We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Hostel | Calle Atoqsaycuchi 416, Cusco, Peru San Blas

94.1% Overall Rating

224 out of 249 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Esther MacKinlay thinks…

"Helpful and friendly staff picked us up from airport despite a three hour flight delay. Offered to make breakfast for us at 445 AM Before we left for a trek. Quiet location away from car traffic.…"

Read all Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 26 reviews
Sanblas Backpacker Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 66.6% 13 reviews
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Second Home Cusco
60.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alfredo's Palace Hostal
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpacker La Boheme
9.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa De La Gringa
14.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 79 reviews
Hostal San Blas
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

224 out of 249 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 195 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doug Fleeton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: From the patio of Samay Wasi #1, because it overlooks the city of Cusco, the scenic views are splendid both day and night. The hot water is hot. Towels are free. Everything is clean and well manager, safe and secure. Also included is a taxi pick up and drop off from the airport to the Hostel. Staff are very friendly, and will go out of their way to make your stay enjojable. Especially Monica who looked after us very well.

Disliked: There is very little to dislike in this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah LAWTON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Samay Wasi for 3 weeks in Cusco in the end as we loved it so much. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and 4 as well, and felt the 6bed dorm was bigger and had more light (especially the great bathroom). Both dorm rooms always had piping hot showers with loads of pressure. The breakfast is normal Cusco type food with bread, jam, buttter, tea and coffee. You can order juices and eggs for a little extra. The kitchen is great with food mixers, every type of pan etc, microwave, 2 gas stoves etc. The hostel also boils water everyday and puts it into flasks so you have access to safe water all day and as much tea as you can drink all day. The views are also amazing!! The best i would say in Cusco (unless your at the monument at the top of the cliff). It is based in san blass which is up a hill and a few steps. If you've just flown in from sea level this may tire you out at altitude but we were ok and the view made up for it!! Finally the owner Monica the manager and the girls that work there are so friendly and make you feel at home. They are really super. I would really recommend this hostel. We have stayed in Peru for 7 weeks and this is the best place we've stayed in with great showers, views and hospitality. (you can also pay in USD here)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who work at the hostel are extremely friendly and helpful. The water pressure was good and we always had hot water available, and a good breakfast to start the day.

Disliked: it is a hike to get to, but not too bad overall.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near the center, the staff was very helpful, it was a peaceful place

Disliked: The room was cold in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so helpful and speak great English.

Disliked: You have to walk up lots of stairs to get to the hostel!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: let us use the kitchen, friendly

Disliked: you could not log onto hotmail or facebook

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From this hostel you have a very nice view over Cusco! The stuff was very friendly!

Disliked: The room smelled a bit of mould.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very comfortable stay, with an amazing view of the city. Nice, clean and secure. The staff was amazing and had breakfast ready everyday. It is a very short walk from Plaza de Armas, it is a quiet neighbourhood which is handy because it gets very loud in the town centre at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view and nice set up of the common areas.

Disliked: Have to go up stairs to get to it. Not easy to do when still getting used to Cusco.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view!!!

Disliked: Not really fun...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view of Cusco, amazing by night!

Disliked: Not really fun...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast and WiFi. Lots of hot water. Good view of Cusco.

Disliked: Room was a little cold at night. It is also up a big hill, but that does give you a good view of the city.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Silveira

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2010 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfull, the hostel is very clean even the shared bathrooms, it has a cosy atmosphere!

Disliked: The only negative thing is that the building has a wood floor and if you are unlucky to have a downstairs bedroom (like me) you won´t sleep untill the guests upstairs go to bed!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Average. Good price but not to expect to much.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot better than on the pictures on the website, lovely place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naama Cohen

01 April 2010 Naama would recommend this property

Liked: great great great hostel!!!!! staff are VERY nice and haelpfull!!! the histek makes you feel like home!!! great breakfast!! the only problam is the locatiun....it is about 10 min walking from the center and the way back is up hill so you gotta take a taxi, and most of them dont wanna go so far...

Disliked: Naama left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 January 2010

Liked: the walls in the room are carved in the rock

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Robbins

18 January 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay, staff were awesome, were met at aiport for free transport, extremely helpful including when we got sick and required assistance

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great view of the city and had basic clean facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brent Little

19 December 2009 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: The people at samay wasi were great. whenever i needed anything they were willing to help. i recommend to anyone

Disliked: Brent left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 December 2009

Liked: Came back from our 4 day Inca Trail to find that my backpack had been soaked in the storage room and they weren´t going to tell me, despite the bags being in a different room when I went to collect it. Books, ipod, shoes, etc were ruined. Manager was called and didn´t apologise for it, just kept asking me what I wanted him to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view!But the dorm next to the reception is quite noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The views of the city from the hostel are really good. The free airport pick-up was done by a travel agent whose services you´re then free to use if you wish - he´s very good, helpful and not at all pushy with his services. His help was invaluable in getting some of our group visas back into Bolivia by calling in favours with some friends ... very helpful indeed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels