We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Quechua Hostal

Guesthouse | Chaparro 173-D, San Pedro, Cusco, Peru 000

87.0% Overall Rating

32 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2011)

"The location of the property was not bad - a few blocks from the main plaza, but not an area with many good restaurants. The hostel honoured the'free airport pick up', though it came with conditions. The staff were…"

Read all Quechua Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Net House B&B
18.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Point Cusco
7.80 USD

Hostel 76.8% 191 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Cusco
10.26 USD

Hostel 93.5% 259 reviews
Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
8.86 USD

Hostel 87.5% 55 reviews
Hostal Qosqo
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pirwa San Blas Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 76.1% 145 reviews
Marlon's Hostel In Cusco
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.5% 194 reviews
SUMAYAQ HOSTEL CUSCO
6.81 USD

Hostel 96.7% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

32 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Quechua Hostal'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gustavo machado

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: isolation, neat, fresh juice!!!

Disliked: no wi fi just in my pc

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011

Liked: The owner tried to help, but have nothing to offer

Disliked: Cold, need to ask for turning on wi fi

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011

Liked: The location of the property was not bad - a few blocks from the main plaza, but not an area with many good restaurants. The hostel honoured the'free airport pick up', though it came with conditions. The staff were reasonably friendly.

Disliked: The window of our room looked out on to a wall a few feet away, even though the hostel was empty other than us. The staff also had a habit of switching off the wi-fi without telling you and the hostel was very cold. Although there was a fire in the common area, the staff did not put it on and the only way to stay warm in the room was to get in to bed. Furthermore, when we came to settle the bill for the room, the staff applied a very poor conversion rate for the US dollar:Peruvian sol. Breakfast was the same as normal in Peru - jam and bread, though you are paying more for this hostel than other places. The kitchen is also a very makeshift affair with only hot water and a microwave available. The 'free airport pick up' was actually organised by a tour company. We were then obliged to wait for half an hour at the hostel for a representative from the company to come and talk to us about all the tours on offer in Cusco. Although we were told by the hostel lady that booking a tour was not obligatory, the tour company rep was incredibly pushy and demanding. His prices were also outrageous, we discovered once we spoke to other people. Thankfully we did not book any tours with him, but the attitude of the rep and the hostel staff was not helpful on this note. In the end we decided to stay only one night and found somewhere else to stay in Cusco.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca bullock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay in cusco!! The hostel itself is clean and very comfortable with great facilities, the rooms are exceptional, best we have had in south America. The best part though was the staff, everyone was awesome! Would so reccomend this hostel to anyone visiting cusco.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location just few minutes walk from the city centre. Very clean. Spacious room and bathroom. Wi-fi, car park, breakfast included, we even had extra heater in our room. Helpful lady speaks English.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kalie Lowrie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Kalie would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and nice accommodations, especially for the price!

Disliked: It was really cold in the rooms at night - there was not any heat. And there was not always hot water. It was unpredictable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

TEPPEI MUNAKATA

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 TEPPEI would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff working there were very kind and helpful that differentiated from other hostels where we stayed. I recommend this hostel from the point of location for discoverying Cusco. It is located quite convenient area that is easy access to sightseeing, shopping and local markets .

Disliked: Printer was out of use when asked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Shlaes

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Carmen who works at the front desk is so sweet and helpful, it was a pleasure seeing her every day. She called us a cab on two occasions when we were going to the airport and other places. The Quechua hostel was very clean and good breakfast - tea, juice and bread. It was a short walk to the Plaza de Armas and felt very safe.

Disliked: The only thing I would say negatively about this place was that our room was freezing. It was fine while in bed because we had plenty of blankets but our window faced an air shaft so it got no direct light and getting out of bed was difficult.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Baptiste Scherer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2011 Jean-Baptiste would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpfull and friendly!! Go out of there way to make you confortable and get the information you ask.

Disliked: - No real kitchen (just a microwave and water cooker) - room was super dark and cold (ask for room with exterior window and you wil be so much better of for the same price) - The travel agency the hostel works with can not be recomendet (guids don't speek good english, we didn't get what we believe we paid for and had agreed on, not on time, not too friendly due to language skills maybe)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly owner who was happy to talk and help practise spanish conversation. The other staff were also friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Good location. Good rooms. Nice communal areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Birgit Gasteiger

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2010 Birgit would recommend this property

Liked: Bright room and lounge, relatively big bathroom.

Disliked: It was cold in the lounge and the heating (wood stove) was even not heated or heated too late in the evening. Payment only possible in dollars or with a bad exchange rate in Soles.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, super quiet location, very safe and secure, free internet and lovely staff! Definitly recommend to all!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, very friendly and helpfull staff, free internet.

Disliked: View of the rooms is for a wall. Transfer back to the airport was not included, as advertide on their website.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was definitly the best hostel throughout our Peru Trip. We felt very secure with dogs watching the property, The hostal was very clean with clean up service every day,typical breakfast was provided and the staff was very helpful. Wifi worked well and an additional computer is available of free use in the "lobby".

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ramiro Velez

14 June 2010 Juan Ramiro would recommend this property

Liked: very confortable and you find friendly staff

Disliked: Juan Ramiro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Wymore

20 March 2010 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Like staying in a motel, very friendly and helpful, tour guides available VERY REASONABLE and accommodating.

Disliked: Donald left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Heneghan

11 March 2010 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Big clean room and bathroom

Disliked: Damien left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Otto Helberg

27 November 2009 Otto would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! Awesome staff! Enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Otto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Hugues Laurin

21 November 2009 Jean-Hugues would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely helpful.Quiet place.

Disliked: Jean-Hugues left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Latos

07 November 2009 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel we stayed in South America. We can recommend this place to anyone visiting Cusco. Good value for money, very good location, clean room with hot shower, extremely nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rodrigo Mendes

28 October 2009 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: People there were very nice, helpfull, friendly.....very good staff, very good hostel. Far away 500 meters from main square, but a nice and secure walk, was realy a pleasure. They got advices at the entrance that acepts ISIC cards, but it's not true. I recomend!

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, beautiful staff, not english speaking but very nice and helpful all the same.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanne Etherington

25 August 2009 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and very friendly staff, although they don´t speak much English but will try their best for you. Rooms were nice and clean, and although Cusco is cold at night they do have heating although this isn´t put on early enough! Recommended!!!!

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the "welcome tea" (something to warm you up can be important in Cusco at that time of the year...) and their friendly staff. We could leave our bags there for free when we were going to Machu Picchu. Showers were hot. If you´re freezing, just ask for more blankets. It is quite a new building (so cannot offer the same atmosphere as those ancient buildings), it´s within walking distance to the central square; it was really quiet both nights we stayed there. I liked it. ...and I guess everything is a bit more expensive in Cusco compared to other places...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Dias Correa

31 July 2009 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful, the place is really nice, it actually doesnt`t look like a hostel, but like a hotel. My friends and I were amazed. It´s 500 meters from the main square (people think it`s far, but it`s a pleasant walk and it`s quiet, the center is too noisy), next to San Pedro Church and market. It`s a local market, not something for tourists, something really ineteresting. You should think twice before choosing a cheaper place.

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels