HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels-Cusco Cusco Hostel

Calle Atoqsaycuchi No.416 San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 94%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

Showing 11-17 of 17 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice terasse with fantastic view, good breakfast, big rooms with heaters and hot water, very friendly and helpful staff, location central - perfect

Disliked: I don´t know anything to critizise!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff, good price. Stored our luggage and placed it into our room for us before we returned after a trek. Great WiFi and hot water.

Disliked: Very basic free breakfast (bread and jam, tea and/or coffee). Up some big steps (maybe difficult if you're not acclimatised).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were amazing - they were realy nice and helpful. The location is perfect and the rooftop terrace had an incredible view of the city. The rooms were very clean too. I would definetely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing - it was a great place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Hostel with the best views of Cusco. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Delicious breakfasts. Hot water showers.

Disliked: It's a bit of an uphill walk to the hostel, which can be difficult for those first couple days acclimatizing to the altitude, but it's so worth it once sitting on the patio sipping a cocoa tea.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: We definitely liked splurging on this one. There was cable in the room with quite a few movie channels in English, when we got there the receptionist offered us hot water for tea in our room right away. She brought us a huge thermos of hot water that stayed hot all afternoon into the evening! We were in the delux room upstairs with a nice view over the city and the breakfast was pretty good with eggs, bread, coffee and homemade juice with some jam and butter. The wifi worked in the room although we had to go to the common room to Skype. We got a free airport pick up, which was GREAT b/c we would never have known how to get there and all the staff were super friendly! Really made us feel at home.

Disliked: The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but not the most uncomfortable either. Definitely have experienced worse, but they should get like a mattress topper or something. Just a little too firm for me. The kitchen does not have bowls that we could find so the one day we made soup we ate out of smaller pots.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Buena atención, habitaciones limpias y agradables. Cerca de la Plaza de Armas en un barrio tranquilo

Disliked: Lo único malo es que se encuentra casi en lo alto de un cerro, y llegar hasta aquí cuesta un poco, eso sí, las vistas merecen la pena

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, good view over Cusco and good options for extra breakfast. Banana milk juice (smoothie) was great!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Seeing the city of Cuzco from their deck is outstanding! It's a 10 minute walk to the main plaza and Cathedral. The staff has been extremely polite and helpful to me in all my travel arrangements. The hostel and the rooms are clean and I can't wait to come back.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: All great except the pickup service trouble

Disliked: They told us: Our free pick-up service begin at 6:00am, we offer three options:- You can wait for the service until 6:00am-Take a taxi and after will back you the money (pay no more than 8 soles)-Change an airpot drop off at your leaving instead the pick-up service.We told them:You already told us these three options. We DONT like either of these three options. At hostelbookers.com it doesnt say your service starts at 6:00am. Your hostelbookers page http://www.hostelbookers.com/hostels/peru/cusco/4453/ says "Also FREE pick-up from airport/bus station to Samay Wasi, send us your arrival info.", which means it should work in 4:30am, 5:00am and etc. We sent you our arrival info and we want you to organize a pickup with your driver or with city taxi (or similar). We booked with you because of your reliable service based on your reviews. We hope you'll do what is right and organize someone to pick us up as promised on hostelbookers page??And then they agreed to pick us up at 4:30am at cusco Bus station

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability