HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels-Cusco Cusco Hostel

Calle Atoqsaycuchi No.416 San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

Showing 51-15 of 15 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The view over Cusco. Staff were excellent. Nice rooms, and the blankets were cosy. Nice touch with the decorative towels.

Disliked: Rooms could be s bit cold, but that's normal in Cusco.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Delivers what it promises. Staff is really helpful and reached out to us throughout our stay especially when my partner was sick for a few days with altitude sickness.

Disliked: They don´t really offer a variety of tour services.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excelent location, very beautiful place with good view of Cusco. Very clean place, friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: The shower wasn't draining the water properly, and I think there should be a better heating equipment, it was a bit cold

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. We could leave our big backbacks with them safetly while we did the salkantay trek. the hostel was clean and had towels and hot water. We booked another night there when we returned from our trek.

Disliked: The hostel was up a hill and there were a few steps to climb but most hostels in Cusco are the same and it didn´t put me off.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The view from the balcony was amazing. It was a cosy and friendly hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: From the patio of Samay Wasi #1, because it overlooks the city of Cusco, the scenic views are splendid both day and night. The hot water is hot. Towels are free. Everything is clean and well manager, safe and secure. Also included is a taxi pick up and drop off from the airport to the Hostel. Staff are very friendly, and will go out of their way to make your stay enjojable. Especially Monica who looked after us very well.

Disliked: There is very little to dislike in this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were fantastic, fantastic view of Cusco, breakfast included, good wifi (even in the dorm), clean, warm blankets and secure.

Disliked: Nothing. If you want a party hostel then this isn't the place for you.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We stayed at Samay Wasi for 3 weeks in Cusco in the end as we loved it so much. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and 4 as well, and felt the 6bed dorm was bigger and had more light (especially the great bathroom). Both dorm rooms always had piping hot showers with loads of pressure.The breakfast is normal Cusco type food with bread, jam, buttter, tea and coffee. You can order juices and eggs for a little extra. The kitchen is great with food mixers, every type of pan etc, microwave, 2 gas stoves etc. The hostel also boils water everyday and puts it into flasks so you have access to safe water all day and as much tea as you can drink all day.The views are also amazing!! The best i would say in Cusco (unless your at the monument at the top of the cliff). It is based in san blass which is up a hill and a few steps. If you've just flown in from sea level this may tire you out at altitude but we were ok and the view made up for it!! Finally the owner Monica the manager and the girls that work there are so friendly and make you feel at home. They are really super. I would really recommend this hostel. We have stayed in Peru for 7 weeks and this is the best place we've stayed in with great showers, views and hospitality. (you can also pay in USD here)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The people who work at the hostel are extremely friendly and helpful. The water pressure was good and we always had hot water available, and a good breakfast to start the day.

Disliked: it is a hike to get to, but not too bad overall.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability