca de la Plaza de Armas en un barrio tranquilo

Disliked: Lo único malo es que se encuentra casi en lo alto de un cerro, y llegar hasta aquí cuesta un poco, eso sí, las vistas merecen la pena

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good view over Cusco and good options for extra breakfast. Banana milk juice (smoothie) was great!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Walter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: great location, great views

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Eisinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Seeing the city of Cuzco from their deck is outstanding! It's a 10 minute walk to the main plaza and Cathedral. The staff has been extremely polite and helpful to me in all my travel arrangements. The hostel and the rooms are clean and I can't wait to come back.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All great except the pickup service trouble

Disliked: They told us: Our free pick-up service begin at 6:00am, we offer three options: - You can wait for the service until 6:00am -Take a taxi and after will back you the money (pay no more than 8 soles) -Change an airpot drop off at your leaving instead the pick-up service. We told them: You already told us these three options. We DONT like either of these three options. At hostelbookers.com it doesnt say your service starts at 6:00am. Your hostelbookers page http://www.hostelbookers.com/hostels/peru/cusco/4453/ says "Also FREE pick-up from airport/bus station to Samay Wasi, send us your arrival info.", which means it should work in 4:30am, 5:00am and etc. We sent you our arrival info and we want you to organize a pickup with your driver or with city taxi (or similar). We booked with you because of your reliable service based on your reviews. We hope you'll do what is right and organize someone to pick us up as promised on hostelbookers page?? And then they agreed to pick us up at 4:30am at cusco Bus station

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tobias Zirngibl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: nice view over the city

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Santiago Toro Acelas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was kind to us.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from plaza de armas.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Santiago Toro Acelas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind to us.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the plaza armas, you need to climb a little.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies who worked at Samay wasi were so friendly and helpful. They made your personalized breakfast fresh to order and always were quick to offer you hot tea or coffee at any point of the day/night. Great place, highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpfull. It is a bit uphill from the city center, but it is not that far, and the view is very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent Collins

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 April 2013 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: The view is great from the balcony, there is plenty of free cocoa tea around. Plenty of hot water in the shower and the place was warm enough despite the weather. The walk down hill to Plaza de aramas is short and fast and the area is nice around the hostel. Free airport pick up was a help as well.

Disliked: The walk TO the good stuff is easy but on your first day at altitude its a little tough to do the walk in reverse make sure that you take it slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Westermann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful arranging train bus and guide to Macchu Piccu. Excellent breakfast. Get the extra scr Scrambled eggs. Very helpful. Great service withh taxis to airport. Free pickip from airport worked perfect.Room anumber nd common areas spotless. Free hot tea anytime. Laundry service excellent. Quiet location on hillside. Great view of Cusco. Staff happy attentive and friendly.

Disliked: A little far from city.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend Samay Wasi. Got picked up from the airport promptly to the hostal for free. Staff was excellent and were extremely warm and helpful. Lack of lockers was no issue - you can leave your valuables with the frontdesk. Enjoyed the free flow coca and other teas. Free breakfast in the morning was great, I liked the fresh bread and coffee. Although you do have to pay for eggs. Did my laundry for a small fee which I was very satisfied. Ended up staying for NINE days...will miss this place!

Disliked: A good 10-15min walk upslope from the main square, but you get an AMAZING view of the city in return. The walks helped me acclimatized faster as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John A Howell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 John A would recommend this property

Liked: Judy at the front desk was so helpful, helped us work out all our details traveling to and from Machu Picchu, fed us coca tea or coffee whenever we wanted it. The place itself is beautiful, the upstairs room great for meeting other travelers, the breakfasts were superb, the atmosphere very friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about this place.

Disliked: It was at the top of a very picturesque and beautiful little street of steps. Hard the first day, got easier by the 2nd day, and probably great practice for breaking us into the high altitude atmosphere. Still, I was pretty breathless at the end of each climb.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Dorset

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2012 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great view over cusco

Disliked: Todd left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Dorset

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2012 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful. Nice personal breakfasts. Cheap to add some eggs to the free breads breakfast

Disliked: Todd left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karin attia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 karin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very friendly staff. Loved that they made swan figures out of your towels. Breakfast was DELISH.

Disliked: Wish breakfast was included in the price of the hostel.


See all Cusco hostels