We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Guesthouse | Asociación San Marcos A3, San Blas, Cusco, Peru 000

81.0% Overall Rating

73 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

"Very nice view. Nice breakfast. The young employees are nice, the guy speaks good English and will try to help you."

Read all Home Sweet Home-Mirador reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All major credit cards taken. Prices are per person per night with breakfast included. We offer reduced terms for a visit of more than 2 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Pirwa San Blas Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 76.1% 145 reviews
La Casa de mi Abuelo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 60 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
Net House B&B
17.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
QorichaskaPeru
17.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 10 reviews
Hostel Kilombo
9.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Marlon's Hostel In Cusco
12.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 199 reviews
Mama Simona Hostel
10.60 USD

Hostel 92.0% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

73 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Home Sweet Home-Mirador'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 79 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014

Liked: Very nice view. Nice breakfast. The young employees are nice, the guy speaks good English and will try to help you.

Disliked: Don't trust them! The old man who seems to be the owner is dishonest, disrespectful, unfriendly and greedy. We stayed there for a few days, then went to the machu picchu and made a booking for two more nights after our return. We had also left our backpack in their storage room which guaranteed we would come back. We warned the old man that we would come back during the night, at about 2 in the morning. He said "es normal, no problema, no problema". But when we came back, at 2 in the morning like we had said, it turned out the hotel was full because the old man had given our room to someone else. He was absolutely rude and said it was our fault if he hadn't kept the room because it was late at night so he didn't want to loose the money for the room and gave it to someone else. He even said it wasn't his problem if we didn't have a place to stay!!! Since I insisted he let us sleep for a few hours on the (small) sofas of the veranda where it is freezing cold. At 6.30 in the morning he came to wake us up because he didn't want other guests to see us there! Incredibly rude. Only the young guy apologised in the morning and offered us breakfast which was a small confort after having put up with the old man's extreme rudeness. There are only 2 common bathrooms (with toilets inside) for the whole hotel which means that every time you will need to use the shower, toilet or simply the faucet you will have to queue. The bathrooms are out of toilet paper half of the time. There isn't enough hot water for everyone so most of the time the shower is lukewarm to cold.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: The location has a good view

Disliked: The old man who runs it ruined our stay. He won't leave you alone and tried to kick us out of the kitchen mid-meal. He really did spoil it for us. Do not stay here

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vinicius Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2014 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff made us feel home. They also helped us with our luggage that only arrived a couple of days later than us. Breakfast was good with differente types of tea. The view is just amazing!

Disliked: It's a considerable walk from the main square of Cusco, but it's still worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, I think many people would not give Home Sweet Home a high rating on Location due to the difficulties of getting to it - there is a huge, steep uphill if you're coming from Plaza de las Armas. However, I have to say that the location really is indeed one of its best assets. It's has a wonderful view of Cuzco, easy hiking access to Sacsayhuaman, Zona X, Templo de la Luna and of course, it's a very easy walking down the hill towards the center. In Addition, I loved the location close by Plaza San Blas. On the way up from the center (or whereever you're coming from) there is a bazillion things going on the streets. From Peruvian gift shops to local restaurants, to travel agencies to my favorite: exposure to the local traditions that occur every now and then at night. Sometimes you run into local groups praying ourside Iglesia San Blas with live performace.

Disliked: I think the one thing I disliked the most was having to knock the door/ring the bell to get access to the hostel. I really wished there was a key to access the main door. I personally felt bad having to wake up the owner most nights when we arrived late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best district to be in in Cusco (San Blas) so many lovely cafes and artisan crafts. The hostel is very comfortable, I stayed in the 5 bed dorm, it was very nice and there are 2 good common areas with amazing views of the city, not to mention the huge tv and film collection or great breakfast (which includes a pancake!). Friendly owner and they do a laundry service for 4 sole a kilo, not bad. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend. (Warning-San Blas has amazing views which means you have to climb many stairs! But it's worth it!)

Disliked: It was a bit cold at night, but this is Cusco after all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephanie Abbott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Really great views from The sitting area. Good breaky and super friendly staff.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great (eggs, pancake, juices). Rooms are clean. San Blas is nice area on the hill above the noise of Cusco central.

Disliked: No insulation so very cold (although I think most of Cusco is cold at night). You have to wake up the owner every evening when you come back, no easy in-out entry like the larger hostels. Limited hot water. Apart from breakfast time, we didn't really see anyone else so atmosphere is a bit quiet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a heater in the room included They helped us with getting a taxi to the airport. If this is something worth mentioning

Disliked: 1. They know very little english, except for the big young guy. The old man and the other two person know very little english 2. They tried to charge us approx. 10% more AGAIN. This is the second time! They didnt take the hostelbookers 10% reservation downpayment. Very inconvenient! I wonder why would they not charge us 20% less? How they come they think they should charge more and they never think to charge less? 3. Overall, abit disorganized, specially in the afternoon/nights when the old man is on it's own and he sleep next to the entrance door.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a heater in each room They allowed us to leave the luggage for three days there

Disliked: 1. They know very little english, except for the big young guy. The old man and the other two person know very little english 2. No hot water when we arrived from MP 4 day trek. They told us to wait that the gas need time and then after 15-20 minutes they fixed it eventually. They should of checked it before we arrived 3. They tried to charge us approx. 10% more. They didnt take the hostelbookers 10% reservation downpayment. Very inconvenient! I wonder why would they not charge us 20% less? How they come they think they should charge more and they never think to charge less? 4. They left us at breakfast without knife and fork for ~20 min :) 5. Overall, abit disorganized, specially in the afternoon/nights when the old man is on it's own and he sleep next to the entrance door.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best Hostel we stayed in, during our 6-Month Southamerica Trip. Great Breakfast, good Wifi, nice Staff and most important: hot Shower !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice and enthusiastic and tries to resolve everything quickly. Our curtain rod broke on the second day, and by the time we came back in the late afternoon, he had already taken care of it. We arrived very early in the morning to Cusco and had nothing to do, so we got to the hostel around 7AM, and the owner cooked us breakfast (which was PEN$10 because we hadn't checked in yet). The breakfasts thereafter were free, and all consisted of a crepe-like pancake, a wide variety of teas and coca leaves, two sweetbread mini loaves per person, and one egg (scrambled or fried) per person. It was amazing! The building had little insulation, but our bed had plenty of thick blankets to keep us warm when we were sleeping; I wasn't even chilled in the slightest. We were in a private room, and though the bathroom was small, the shower was surprisingly spacious and in the evenings, there was plenty of hot water. The view of the city was breathtaking, and the hostel sold 2L of water for PEN$3, which was on par with or cheaper than some of the markets we went to, so we ended up buying water most nights. There was a luggage storage room where we were able to leave our stuff before we checked in and after we checked out. We did laundry twice through the hostel, and though it was slightly pricier than the laundromats down the street (PEN$4/kilo instead of $2 or $3), they didn't lose any of our clothes. Linens were provided, and we didn't ask about towels as we had brought our own. The staff were very helpful when it came to recommending places to eat for different types of food and telling us how to get places, and they called a taxi for us to get back to the airport and arranged the payment beforehand (it was PEN$10 instead of the $30 we paid to get to the hostel). The climb up the stairs to the hostel was difficult at first, but once you learned to get into a breathing rhythm, it was nowhere near as bad as making the climb up to Dead Woman's Pass on the Inca Trail, and the view was totally worth it!

Disliked: There was little to no insulation in the entire building, so it was very cold if you didn't bundle up outside of bed or running the shower (this could also be due to the fact that it's fall and thus, things are not going to be warm all of the time). There was only really hot water in the late afternoon/night (I think the water heater may have been solar powered), so showering in the mornings gave you the options of cold or not-so-cold water. I didn't mind showering at night, so this wasn't much of an issue for me. One thing that did somewhat annoy me was the noise-- the hostel was definitely quieter than some of the more party-friendly hostels I've stayed in on other trips, and I wasn't awakened every night at 4AM by people coming in late, but you could hear the people in the room next to you talking and sound definitely carried, so if you were loud, the entire hostel could hear it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great (pancake, egg, bread, jam). The owner is very friendly and goes out of his way to help you. Our shower wasn't working on our first evening, but after alerting the owner he immediately fixed the problem.

Disliked: The steps up to the hostel, but once you get rid of your rucksack it isn't so bad.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and comfy bed with a good view.

Disliked: Nearly impossible to find! The description on the homepage was not adequate enough to find the place easily. Paper thin walls so you could hear everything ... People talking, walking around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: great staff with a nice homely feel to the place. the cleaning lady is super friendly always smiling and helpful where she can. the owner's father is often there all the time to help with things and very friendly and funny! location is good for the altitude training and the view of the city great. they can book tours for you and bus tickets.

Disliked: many steps from the lower street (choqechaka)! the upper floors creak whenever u move about, but adds to the character!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed one night but found it lovely! The owner was great as we arrived at 5.30am and he let us rest until check in in a private room. Incredible breakfast and views over the city. The only downside is the killer stairs to get to it!

Disliked: Stairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Lellis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the breakfast, the rooms, and the environment were wonderful! The señor of the casa is very helpful and welcoming. His son, Lucho, speaks English very well and gives you a map with attractions upon your arrival. He indicated some things of interest to us personally, from practical things like supermarkets, to tourist attractions. My husband got sick while we were in Cusco. The señor called the doctor, who came to the hostel an examined him. The señor also made him a special tea in an effort to soothe his stomach. The lady that helps at the hostel and serves breakfast is very sweet and sincere. Breakfast was the best we've had in Peru: tea or coffee, a crepe, an egg, and bread. They kept our stuff safe while we did the Inca Trail and were so great to us that we stayed two extra days!

Disliked: The only reasons I gave lower marks for facilities was because there was no hot water on the top floor (where the dorms, a private room, and shared bathroom are). This made showering a bit inconvenient at times trying to coordinate sharing the one bathroom and shower on the first floor. One day when we planned on cooking dinner, there was no gas for the stove.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luis and his team - they were friendly, informative and extremely helpful with organising things (they booked our Salkantay trek which we were really pleased with and found good value for money). Room and facilities - clean, good facilities (including hot showers and a heater and wifi in our room), secure and a generally chilled and pleasant atmosphere with a great view over Cusco. Location - good value for money with plenty of bars and restaurants close by. We didn't mind the stairs - in fact, they were a good warm up for our trek to Machu Picchu. Best homemade brownies we've had in South America!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and helpful staff, nice rooms, awesome view over cusco

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013

Liked: The breakfast was great. The staff were really friendly.

Disliked: The beds were uncomfortable. The blankets do not look or feel clean. The bathroom smelt interesting. The hot water is very sporadic. 3 mins cold, 30 secs extremely hot, not nice in the cold wet weather of Cusco. The walk up to the hostel from where the cab drops you, is steep. only go if you have a light pack.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spent three nights in a double with private ensuite. Lovely hostel over-looking the city. Genuinely friendly and helpful staff, very clean throughout, hot shower, lovely breakfast ( pancake - yay!), good PC and wi-fi... absolutely recommended. Yes, the hostel is up the side of a hill where some slopes and steps require a bit of stamina, but take your time and you soon get used to them (and the view is worth it)... a small price to pay to be less than 10 mins walk from the stunning main plaza!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Komelj

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Great showers for warming up after a cold day in Cusco. Cheap beer.

Disliked: Private bathroom of one of the rooms is outside the room and you can't really walk to it in your underwear without anyone seeing you. Manager moved us to another room when we pointed this out, so everything was fine eventually.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUAN FRANCO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 JUAN would recommend this property

Liked: staff and views

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vinicius Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, great breakfast. They were very kind to keep our luggage while we were in Machu Picchu.

Disliked: Location is not the best, but it's OK when you get used to it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Great view and excellent breakfast!

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Magnificent view of the city, big breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, possibility to use computer and internet.

Disliked: Sometimes the heater didn't work correctly and we hadn't hot water in the shower:(


See all Cusco hostels