HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Welcome Cusco Hostel Guesthouse

Asociacion San Marcos A-3-San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 78%

Location 75%

Safety 84%

Staff 85%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Mini-bar
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.00USD

Important Information

All major credit cards taken. Prices are per person per night with breakfast included.
We offer reduced terms for a visit of more than 2 nights.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 78%

Location 75%

Safety 84%

Staff 85%

Value 82%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice view. Nice breakfast. The young employees are nice, the guy speaks good English and will try to help you.

Disliked: Don't trust them!The old man who seems to be the owner is dishonest, disrespectful, unfriendly and greedy. We stayed there for a few days, then went to the machu picchu and made a booking for two more nights after our return. We had also left our backpack in their storage room which guaranteed we would come back. We warned the old man that we would come back during the night, at about 2 in the morning. He said "es normal, no problema, no problema". But when we came back, at 2 in the morning like we had said, it turned out the hotel was full because the old man had given our room to someone else. He was absolutely rude and said it was our fault if he hadn't kept the room because it was late at night so he didn't want to loose the money for the room and gave it to someone else. He even said it wasn't his problem if we didn't have a place to stay!!!Since I insisted he let us sleep for a few hours on the (small) sofas of the veranda where it is freezing cold. At 6.30 in the morning he came to wake us up because he didn't want other guests to see us there!Incredibly rude. Only the young guy apologised in the morning and offered us breakfast which was a small confort after having put up with the old man's extreme rudeness. There are only 2 common bathrooms (with toilets inside) for the whole hotel which means that every time you will need to use the shower, toilet or simply the faucet you will have to queue.The bathrooms are out of toilet paper half of the time. There isn't enough hot water for everyone so most of the time the shower is lukewarm to cold.

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location has a good view

Disliked: The old man who runs it ruined our stay. He won't leave you alone and tried to kick us out of the kitchen mid-meal. He really did spoil it for us. Do not stay here

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Honestly, I think many people would not give Home Sweet Home a high rating on Location due to the difficulties of getting to it - there is a huge, steep uphill if you're coming from Plaza de las Armas. However, I have to say that the location really is indeed one of its best assets. It's has a wonderful view of Cuzco, easy hiking access to Sacsayhuaman, Zona X, Templo de la Luna and of course, it's a very easy walking down the hill towards the center. In Addition, I loved the location close by Plaza San Blas. On the way up from the center (or whereever you're coming from) there is a bazillion things going on the streets. From Peruvian gift shops to local restaurants, to travel agencies to my favorite: exposure to the local traditions that occur every now and then at night. Sometimes you run into local groups praying ourside Iglesia San Blas with live performace.

Disliked: I think the one thing I disliked the most was having to knock the door/ring the bell to get access to the hostel. I really wished there was a key to access the main door. I personally felt bad having to wake up the owner most nights when we arrived late.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best district to be in in Cusco (San Blas) so many lovely cafes and artisan crafts. The hostel is very comfortable, I stayed in the 5 bed dorm, it was very nice and there are 2 good common areas with amazing views of the city, not to mention the huge tv and film collection or great breakfast (which includes a pancake!). Friendly owner and they do a laundry service for 4 sole a kilo, not bad. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend. (Warning-San Blas has amazing views which means you have to climb many stairs! But it's worth it!)

Disliked: It was a bit cold at night, but this is Cusco after all.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really great views from The sitting area. Good breaky and super friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They have a heater in each roomThey allowed us to leave the luggage for three days there

Disliked: 1. They know very little english, except for the big young guy. The old man and the other two person know very little english2. No hot water when we arrived from MP 4 day trek. They told us to wait that the gas need time and then after 15-20 minutes they fixed it eventually. They should of checked it before we arrived3. They tried to charge us approx. 10% more. They didnt take the hostelbookers 10% reservation downpayment. Very inconvenient! I wonder why would they not charge us 20% less? How they come they think they should charge more and they never think to charge less?4. They left us at breakfast without knife and fork for ~20 min :)5. Overall, abit disorganized, specially in the afternoon/nights when the old man is on it's own and he sleep next to the entrance door.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They have a heater in the room includedThey helped us with getting a taxi to the airport. If this is something worth mentioning

Disliked: 1. They know very little english, except for the big young guy. The old man and the other two person know very little english2. They tried to charge us approx. 10% more AGAIN. This is the second time! They didnt take the hostelbookers 10% reservation downpayment. Very inconvenient! I wonder why would they not charge us 20% less? How they come they think they should charge more and they never think to charge less?3. Overall, abit disorganized, specially in the afternoon/nights when the old man is on it's own and he sleep next to the entrance door.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast is great (eggs, pancake, juices). Rooms are clean. San Blas is nice area on the hill above the noise of Cusco central.

Disliked: No insulation so very cold (although I think most of Cusco is cold at night). You have to wake up the owner every evening when you come back, no easy in-out entry like the larger hostels. Limited hot water. Apart from breakfast time, we didn't really see anyone else so atmosphere is a bit quiet.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owner is very nice and enthusiastic and tries to resolve everything quickly. Our curtain rod broke on the second day, and by the time we came back in the late afternoon, he had already taken care of it. We arrived very early in the morning to Cusco and had nothing to do, so we got to the hostel around 7AM, and the owner cooked us breakfast (which was PEN$10 because we hadn't checked in yet). The breakfasts thereafter were free, and all consisted of a crepe-like pancake, a wide variety of teas and coca leaves, two sweetbread mini loaves per person, and one egg (scrambled or fried) per person. It was amazing! The building had little insulation, but our bed had plenty of thick blankets to keep us warm when we were sleeping; I wasn't even chilled in the slightest. We were in a private room, and though the bathroom was small, the shower was surprisingly spacious and in the evenings, there was plenty of hot water. The view of the city was breathtaking, and the hostel sold 2L of water for PEN$3, which was on par with or cheaper than some of the markets we went to, so we ended up buying water most nights. There was a luggage storage room where we were able to leave our stuff before we checked in and after we checked out. We did laundry twice through the hostel, and though it was slightly pricier than the laundromats down the street (PEN$4/kilo instead of $2 or $3), they didn't lose any of our clothes. Linens were provided, and we didn't ask about towels as we had brought our own. The staff were very helpful when it came to recommending places to eat for different types of food and telling us how to get places, and they called a taxi for us to get back to the airport and arranged the payment beforehand (it was PEN$10 instead of the $30 we paid to get to the hostel). The climb up the stairs to the hostel was difficult at first, but once you learned to get into a breathing rhythm, it was nowhere near as bad as making the climb up to Dead Woman's Pass on the Inca Trail, and the view was totally worth it!

Disliked: There was little to no insulation in the entire building, so it was very cold if you didn't bundle up outside of bed or running the shower (this could also be due to the fact that it's fall and thus, things are not going to be warm all of the time). There was only really hot water in the late afternoon/night (I think the water heater may have been solar powered), so showering in the mornings gave you the options of cold or not-so-cold water. I didn't mind showering at night, so this wasn't much of an issue for me. One thing that did somewhat annoy me was the noise-- the hostel was definitely quieter than some of the more party-friendly hostels I've stayed in on other trips, and I wasn't awakened every night at 4AM by people coming in late, but you could hear the people in the room next to you talking and sound definitely carried, so if you were loud, the entire hostel could hear it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Probably the best Hostel we stayed in, during our 6-Month Southamerica Trip. Great Breakfast, good Wifi, nice Staff and most important: hot Shower !

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability