We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Home Sweet Home-Mirador

Guesthouse | Asociación San Marcos A3, San Blas, Cusco, Peru 000

81.0% Overall Rating

73 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2014)

"Very nice view. Nice breakfast. The young employees are nice, the guy speaks good English and will try to help you."

Read all Home Sweet Home-Mirador reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All major credit cards taken. Prices are per person per night with breakfast included. We offer reduced terms for a visit of more than 2 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Pirwa San Blas Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 76.1% 145 reviews
La Casa de mi Abuelo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 60 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
Net House B&B
18.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
QorichaskaPeru
17.00 USD

Hostel 82.0% 10 reviews
Hostel Kilombo
9.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Marlon's Hostel In Cusco
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.5% 194 reviews
Mama Simona Hostel
10.71 USD

Hostel 92.0% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

73 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Home Sweet Home-Mirador'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 79 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: This is so far the best hostel we've stayed in in South America. We got Room Nr. 1 which has amazing views over Cusco and a nice stone-tiled shower with very hot and strong water. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was fantastic. They set the table for you and you get a pancake, eggs made to order, fresh bread, butter, jam (and decent amounts, not just a schmear), tea (including coca leaves) and coffee with milk. We were able to leave our backpacks in the storage for free when we went to Machu Picchu. The owners went above and beyond to help us with our travel plans and even went to the bus station for us so we didn't have to spend our last day in Cusco hunting down bus tickets! Over all, it is a very "couply" place, perfect if you're NOT looking for a party hostel. And yes, the stairs are hard, but it gets better. There are several excellent restaurants within a 5 min walk of the hostel though, try Korma Sutra for Tandoori Cuy and excellent curries...

Disliked: Franziska left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect views from the common room while eating your homemade breakfast (continental better than average). Unlike other reviews we found the hike up to the hostel quite okay (carrying large backpacks) and totally worth the view. Just follow the instruction where the taxi should drop you off. In winter, you will need the heater provided.

Disliked: Power was not there every time but they could fix it after a while.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lauren kendall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Super cheap and not too far from main plaza, however there are a set of steep steps you need to climb to get to it.

Disliked: lauren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: I loved stying at Home Sweet Home! The view is amazing! The breakfast is good (with an egg! yay!), the rooms and bathrooms are very clean, and the owner Luis is very friendly and helpful. We felt so comfortable at this hostel and would highly recommend it!

Disliked: It was cold in the common areas.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Brookes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here twice once before and once after our lares trek. Room 3 was definitely better than room 1 as it was warmer. They stored our bags until our return. Breakfast was basic but nice. Laundry service was quick and reasonably priced. The walk up the hill is a mission. If youre not fit, they'll kill you!! If I was to visit cusco again I'd stay closer to the centre.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Corso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice chilled out hostel with great views over the city of Cusco. It's only about 10 minutes max from the Plaza del Armas. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The only bad thing for visitors will be if you're not adjusted to the altitude before arriving to Cusco. As the hostel is up a few flights of stairs it may be difficult to get to at first, but it's definately a great hostel.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reallly nice view of Cuzco, clean, decent showers, free wifi, good breakfast of a crepe + eggs and tea/coffee. One of the staff members was very helpful and informative.

Disliked: One of the staff members could barely speak English but still tried his best to help us. The stairs are a killer at this altitude. I read the reviews before I booked and didn't think the stairs were as bad as people made them out to be but they really are a mission to climb.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steffen Boessl

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, very friendly staff and the view from our room (Nr.2) is worth a million dollars (especially at night)...

Disliked: they need a couple more heaters, especially in the room where the breakfast is served...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alena Lorenz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Alena would recommend this property

Liked: everything! best hostel on our trip to south america!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sashca Redeker

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Sashca would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed staying at this hostel, the staff went out of their way to help us with bookings and we wanted to stay an extra night which was no problem. Would definitely stay there again

Disliked: The stairs to get there are a bit of a nightmare but once you are there the view is beautiful !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alec Toller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2012 Alec would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help us find good tours.

Disliked: Hard to find. Many places called Mirador, so be sure to ask for Home Sweet Home if you're lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen Bird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing desk staff. We arrived at 4am the morning prior to our checkin and the staff let us check into another room to sleep for a few hours at no charge. They then held our bags until we came back after lunch to check-in. Rooms were clean, price was great and the view was amazing!

Disliked: The computers are free to use but pretty brutal. One didn't work at all and the other had a keyboard with several keys that didn't work. Enough to send word that you're still alive but not much more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leigh Henderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Home Sweet Home is a wonderful property! I cannot fault this place at all! The view is excellent, the breakfast is delicious (the best on offer that we've seen in five months of travelling), the wifi is extremely fast, staff are friendly and accomodating, the rooms are comfortable (well equipped and well maintained!) and all common areas are clean and comfortable. We'll return after our trip into the jungle. Everything a traveller wants from a hostel is provided here. 10 out of 10 for value and comfort

Disliked: No faults.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast included coco tea. Laudry service was also great. We liked the views from the hostel and the location in San Blas

Disliked: it was very cold with no heat...but we were there at the end of winter and most hostels in Cusco do not have heat. We were not given towels or toilet paper for the bathroom.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Todd Marino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011

Liked: Great View, well priced, interesting location

Disliked: Did not like the steps getting to the hostel and the lack of English (considering they advertise on this website)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast and an amazing view over Cusco.

Disliked: Quite loud from early morning on as everything's close together. Looks a little old, but that's what makes it authentic and familiar on the other hand.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views from the two common areas!! Very clean hostal with friendly staff. Breakfast was decent and comes with eggs (your choice of fried or scrambled!) - small luxuries.

Disliked: Although the location does afford amazing views - climbing those stairs at 3000m of altitude started to get a bit much by the second day! It's in a very quiet area away from the action of the main plaza (around 10-15 mins walk).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Friendly and helpfull. The view is awesome and it is close to the center, but it is a little hard work to get there because of the stairs. It´s nice to walk down.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011

Liked: Clean rooms and great views and sitting areas.

Disliked: This area of the town had problems with water therefore no showers and poor communication from staff. Staff not alway around as well. Internet / wi fi was pretty poor - very slow and not working at other times. Breakfast wasn't great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, beautiful view across the city, very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Snircova Ivana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2011 Snircova would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible view, if you have a room with a window, friendly and very helpfull staff. Delicious breakfest.

Disliked: Little bit cold in the shower, rooms in the first floor are very noisy, internet is very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klaudia Schoeps

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2011 Klaudia would recommend this property

Liked: it has an amazing view over cusco and the sttuff is very nice.i would always come back!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARKETA STEPANIKOVA

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2010 MARKETA would recommend this property

Liked: Hallo there..!!:))I just wanna say that this hostel is really amazing, specialy the people who working there ..i never forget them !!:)So helpful and generous.Amazing view on all Cusco..Muchisimas gracias por todo!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Nicola Squire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2010

Liked: The owner was friendly and we met some nice people there. There is a great view and the breakfast was really nice. They let us store our bags for free while we went off on the Inca Trail.

Disliked: There was hardly any hot water, only one of us had one hot shower in 3 days! The climb up the stairs is a bit hard going when you first arrive, especially after being on a bus for 2 days, but the worst thing is that it´s really expensive for what you get, considering there are much cheaper places around that have hot water and are easier to get to! They also didn´t take into account the deposit we paid when we booked so we had to pay extra. It wasn´t much but still not great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean place. Great breakfast - best I've ever had in a hostel.

Disliked: Noisy - our room was right near reception and the place had noisy floorboards which kept us up!


See all Cusco hostels