We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of Pirwa San Blas Hostel

Hostel | Tandapata 670, San Blas, Cusco, Peru 000

76.1% Overall Rating

123 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2013)

Diana Mikova thinks…

"Room is clean, there is a nice garden with chairs and swings to hang out. Location is good in San Blas and next door is the best crepe place ever! Hoste held on to our things while we did our trek no…"

Read all Pirwa San Blas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
Mallmanya Inn Hotel
13.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Net House B&B
17.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home-Mirador
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 87 reviews
Inti Inn Hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
70.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
El Tuco Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 95.2% 590 reviews
Kukuli Lodge B&B
18.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Yawarmaki Hostel
27.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

123 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pirwa San Blas Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 111 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maya zack

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 maya would recommend this property

Liked: The location, chilled atmosphere and comfy room

Disliked: maya left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Mikova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Room is clean, there is a nice garden with chairs and swings to hang out. Location is good in San Blas and next door is the best crepe place ever! Hoste held on to our things while we did our trek no problem.

Disliked: English of the staff wasn't the best. Can get noisy, you can hear people walking/talking.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable, decent location, friendly staff.

Disliked: A little grungy, poor breakfast, some noisy guests.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lard Hermse

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff. Hot showers.

Disliked: Kitchen is dirty, the breakfast is bad: scraps from the day before are stored in a cupboard (not in the frige, eg butter, or yoghurt), and re-used the next day. Beds are bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pirwa is in a great location in the San Blas neighborhood. The private rooms are spacious and comfortable and the kitchen facilities are nice as well. Breakfast is basic but included and the staff are really helpful and informative. Really recommend for couples and groups rathern than solo travelers.

Disliked: Perhaps it was just a slow season but it was really quiet during our stay and there wasn't a super social atmosphere.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms cleaned daily. Hot showers. Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was not great. Some little puff cereal with yogurt and bread with jam. Only instant coffee.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremely helpful staff

Disliked: hot water a little variable

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good atmosphere and nice cat.

Disliked: The shower would not drain.... Simple breakfast..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zvi Blau

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2012 Zvi would recommend this property

Liked: very relaxing place and calm to go after hanging in the city or going back to the place after the hiking and treking

Disliked: Zvi left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice comfy large beds

Disliked: Breakfast was very basic although reasonable for the price

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kobi Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Kobi would recommend this property

Liked: Large, open courtyard. A delightful kitten to play with. Interesting architecture

Disliked: One bathroom for the entire hostel? No thank you! Not much of a hostel atmosphere. Airport pickup never showed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location - love the San Blas neighbourhood! Also, the staff were *very* helpful and friendly - it felt like coming home :)

Disliked: Although there was internet, the connection was rather slow and I often opted to go to paid internet in the city. Also, while the showers offered hot water, it was either scalding or freezing - maybe a problem with the valves??

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only stayed one night so hard to make a fair comment. place was very clean. lots of blankets on the beds and has lockers for the dormitory although outside the room. the courtyard is cute and a real sun trap.good value for money. not a party hostel. peaceful.

Disliked: not much atmosphere here. very quiet when we stayed.very slow wifi and internet. breakfast is standard peru although kind of poor with stale bread

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Good location, beds were comfortable, breakfast was nice

Disliked: The staff were not interested in helping or in improving our stay. We made a booking at one of their hostels and they transferred us to another which did not have security lockers in the rooms. Incredibly loud music was pumping into our room from somewhere nearby - on Saturday night the music went on from 9pm until 06.40am. Water for the free tea was never hot. The kitchen was filthy with no cutlery and very few utensils. Our washing came back with four items bleached.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Plaza Armas and in San Blas, very quiet place, hot shower

Disliked: NA

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean rooms, free simple breakfast, really nice 5 minute walk into the main plaza, free internet (the computers were very slow tho!), lots of bathrooms

Disliked: not the best place to meet people

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Katie Wing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a nice part of town and was quiet. The accommodation was good value.

Disliked: The hostel lacked the backpacker atmosphere we were expecting. The social areas need improving inorder to make this hostel a better place to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andrea liberati

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: nice restaurant and in a great position

Disliked: nothjin

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011

Liked: It was an amazing location to get to Miraflores. This made it pretty easy to get stuff to eat etc. Room was really clean and tidy. Lock boxes in the rooms allowed you to put your whole pack into a lock up.

Disliked: We had a confirmed pick up and no-one showed up. It wouldn´t have been so bad if someone had answered the phone, but it was busy for about an hour straight and there wasn´t an apology. There was also no clarification that there are two Pirwa hostels in Miraflores, but luckily our taxi driver knew and tried both. Perhaps it was the person who was working on the first day but overall it wasn´t a very good start. However the night worker was very keen to help us, and made sure I got on the net after I poked my head out to check a couple of times. He was also helpful with taxis to the airport and making sure we were comfortable. The room itself was appropriate for the price, however noise travelled really badly. Also the bathroom was shared, you walk in and there are two shower cubicles and toilet cubicles with a hand basin, only problem is that the showers are just straight into the shower with only frosted glass, so there is no where to undress and no privacy.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011

Liked: Rosa was very nice and helpfully

Disliked: The travel agency, never book with this ... Kind of people. Never!! Travel world is the worst tourist company in Cuzco, Peru.!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good beds

Disliked: bad showers. its a bit boring, not much happens

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Grinter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: What you would expect for the price, a clean, basic, adequate backpackers hostel

Disliked: Breakfast was below average

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wim Boele

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2010 Wim would recommend this property

Liked: Fast WiFi-connection, nice property in nice part of the city. They let us check-in to our room at 6:30am without any problems or extra costs.

Disliked: Website of the hostel mentions 24h pick-up service. When asked for a pick-up they wrote us the service is only from 8:00am to 6:00pm. We did get good advice about the taxi's though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms and hot showers. Nice outdoor patio, small and cost hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cusco hostels