HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels-Cusco Cusco

Hostel

Calle Atoqsaycuchi No.416 San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 94%

Location 88%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 94%

Location 88%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 96%

Showing 31-26 of 26 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Very friendly staff. Loved that they made swan figures out of your towels. Breakfast was DELISH.

Disliked: Wish breakfast was included in the price of the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the view was amazing! the staff were lovely and very quick to help at any point... the laundry was perfectly done and the room was very lovely and cosy! also, the eggs were delicious!

Disliked: the only thing for us was that it was quite cold at night in our room, but we had 4 blankets which was plenty, so once in bed we warmed up very quickly!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The view

Disliked: They did not have a cell phone to call my driver pick up service at 6am in the morning, so I had to ask a stranger to use his phone while waiting outside the hostal in an isolated area where there are no taxis. I nearly missed my bus.Would help it they had a phone service to call to confirm bookings in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were so helpful and kind! My jeans went missing at the local lavanderia and they tracked it down to someone staying at the hostel and got them back! It was also a friends birthday so the ladies made a cake for us all to share! The facilities were cleaned regularly and free tea/coffee throughout the day was great. The terrace was great to catch some afternoon sun and take in one of the best views of Cusco with a cold beer in hand. They also held our luggage for three days while we explored Machu Picchu which was awesome.

Disliked: Not much, however we suggest booking any Machu Picchu tours in town where you can shop around and get a better deal. We were offered one within about 1hr of checking in but found one for half the price at a different agency that offered more.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Samay Wasi Youth Hostel is a nice and safe place to stay in Cuzco. It's located a little bit uphill (10 minutes walk), in return you can enjoy a great view over the hole city. The staff is friedly, they offer a pickup service or they pay one of your ways from or to the airport/busstation. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the breakfast is basic but good. The WIFI is fast and there is a computer for everyones use.

Disliked: You have to pay for extra breakfast like eggs or fruit juices. One of the dorms is just next to the common area, therfor it can be a bit loud in the evening. And there's no locker, so the dorm is open all the time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The showers are soooo hot and the beds super comfy ç..just what you need after a 30 hour bus ride from Lima. There is free tea all day and beautiful views of cusco at breakfast. The staff are very giggly and super friedly...lovely lovely place. x

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The configuration makes it very conducive to meeting other travellers since you have to walk through the common area to exit.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people are very friendly and helpful. And it is very easy to meet other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was one of our best hostels in so far 3 months travelling. The service and the staff is amazing, so helpful in any case! Great view over Cusco as well. They serve breakfast individually (even at 4 am before you go on a trek) and we could also leave our luggage when we were away on the trek. When we got back our luggage was already ready for us in the room. Hot water, free tea the whole day. Felt very comfortable, anytime again.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were lovely, room pretty small, Amazing view!

Disliked: Very small kitchen no more than 2 people can prepare food in there

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability