HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels-Cusco Cusco Hostel

Calle Atoqsaycuchi No.416 San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

Showing 21-30 of 60 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: All great except the pickup service trouble

Disliked: They told us: Our free pick-up service begin at 6:00am, we offer three options:- You can wait for the service until 6:00am-Take a taxi and after will back you the money (pay no more than 8 soles)-Change an airpot drop off at your leaving instead the pick-up service.We told them:You already told us these three options. We DONT like either of these three options. At hostelbookers.com it doesnt say your service starts at 6:00am. Your hostelbookers page http://www.hostelbookers.com/hostels/peru/cusco/4453/ says "Also FREE pick-up from airport/bus station to Samay Wasi, send us your arrival info.", which means it should work in 4:30am, 5:00am and etc. We sent you our arrival info and we want you to organize a pickup with your driver or with city taxi (or similar). We booked with you because of your reliable service based on your reviews. We hope you'll do what is right and organize someone to pick us up as promised on hostelbookers page??And then they agreed to pick us up at 4:30am at cusco Bus station

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location, great views

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice view over the city

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: The staff was kind to us.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from plaza de armas.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The ladies who worked at Samay wasi were so friendly and helpful. They made your personalized breakfast fresh to order and always were quick to offer you hot tea or coffee at any point of the day/night. Great place, highly recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: The staff was very kind to us.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the plaza armas, you need to climb a little.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The view is great from the balcony, there is plenty of free cocoa tea around. Plenty of hot water in the shower and the place was warm enough despite the weather. The walk down hill to Plaza de aramas is short and fast and the area is nice around the hostel. Free airport pick up was a help as well.

Disliked: The walk TO the good stuff is easy but on your first day at altitude its a little tough to do the walk in reverse make sure that you take it slow.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpfull. It is a bit uphill from the city center, but it is not that far, and the view is very nice.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Most helpful arranging train bus and guide to Macchu Piccu. Excellent breakfast. Get the extra scrScrambled eggs. Very helpful. Great service withh taxis to airport. Free pickip from airport worked perfect.Room anumber nd common areas spotless. Free hot tea anytime. Laundry service excellent. Quiet location on hillside. Great view of Cusco. Staff happy attentive and friendly.

Disliked: A little far from city.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I highly recommend Samay Wasi.Got picked up from the airport promptly to the hostal for free.Staff was excellent and were extremely warm and helpful.Lack of lockers was no issue - you can leave your valuables with the frontdesk.Enjoyed the free flow coca and other teas.Free breakfast in the morning was great, I liked the fresh bread and coffee. Although you do have to pay for eggs.Did my laundry for a small fee which I was very satisfied.Ended up staying for NINE days...will miss this place!

Disliked: A good 10-15min walk upslope from the main square, but you get an AMAZING view of the city in return. The walks helped me acclimatized faster as well.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability