We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Hostel | Calle Atoqsaycuchi 416, Cusco, Peru San Blas

93.9% Overall Rating

221 out of 246 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Tom McKenna thinks…

"Having stayed elsewhere in Cuzco we found Sami Wasy to be very good, they looked after our bags whilst we did a Machu Picchu trek and were very helpful after we had checked out to get to the bus…"

Read all Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 26 reviews
Sanblas Backpacker Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 65.7% 12 reviews
Hospedaje Kuntur Wasi
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Second Home Cusco
60.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alfredo's Palace Hostal
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Backpacker La Boheme
10.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa De La Gringa
14.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 79 reviews
Hostal San Blas
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

221 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karlie alton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 karlie would recommend this property

Liked: the view was amazing! the staff were lovely and very quick to help at any point... the laundry was perfectly done and the room was very lovely and cosy! also, the eggs were delicious!

Disliked: the only thing for us was that it was quite cold at night in our room, but we had 4 blankets which was plenty, so once in bed we warmed up very quickly!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view

Disliked: They did not have a cell phone to call my driver pick up service at 6am in the morning, so I had to ask a stranger to use his phone while waiting outside the hostal in an isolated area where there are no taxis. I nearly missed my bus. Would help it they had a phone service to call to confirm bookings in the morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Samay Wasi Youth Hostel is a nice and safe place to stay in Cuzco. It's located a little bit uphill (10 minutes walk), in return you can enjoy a great view over the hole city. The staff is friedly, they offer a pickup service or they pay one of your ways from or to the airport/busstation. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the breakfast is basic but good. The WIFI is fast and there is a computer for everyones use.

Disliked: You have to pay for extra breakfast like eggs or fruit juices. One of the dorms is just next to the common area, therfor it can be a bit loud in the evening. And there's no locker, so the dorm is open all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful and kind! My jeans went missing at the local lavanderia and they tracked it down to someone staying at the hostel and got them back! It was also a friends birthday so the ladies made a cake for us all to share! The facilities were cleaned regularly and free tea/coffee throughout the day was great. The terrace was great to catch some afternoon sun and take in one of the best views of Cusco with a cold beer in hand. They also held our luggage for three days while we explored Machu Picchu which was awesome.

Disliked: Not much, however we suggest booking any Machu Picchu tours in town where you can shop around and get a better deal. We were offered one within about 1hr of checking in but found one for half the price at a different agency that offered more.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very friendly and helpful. And it is very easy to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Peeney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are soooo hot and the beds super comfy ç..just what you need after a 30 hour bus ride from Lima. There is free tea all day and beautiful views of cusco at breakfast. The staff are very giggly and super friedly...lovely lovely place. x

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Gow

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The configuration makes it very conducive to meeting other travellers since you have to walk through the common area to exit.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Stein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of our best hostels in so far 3 months travelling. The service and the staff is amazing, so helpful in any case! Great view over Cusco as well. They serve breakfast individually (even at 4 am before you go on a trek) and we could also leave our luggage when we were away on the trek. When we got back our luggage was already ready for us in the room. Hot water, free tea the whole day. Felt very comfortable, anytime again.

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely, room pretty small, Amazing view!

Disliked: Very small kitchen no more than 2 people can prepare food in there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely staff, really made our staff in Cusco memorable. comfy beds and good location too!

Disliked: showers were a little patchy, alternating between hot and cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

steve mckenzie

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 steve would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, location OK, very clean, tidy and comfy rooms. Breakfast from 4.30 if you need to get up early for Machu Pichu.

Disliked: A bit lacking in atmosphere but I gues most people only stay for one night and your to bed early and up early.so its not really a problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: it's good view to see Cusco downtown in this hostel.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: So many good things to say. First they offer to pick you up from the bus station. Breakfast is amazing. The staff are over the top friendly. Stunning view from the terrace. The location is amazing with tons of small shops and places to eat around. Top 5 in our 6 months of traveling. Great job guys.

Disliked: Derek left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful experience-- breakfast was great. They did my laundry for a small fee I stored a few bags here while I was in machu picchu. Also were very accommodating with a slightly late check-out. Great experience all in all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: The view over Cusco. Staff were excellent. Nice rooms, and the blankets were cosy. Nice touch with the decorative towels.

Disliked: Rooms could be s bit cold, but that's normal in Cusco.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lara verba

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 lara would recommend this property

Liked: the people here are very frendly and they realy want to help you.

Disliked: the brekfeast its very simple and basic

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, Hot showers.

Disliked: Very cold. Breakfast very simple unless you pay for extra

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice clean rooms & TV in the room is great for chilling out. Good location, not far from the square, Av Lima etc. Very helpful and friendly staff, who spoke good English. Would reccommend it! :-)

Disliked: The breakfast suffers from the same fate as the rest of South America....hard bread and jam, served sloooowly. The showers are luke-warm at best - would be a point to improve as the bathrooms are modern, clean and its a shame you can't get a hot...or even warm shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nuno abreu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 nuno would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location, very beautiful place with good view of Cusco. Very clean place, friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: The shower wasn't draining the water properly, and I think there should be a better heating equipment, it was a bit cold

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delivers what it promises. Staff is really helpful and reached out to us throughout our stay especially when my partner was sick for a few days with altitude sickness.

Disliked: They don´t really offer a variety of tour services.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. We could leave our big backbacks with them safetly while we did the salkantay trek. the hostel was clean and had towels and hot water. We booked another night there when we returned from our trek.

Disliked: The hostel was up a hill and there were a few steps to climb but most hostels in Cusco are the same and it didn´t put me off.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the balcony was amazing. It was a cosy and friendly hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Chalmers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic, fantastic view of Cusco, breakfast included, good wifi (even in the dorm), clean, warm blankets and secure.

Disliked: Nothing. If you want a party hostel then this isn't the place for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doug Fleeton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: From the patio of Samay Wasi #1, because it overlooks the city of Cusco, the scenic views are splendid both day and night. The hot water is hot. Towels are free. Everything is clean and well manager, safe and secure. Also included is a taxi pick up and drop off from the airport to the Hostel. Staff are very friendly, and will go out of their way to make your stay enjojable. Especially Monica who looked after us very well.

Disliked: There is very little to dislike in this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah LAWTON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Samay Wasi for 3 weeks in Cusco in the end as we loved it so much. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and 4 as well, and felt the 6bed dorm was bigger and had more light (especially the great bathroom). Both dorm rooms always had piping hot showers with loads of pressure. The breakfast is normal Cusco type food with bread, jam, buttter, tea and coffee. You can order juices and eggs for a little extra. The kitchen is great with food mixers, every type of pan etc, microwave, 2 gas stoves etc. The hostel also boils water everyday and puts it into flasks so you have access to safe water all day and as much tea as you can drink all day. The views are also amazing!! The best i would say in Cusco (unless your at the monument at the top of the cliff). It is based in san blass which is up a hill and a few steps. If you've just flown in from sea level this may tire you out at altitude but we were ok and the view made up for it!! Finally the owner Monica the manager and the girls that work there are so friendly and make you feel at home. They are really super. I would really recommend this hostel. We have stayed in Peru for 7 weeks and this is the best place we've stayed in with great showers, views and hospitality. (you can also pay in USD here)

Disliked: Nothing


See all Cusco hostels